We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meals Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Meals Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights, had an executive king room, lovely room and stunning bathroom, loved the rainforest shower. Breakfast experience in Cafe Mosaic was very noisy probably because of the tiled floor bouncing the sound around. A better option is to have breakfast in the Tuxedo Patisserie which is smaller, quieter and more enjoyable. The hotel location is ideal and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again but would not take breakfast in the cafe.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the executive rooms in the premier wing, well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    837
    337
    120
    56
See reviews for
278
542
145
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a well located well priced hotel. Appears to be well run and maintained but could do with a freshen up as the rooms are a bit dated and a wee bit shabby. But would recommend based on location and convenience. Housekeeping staff charming. Note also that there are coin operated washing machine and dryer in the hotel - $8 a load. This is not in the hotel compendium!

Room Tip: There are a number of types of rooms with newer rooms in a separate tower. We stayed in 'executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the old wing. Room was quite big but feels dated, particularly the bathroom (cracked bathtub, plastic shower curtain). We were on 7th floor overlooking the pool - could have been worse I suppose. Can't fault the service at all - efficient and the concierge staff particularly were helpful and friendly. Wifi only in the lobby (which has plenty of nice seating) was a bit of a disappointment considering how much you pay for a room. We arrived after a 13hr flight at 7am only to be told there were no rooms to check in to until 2pm. We hadnt slept on the flight so it was pretty crap. They did let us have a shower on the 4th floor where there is a changing room/shower - but you have to go to the pool on the 5th to get a towel first (would have been helpful if they had mentioned this...) The shower didnt run hot (and the one in the room it was near impossible to get a good temp that was neither boiling or freezing). We left our bags and went to a nearby mall where there was AC and tried not to fall asleep. Went back at midday and room was ready.
Breakfast the next day - we went at a little past ten and the buffet was just about to close so we ordered a cooked breakfast. The bacon was nearly black and hard - we suspect they just took it off the buffet they had just cleared, the poached egg tasted like vinegar. At $30 a plate it was certainly nothing to write home about.
The plus was that the room, although nothing flash, was very quiet and we slept without interruption. The hotel has a good location and seemed central to everything. We were keeping odd hours so it was nice to be somewhere big and busy where the bar is open till 1am, there are taxis outside the door all the time and you can get room service if you want it etc.
Not sure we got a 5 star experience out of it though. It doesnt surprise me that the reviews are so varied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for 3D2N . Feel a warm welcome from the attentive staff . Stayed at the premier wings . The room is very spacious , comfortable and clean . The complimentary WIFI connection very fast and it is very important for a business traveller like me . The breakfast was great too . The location of the hotel near to Raffles Hotel and Raffles City shopping mall .... and just walking distant to Bugis street and Marina Bay . The beautiful night view of Marina Sands , Singapore Flyer and Garden by the bay can clearly see from my room ... really awesome !!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor at premier wings .. the city view very nice especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Despite not in the habit of posting negative reviews of hotels, I am moved to write a review of the Carlton Hotel to warn visitors about what they might encounter.
I have last enjoyed staying at the Carlton Hotel 2 years ago and received a rude shock on this visit when I encountered not just one but 5 stinking pillows! The first four came with the room and when I asked for replacement, the two replacements included another smelly one. The bathroom was also very old and tired, plastic curtain smells too! I did enjoyed the included breakfast immensely and found it faultless.
The location of the hotel is what brings me back whenever I need to make a stopover in Singapore. It is within close proximity to shopping, MRT (for the direct line to airport) and food. However the recent experience with pillows and old bathroom will be hard to forgive and forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

5 star business hotel in the city area, near to mrt station, bugis shopping just 10 minutes walking, marina just 20 minutes. sleep very good with double pillows, super clean bathroom with bathtub facing to the bed. 15th floor is my room stayed with part of city view. front desk was simple friendly and professional staff, breakfast was good tasted and lot of variety food.
strongly recommend for who is looking for city area or for business.
looking for next stay there.

Room Tip: please email them for your request 3 or 4 days before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay at the Carlton hotel was great! All the staff are really professional, nice and attentive. The price was VERY good for the location, which put us right across from Raffles City shopping centre and near City Hall MRT station and 5 min walk to Bugis. The only thing that could use improvement is the room service menu. Maybe more authentic local food, but apart from that food was always delivered with a smile.

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining rooms with our friends we were traveling with and Carlton Hotel were able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#63 Family Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.