We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good strategic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Grand Central to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Cavenagh Road | Orchard Road, Singapore 229617, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Medan, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good strategic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at Grand Central Hotel Singapore in May 2012 with my family as it was recommended by my travel agent as strategically located hotel with low price rate. Indeed, both rooms were a bit cramped and outdated, but the aircons were working well, the beds were quite comfortable and hot showers and amenities were available. The hotel was located between Dhoby Ghaut MRT and Somerset MRT, so first timers are highly recommended to take a cab from Changi Airport instead of venture with MRT or bus. We learned that we could get a Resort World's bus from the hotel to the Universal Studio and vice versa for free (instead of going there by taxi) and this was an added value to the hotel. We didn't get complimentary breakfast in the hotel but there were many decent food stalls around the hotel for us to have breakfast and dinner. Shopping around has been a nice experience since the hotel was well located in the middle of major shopping centers. I've heard that the hotel are going to be renovated and if so, I'd missed such a strategically located, yet, low-priced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    70
    49
    98
See reviews for
58
55
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed at Grand Central Hotel Singapore 3 times. The first time was July 2011 and then March and April 2012. The feeling are still the same as in 3 times. The hotel services are quite good - friendly receptionist and room service. Most of the staff is the Chinese session worker, I have nice chat with them about their job in Singapore. The furniture are very old and has smoking smells - No problem to my because I am smoking too.

The very pros is the location in the heart of Singapore shopping central area. 3 - 5 minutes by walks for the Orchard Plaza, Center Point, Nghee An center ... and I am really love the street foods right the opposite corner of the hotel. A tip: a pork noodle bowl cost 12 SGD. The breakfast is included in prices but it's really really terrible.

Beside that, the room is not wide but still enough for your staying. Appropriated for the Asian Market.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Ther was mould on all the walls and the bathroom was disgusting. Very ordinary breakfast with no where to sit as all the dirty tables were not cleaned up. When we complained when we were checking out the girl at the front desk said they were closing the next day. That was on the 1st August.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for a 2 night stopover, being recommended by our travel agent for the price. As we were out apart from sleeping it was quite satisfactory. As it is just off Orchid Rd, it is central to most places like Chinatown and Little India. The room was OK, everything worked and the breakfast was a little different to what we were used to. Staff were generally helpful, with taxis outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my son. Room is small but we were in the room only after 6 pm. and went out by 9 am. So it was not a big issue. Brekfast was not a multiple choice . But with plenty of toasts eggs sausages and Noodles it was sufficient. TV Channels are jusgt a few any hardly anything to see other than BBC. The souvenir shop in the ground foor is very good to buy souvenirs. The prices are almost the same. If u go behind the hotel There are restaurants in the same building for Nasigorang , beer Etc.
Bus stand is close by but MRT (Sommerset and Dhoby Gaut) which ever direction you go is abt half km away. But Singapura mall is on the way. Surely you will enjoy. You can book a tour to Universal studio or night safari in the Hotel itself.- Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled extensively throughout the world and would say this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

The most unfriendly staff, disgustingly dirty room, AC broken, toilet leaked, not hot water in the shower, mould all through the room and just a general stench.

Breakfast was genuinely inedible.

I am truly amazed how bad this place is. There was not one redeeming feature and in my opinion should be condemned as unfit for commercial operation.

Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked into this hotel for a stopover on the way to Phuket due to it's location and price. We were most disappointed when we arrived as it was run down, dirty and dark and dingy. The whole place smelled very stale and as we were near the lift - that kept us awake.

The only positive was that it was close to Dhoby Gaut MRT station.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Central

Address: 22 Cavenagh Road | Orchard Road, Singapore 229617, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 297 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Central 3*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Singapore
Grand Central Hotel
Hotel Grand Central Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.