We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel let down by sloppy housekeeping.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Singapore to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #31 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel let down by sloppy housekeeping.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a wonderful short stay in Singapore and a lot of that is because of our fantastic stay in the Grand Hyatt. We had interconnecting rooms that overlooked the pool and I have to say that the rooms were of a fabulous size with enormous bathrooms! I loved the fact that I could access my wardrobe from the room as well as the bathroom although that's not so great when you think you've locked yourself in the bathroom for a relaxing soak in the bath and a child then gets in through the wardrobe!! Haha! No chance of any me-time :-))

The hotel would have got five stars from me if it wasn't for the terrible state of the rooms when we arrived. There was a thick layer of dust over everything in both rooms! I told the gentleman at guest services that evening but when we came back from our day out the next day, the dust was still there. Finally, when housekeeping came for evening turndown, I managed to use sign language to show them the dust. They promptly cleaned all the surfaces but I shouldn't have to do that in a hotel of Grand Hyatt's standard.

The pool is fantastic and was well used by the family. In fact, it was difficult to get the kids out of the water! The food by the pool is also excellent and highly recommended.

One of the best things about this hotel is the enormous breakfast! We've travelled a lot and the Grand Hyatt wins our award for best hotel breakfast. The variety is amazing and the service is prompt and friendly.

In terms of location, if you're a shopper, you can't beat it! Large malls are just a short walk from the hotel. We spent two days on Sentosa and I was suprised at how reasonable the taxis were. It cost us roughly $10 and only 15 minutes to get there so you don't need to stay on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear JinxBunny,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us. Whilst we are happy to note that you have had a pleasant time, we regret to note your mention about the level of cleanliness in your assigned room upon arrival. Please rest assured that this matter has been addressed with the team to avoid a reoccurring situation.

Meantime, we look forward to your return soon.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    413
    122
    41
    26
See reviews for
298
236
141
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Akashi, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not only the location is fantastic because its just at Scotts Road and beside Orchard, but the room was very nice. The bed was so soft and comfortable that I had to call the manager to ask when comforters they are using.

Then came the breakfast and wow was I really impressed. They had a huge selection from western to local breakfast and it is all divided very nicely (Chinese, Western, Malay and Indian). The fruit juices was very nice and fresh too. It was a good thing, we went in early as people were starting to queue outside the restaurant waiting for a table.

The only set back I would say is the pool which was too crowded. Price of the hotel is quite high I would say but considering the location and the room and especially the breakfast, it was worth the experience.

Room Tip: This hotel is easy accessible to Orchard MRT. Car traffic can be quite bad in this area. I like goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear ajcph,

Thank you for the review about your experience at Grand Hyatt Singapore.

We are delighted that you have had a pleasant stay and we look forward to your continued support.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here a few times on business and found it's location relative to the hub of Orchard road was very convenient. The bar Brix downstairs was always busy, the poolside bar and restaurant did a great buffet dinner, and generally the rooms were modern and well-appointed. The back half of the hotel has had a more recent refurbishment, whereas the rooms at the front wing tend to be older. Overall was very satisfied.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rafus,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you have found the location of our hotel very convenient and you were satisfied with the overall stay.

The team and I definitely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our second time at this hotel.Stayed at Grand Hyatt on Scotts road for 3 nights with the family. We had two adjoining rooms. Spacious and family friendly. The only recommendation is perhaps a kids club. There is nowhere for the kids under age 3 to play or spend time when we return from shopping or sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they are always smiling and welcoming eveytime we enter the reception. The breakfast buffet is lovely but the highlight has to be the peppercrab at the restaurant on the mezz level(forgot the name) by far the best peppercrab I've ever had!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Madam B,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are very delighted to note that your stay and dining experience with us has been pleasant. Thank you also for your suggestion about a Kids’ Club which will be reviewed by the Management team.

Meantime, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Tired from travel, we arrived and were warmly greeted and whisked to the desk, check in was almost completed by the time we got to the reception. The bed was very comfortable and room amenities very good. The gym and spa areas were terrific and I wished we had more time to spend there - we were only there for a day and I was sorry we had to leave but we had a late check out and could store our luggage. Well located for city and shopping. Good restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear SAH123_10

Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Singapore as your preferred choice for your vacation and we are glad that you have enjoyed the stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the same property 10 years ago and recall it had a definite wow feel. Maybe I'm 10 years older and stayed at too many hotels but I had this expectation of stepping into a luxury hotel which sadly it did not meet. The room is spacious and clean but lacked any special features and to me, seemed really standard.

I must have been given the most basic room in my category as it had no views (actually it was a view of an apartment block) and right below was the back of the hotel, the loading bay and garbage disposal. I think for a 2-3 night stay, this would have gone unnoticed but I stayed for a week and front desk could have paid attention to this by offering a better room. On the mornings I did not have to be out early, there was garbage disposal noise. It wasn't grating like drilling noise just unexpected from a five star hotel.

My colleague under the same corporate booking was upgraded to a junior suite and I was disappointed to say the least. I'm sure he had sweeping views as his lift was in another section of the hotel while mine was situated in the back, where the parking lot was. Was it random or because he is a man?

The service was pretty good and staff were attentive throughout, in particular when I was paying for my taxi and the attendant retrieved my bags while I was waiting for a receipt. He even opened the door on the other side to fetch another bag. That was paying attention! I also received a box of truffles on the first night with a hand written card which was nice.

On my floor (and I assume on every floor) there is a common lounge area and desk which I thought was a nice feature for informal meetings. The hotel is undergoing renovations and there was drilling and construction noise on the 5th floor where the pool and spa are located. I wasn't there for pleasure but leisure visitors would be disappointed if they were planning on spending time at the pool.

The one thing that was great about this hotel is the location, right in the center of action on Scott's and next to Orchard Road. Our office was just two blocks away and very conveniently accessed via underground walkways which was so appreciated as it rained throughout the week and heavily at times.

Our rate included internet (which should be standard anyway) and it was annoying that I had to continuously log on with room number and name. Since I was using numerous devices, I was subjected to this numerous times a day on my two laptops, iPhone, iPad and it got really tiring. I've been to hotels where you only need to log on once and you are connected during your stay. I just wish hotels would get this simple feature right. Every hotel guest wants internet and wants it conveniently. Why does it have to come with so much hassle?

Overall, it was average and it's shocking how much hotel prices have gone up in Singapore over the years. It was sad for me that the Grand Hyatt Singapore has become another cookie cutter hotel with the same standard furnishings and features you would find in any city hotel.

I would definitely recommend it for the location but that's about it. At this rate, you may get the colonial glamour or the Singapore feel at Goodwood Park, Fullerton or Pan Pacific.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the property. The lifts are near the reception area. A second set o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear canadahk,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we certainly appreciate your sharing the constructive feedback with us. Rest assured that we take your feedback as a valuable learning lesson to improve upon current experience. I would like to also share with you that we are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi system by changing all routers to the latest technology and we will also have additional routers to ensure 100% coverage in the hotel. Your feedback on the pricing structure for our room rates has been shared with the Management team who will constantly strive to ensure that our prices remain competitive within similar class of a 5-star establishments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We decided to spend 3 days/ 2 nights in Singapore during our trip to Vietnam earlier this year, with one night at the Marina Bay Sands and one night at the Hyatt. Both hotels exceeded our expectations and contributed greatly to our satisfaction of visiting Singapore. We were delighted with fresh cookies, fruits and a welcoming letter waiting for us in our room. The grand deluxe king was very spacious, modern, and well equipped. The bed was as comfy as it could be. The bathroom was well designed - it came with separate bathtub and shower stand, which was extremely powerful. My boyfriend also enjoyed the luxurious living area where he could relax and watch many fancy cars driving up and down the busy Scott road.

Since we were too excited to check out the famous street food of Singapore, we skipped the hotel dining options. However the restaurants and food looked great when we walked by the dining area to print out some tickets at the business centers (printing cost a small fee but tickets are free of charges). We also ran into a nice, impressive indoor waterfall just outside the afternoon tea area.

Grand Hyatt Singapore located in a convenient shopping area. Just to the right of the hotel, you could find cheap food courts and local shops. To the left are many, many retail stores that would guarantee an all day shopping trip. It costs $1.5 more to catch a taxi from the hotel lobby than the taxi stop just a minute walk to the right of the hotel, but you would avoid the usually big line of people.

As a platinum member, we were offered late check out at 2 p.m., which gave us a couple of hours extra to relax before our long flight back home.

We would not be hesitant to stay at the Hyatt if we ever visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandhyattsingapore, Hotel Manager at Grand Hyatt Singapore, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Helen H,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Messages such as yours will only reinforce Grand Hyatt Singapore's team commitment to exceeding customer expectations. Your kind feedback is testimony of how well we have done in this respect. It would be my pleasure to share your encouraging comments with the team, which I am certain will further motivate them to strive for service excellence. We are most privileged to have your continued support, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Singapore in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivier Lenoir
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Singapore

Address: 10 Scotts Road, Singapore 228211, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#22 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#23 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
#29 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-star luxury city hotel housed in two separate towers in the entertainment & commercial district. Strategically located at the start of Orchard Road in Singapore, in the centre of the city's commercial and entertainment district, just a 30-minute drive from Singapore's Changi Airport. Unwind in one of our 677 luxury rooms and suites. Considered one of the best Singapore luxury hotel, Grand Hyatt Singapore's spacious guestrooms and suites are fitted with every modern convenience required for a comfortable stay, such as generous work desks, luxurious beds and elegant baths. Embark on a culinary adventure at several of the finest restaurants and bars at our Singapore Orchard Road hotel. Relax and fully rejuvenate at Damai, our award-winning spa and fitness centre. The in-house fitness centre features all of the latest equipment to help guests keep up with their fitness regime or enjoy a leisurely dip in the outdoor swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery. Grand Hyatt Singapore, mezza9, Pete's Place and StraitsKitchen were also awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2014 by Tripadvisor - making this a consecutive win for the hotel alone, since 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Singapore Hotel Singapore
Singapore Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Singapore
Singapore Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.