We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Happy with Carlton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Special
Ranked #93 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Happy with Carlton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My favourite hotel to stay in whenever I drop into Singapore for a visit, be it business or leisure. First visit was in the 1990's and been coming back since then.
Was greeted with a 'welcome back' at the check-in counter.
Stayed in the Premier wing on this visit and also 2 years ago.
Love the room and the view of the Chijmes, Raffles City etc.
Especially love the bathroom and the Nespresso machine which my coffee loving visitors enjoyed.
Location is central and thats the main reason I chose Carlton for my stays.
Monsaic Cafe had a very good international buffet for dinner and breakfast.
Check out was quick.

Room Tip: Request for the Premier wing, the old wing will be undergoing refurbishment sometime this year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    886
    356
    125
    56
See reviews for
291
578
153
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We chose the Carlton as a mid range hotel that was part of the Singapore Stopover Holiday package. Our rooms (interconnecting) were in the main (old) wing and were quite large with high ceilings. The bathrooms seemed relatively old, but it looked like the grouting had been renewed, so looked fresh. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet and didn't smell of smoke. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the pool area. We used the pool every day and it was lovely - just cool enough to be refreshing on a steamy Singapore day.
The major benefit of this hotel is the location. It is next door to the Raffles, and from here we walked to the Singapore Flyer, Gardens by the Bay, Clarke Quay and the bottom end of Orchard Road. There is also a range of shopping centres within walking distance for cheap food court meals. We decided not to spend a fortune on hotel breakfasts and as we had brought bowls and spoons, just picked up cereal and milk from the basement supermarket at Raffles City to make our own breakfast each morning. The staff of the hotel were friendly and efficient. The one downside of this (and it seems many) hotel is that wifi is not available in rooms unless you want to pay an exorbitant fee. However if you went to the lobby or the pool deck you could access free wifi (and longer than just the 24hrs they advertised). We didn't use the minibar or restaurants on site as the prices were high, especially after the bargain prices we encountered in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Can't believe this is a 4 star hotel. The "premier" wings may be. However the standard room is worn out with tiny, worn out and smelly toilet, noisy air conditioner, and NO WIFI.
I have never seen a hotel without a Wi Fi within at least past 5 years, or may be 10 years I guess.
It may be my fault not to check the Wi fi availability before booking, but who would have thought a 4 star hotel in Singapore would be without Wifi... and I don't mean there is no "free" wifi, there is "no" wifi, with or without charge.
They say "premier" wings have wifi though.. which I think are about 50 dollars more expensive.
The only value of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were well greated as we arrived.Our room was very nice and comfortable.Clean.Nice view on Raffles Hotel and its swimming pool.Convenient location.Next is Raffles City which is a big shopping centre with supermarket.Also lots of restaurants and coffee shops around.I read the hotel is renovating (in July) the old tower which will be excellent.Staff was nice and helpful.Very expensive coffee at the hotel's coffee shop.Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Convenient location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The location is very good, near to the chinatown, new hotel, great service, clean and tidy rooms. Great swimming pool, roof top bar with excellent view.everything in the hotel is new, furnitures, bath room equipments and etc

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stopped at this hotel after staying here 6 years ago and the overall rating by trip advisor....Room was in the old section again and virtually the same room we had stayed in previously although we were told we were upgraded to 'an executive room'. Position is great but the prices are over the top, 4 corona beers at AU$70.00. Found a Hypermarket and bought 6 stubbies for AU$24....The toilet in the room needed to be flushed at least three times to dispose of toilet paper and the room was crawling with small brown ants, in the bed, sitting in the chair and all over the desk! Also don't forget to put on the 'do not disturb' light as we were woken early after a late arrival to knocking on the door asking if we wanted any laundry done......Would suggest there are other hotels in a good area that don't have these problems. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.......

Room Tip: To choose a good room maybe try the new section, recommend another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

On arrival we were upgraded as part of a honeymoon offer and our room was possibly a little small but clean and with a good view of the city.

The only negative was that after getting off a 16hr flight we had to wait 3 hrs for our room to be ready. As it was a package arranged by kuoni it would be beneficial if there is some amenities for future guests to use during this wait time.We were told to go and have breakfast but then staff approached us asking for payment so in the end we just had a coffee and went out for a walk, however after such a long flight and in jeans and jumpers after coming from Manchester it was hard work!

Our room was nice, not outstanding but in a good location and the porters were helpful with organising luggage and taxis etc. Easy to get to all the main attractions from this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#64 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#72 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.