We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Unity Street, Singapore 237995, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #55 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is my 5th time staying at Fraser Place Robertson Walk. A change in management, and lack of attention to the infrastructure leaves me not impressed this time.

The location is still fabulous, and the pool (albeit smallish) is a nice focal point of attention for all the kids in the afternoon. The more senior (i.e. who have been around for a while) staff are very friendly and professional, but the newer ones seemed indifferent and lacking in customer service.

Rooms are getting old and dated. Our AC vents were covered in mildew and one continually dripped. The rooms made my son & wife sneeze - they needed serious cleaning. In an attempt to clean the AC, they pained the one which was dripping wet, and of course the paint did not dry and instead dripped everywhere- what were they thinking? It dripped on my wife's skirt, which they dry cleaned (thanks) and then attempted to bill us for at checkout (no thanks!).

Getting things fixed in the room required multiple calls - it was extremely frustrating.
After speaking with other families, it was evident that our problems with our room and difficulty in getting them fixed was not unique.

There is a play space outside for kids. The sole bike was rusty and did not work. For the price they charge and the large number of kids that stay there, they should invest in a few bikes and replace them often.

For our departure, we had an early flight and had put in a request for help with our luggage. Nobody showed up to help us, and the front desk would not pick up the phone; we lugged it all ourselves. This level of service was on par with the rest of our visit.

A note to management- you need to pick up your game or will lose clients. You will also lose some of your longstanding good maids- they also notice the problems.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We place high emphasis on keeping our property well-maintained and your feedback will enable us to channel more effort to where it is needed most.

I also appreciate the opportunity to apologise for the mistakes made during your stay and to clarify on areas where we have not met your expectations.

We are grateful for your past visits and hope to be of service again soon.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
10
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked a deluxe 1-bed apartment here. Not cheap but no more than a standard room in a good Singapore hotel. Terrific location right next to Singapore River restaurants and nightlife. Really friendly staff. Compact but modern, very comfortable accommodation with sitting/dining, kitchen with washing machine and cooking facilities, TV/DVD/CD player etc. Family-oriented with (I guess) quite a lot of longer-term rentals, so pool is child-noisy after 4pm and breakfast can be less than restful. Otherwise pretty close to ideal for this 60+ couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about our location, rooms and staff. Indeed we are situated in a vibrant neighbourhood that offers great possibilities, while our facilities and service are designed with the convenience and comfort of our guests in mind.

It will a pleasure to see you again.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed at other Fraser properties in London and Doha and been very satisfied, particularly in Doha which is superb. This was a real disappointment. We asked for a quiet apartment as we have a four year old child; I requested this when I made the booking, and followed it up by email and phone call the day before our arrival. At reception I confirmed that it would be a quiet room ... however, we were kept awake until 2am by the unbearable noise blaring into the street from a club across the road. Neither reception nor security could do anything about it so I went across myself and spoke to the manager - the problem was solved. We also endured numerous minor problems: rock hard beds, very thin curtains that let the light in, non-functioning air-conditioning, non-functioning microwave. We were eventually upgraded to a better apartment but our initial experience really spoilt things. Breakfast is poor as well. This is an aging property with well meaning staff but they are not doing enough to justify the relatively high rates. We stayed in a suite in a genuinely 5 star hotel in KL for less than this cost !!!

I would never return here, particularly with a family particularly as it is situated in an area full of bars and clubs. If you are single or a couple and enjoy clubbing and sleeping on slabs of concrete then this might suit you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Robertson Walk itself on a high floor, not the 'other' wing which I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory experience.

You were placed in the normally quietest side of the property. Following your feedback on noise one evening, we immediately addressed it with the source which was at the building across the street. Your comfort is our priority and hence an available larger unit facing the other side was offered at the same time. I am glad the upgrade worked out fine for the rest of your stay as we monitored the situation.

Thank you for your most valuable feedback and we sincerely hope to be of service again.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent here 6 nights. The place is mostly populated by expats and their families, working in Singapore.
We booked a two bedroom apartment, which had two bathrooms, a kitchen and a terrace looking down to the pool. Very clean, maid came daily (except for Sundays), she was always very prompt. Staff at reception very helpful and prompt, too. Breakfast was included in the room rate but I only went there once( my husband and our son went every morning). The restaurant where breakfast is served is way too small and cramped and therefore very crowded. They have good coffee, though.
Swimming pool is outdoor, gym is ok.
Location is very good, close to Orchard Road and there are hundreds of restaurants nearby (including the ones on Clark's Quay, which is within walking distance). Also, less noisy than Orchard Road and still in the city centre. There' s a Starbucks nearby, three 7Eleven, and a Spa. It is a bit expensive, though, if I was to compare it to Fraser Place Seoul, which is much better value for money. But unlike Seoul, Singapore is an expensive city!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on our clean rooms, prompt service, location and the many pluses of staying at Fraser Place Robertson Walk. We will continue to work on surpassing our guests expectations in all areas and thank you for helping us achieve the goal.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you in your next visit!

kind regards.
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visit Singapore each year and stay in serviced apartments at Great World City. But on this occasion we were only in town for two nights and GWC is a 7 night minimum. The apartment was quite small but perfectly adequate for a couple of nights.
For us, location was the issue...... for many visitors the riverside location with all the bars and restaurants would be perfect..... but for us, the lack of a local food court was a minus and we struggled to find decent local food close by.
Apart from that the only criticism would be breakfast which was poor (although one can't complain too much as it was free!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are situated in neighbourhood with wide variety of F&B options to choose from. Local fares are a short walk away along River Valley Road. We apologise for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. Your feedback will help us improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at fraser walk in singaporefron the 21st of july to the 24th of july. we had a suit with two rooms as there were three of us travelling and it was just perfect! we landed very early on the 21st and we were able to check in at 8am instead of 2pm. a great location with PLENTY of pubs at the bottom of the hotel in a giant courtyard style and only a 10 minute walk to clarke quay. We used the MRT departibg at clarke quay to get aroubd Singapore and it was so cheap!!!!! highly reccommend this place to anyone, the only downsude was the free buffet breakfast was less than exciting

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about our location and service. Guest comfort is a priority for us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the recommendation and it will be a pleasure to have you back again.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were on a stopover here for three days. Fraser Place suited our needs perfectly. The rooms were large, clean and tidy. Self contained kitchen and washer and dryer. So many restaurants close by and a hotel shuttle for your shopping needs.
Breakfast here is very average, on the second day there was nothing left with a hour still to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Manager at Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on our rooms and shuttle service. We are continuously seeking ways to enhance our guests experience and your feedback is important in helping us achieve this aim.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

kind regards,
Ryan Ng
Resident Manager
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore

Also Known As:
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Hotel Singapore
Fraser Place Robertson Walk Hotel
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Address: 11 Unity Street, Singapore 237995, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Singapore
#49 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashioned in the style of a Mediterranean village, Fraser Place Robertson Walk evokes a delightful and vibrant ambience. It offers 164 spacious and contemporary styled residences, ranging from one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and features a comprehensive range of lifestyle amenities to fulfil the needs of today's discerning travellers. Ideally situated near the banks of the historic Singapore River, the serviced residence enjoys close proximity to the Central Business District, and easy access to the entertainment riverside corridor of Clarke Quay and Boat Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.