We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let-down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Fullerton Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fullerton Square, Singapore 049178, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A let-down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

What worked - Exterior design (used to be a general post office) so it's a white colonial style building which looks quite impressive and it's located within the CBD, minutes to the offices and pubic transport. Interior main foyer area:tastefully decorated with modern touches. High ceilings.

Cons: Room letdown. I checked in late, almost 11pm. By then, I was fairly tired and the hotel allocated a smoking room by mistake. When I called to complain (as I am a non-smoker), I waited another 20 mins before a service staff came up and apologised profusely before offering me a new room (complimentary room upgrade).

The Heritage room was fairly spacious, with a walk-in wardrobe and a large bathroom. One could enjoy fairly good views of the Spore flyer and marina boulevard.

However, after my shower and I needed to get enough rest for another long marathon of meetings for Saturday, I could hear the cars going by on the road and there was a restaurant/bar across the road which was blasting music at full blast.

I had to call the hotel concierge again to complain about the noise level and the duty manager was helpful in explaining to me that he would get the restaurant to turn down the volume of the music.

The noise continued for a while before I fell asleep.

Morning western breakfast at the Townhouse was included as part of the package. It was ok but if I had to pay S$45 for it, I would probably have given it a miss as there are other breakfast options in the area as well (unless you are staying in on weekends).

Perhaps if the breakast is a wonderful brunch restaurant akin to Norma's in New York, it might have ended my stay on a happier note.

On balance, I can't fault the cleanliness or size of the room (though one should be mindful of the short flight of steps once you open the door to your room) and they do have a few restaurants located in the hotel (like Jade, Lighthouse etc). So if you ask for a room that is away from the noisy main road and away from the Boathouse, it is probably ok as a business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    553
    191
    60
    42
See reviews for
378
799
162
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

very good overall experience - everything an expensive, business-class hotel should be. Lobby good for meeting clients, service generally v good. Internal view rooms not great for the view - but for a 3-day business trip i valued the convenience of a 2-minute walk to the office over a view from Marina Bay.

Room Tip: ask for an outside view but you'll have to pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
200 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Of course the Fullerton Hotel in SIngapore is a very good hotel. But it is pointless writing a review saying so. The point of a review of a property such as this one is not to say whether it is a good hotel but to look at whether the Fullerton, good as it may be, is value for money. Because the Fullerton experience costs a lot of cash.

Forget the grand entrance and beautiful saloons. After all, you can experience any of that by walking into the hotel (there are no restrictions) and spending a while as a guest without booking a room. What you get as a guest is the use of a room and the hotel facilities so the main focus of any review has to be on that.

It is there where I question whether Fullerton does offer you value for its price tag.

Our room had no view. It wasn't all that big. It was quite comfortable but hardly any different from most hotel rooms in the 5 to 4.5 star category. But, again, I had an internal view of nothing. It was dark. Good room? Yes. But worth $550+? No.

Facilities: I tried to use the swimming pool. It was a shocking experience. The pool is nothing grand but a narrow strip, slightly larger than a lap pool. You would get a larger pool in any 4 star Singapore hotel. The area for deck chairs was tiny and crowded. The shaded area was miniscule, and staying there at 2 pm was the equivalent of walking into an open furnace. In short, the pool would not meet 4 star standards, let alone 5.

Breakfast: included in the rate, breakfast was large but the bread for stale. One morning, it could happen but not three in a row.

Overall, Fullerton is a great place to stay and its location is fantastic. However, in my judgment it is not value for money. The price tag is disproportionate to the quality of the room and facilities on offer. If you go to Singapore, go and visit the hotel, admire its charm, but as for staying there at the prices on offer, it is wiser to spend less nearby and enjoy the same or better comforts. So my advice is that you should take other glowing reviews with some scepticism as to how good this hotel is.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I’ve been to Singapore many times, staying in half a dozen hotels – from old Pan Pacific to Mandarin Oriental and the corporate tower of Swissotel – but never experienced anything similar to the charm of Fullerton. In the world full of faceless corporate hotels, it offers a world of character, charm, and warm service.

Several reviewers complained of small rooms, but you get what you pay for. For S$435/night on the Club floor I had a generously sized room with a good desk, a spacious bathroom, and a sweeping view of Singapore Harbor (ask for a river view if you want a very quiet room because a road runs alongside the harbor, which did not bother me). The service was warm and surprisingly personal – by the second day all staff addressed me by name. The levels of warmth, caring and attention were simply amazing.

A bit of advice – even though the Club floor offers breakfast with unlimited Moet champagne, go downstairs and get a table outside. There the breakfast spread is amazing: Western, Chinese, Indian, and Moslem food. I stayed for 5 nights and never ran out of new options.

The sense of having been in a place full of character and style and of having been cared for is with me even today, as I write this review. My next time in Singapore there will be no question where to stay – only at the Fullerton!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Fullerton is everything you expect from a five star hotel. Good service, good location and nice hotel. I think if i was staying again, i would request room looking outside not into the atrium.
The rooms are large but i found the bedroom a little bit dated but was very comfortable and wouldnt put me off going back. Breakfast is fab and food was very good. There is an underpass connecting the hotel to bring out by some restuarants, if you want to escape the hotel. Just go down to basement to find the underpass.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Been to Singapore before and only had a drink here. This time managed a meal. Fisrt thing to notice was the speed of service was not slick, it worked but was rather slow, The meals came and one was hot the other served more on the cool side. On reflection should have returned it but did not get to see anyone quickly enough. Lesson - find someone quick if you need to as when eventually told them no response was made. Still lovely building!
Give a higher rating as the surroundings of the building and its architecture make it really stunning

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is my third stay at the Fullerton. I really love this hotel as it is conveniently situated and normally has excellent service.

This stay left me sadly disappointed:

1- The electronic console that controlled the curtains, lights and do not disturb sign kept malfunctioning over the two nights we stayed. It was fixed twice but the problem kept reoccurring. This was frustrating as the hotel staff did not service the room as the do not disturb sign was stuck.
2- This was reported on three occasions and the second time nothing was done, when we returned late in the evening nothing had been done. We were informed that staff had assumed that "do not disturb" meant we did not wish to be disturbed. They said they had left a letter which until we checked out could not "find".
3- The restaurant Town where we had breakfast forgot our request for coffee and after a twenty minute wait and not able to flag down a waiter went to sort it out myself.

I consider myself forgiving but there were too many disappointments on this stay. Hope this is not a sign of the demise of the Fullerton as I really have enjoyed my stays here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fullerton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Fullerton Square, Singapore 049178, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#14 Family Hotel in Singapore
#19 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#24 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fullerton Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from the Fullerton Building which was built in 1928, this luxury hotel features 400 elegant rooms and suites with views of the sunlit atrium, city, river or sea. Just 25 minutes from the airport, The Fullerton is located in the financial and arts districts, minutes from the city's main shopping belt. The hotel features award-winning restaurants, the stylish Post Bar, an outdoor infinity pool, a 24-hour fitness centre and a luxury spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fullerton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Singapore
Singapore Four Seasons
Fullerton Hotel Singapore
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fullerton Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.