We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extension Business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Carlton Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase Special
Ranked #86 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Extension Business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We extended our business trip and picked this hotel because of the location and the interesting price. We noticed in the hotel why we got the 'good' price > there's an old wing and a refurbished wing. The cheaper prices will go for not refurbished rooms. They're clean and cosy, but they feel a bit outdated. Breakfast was OK. Wifi is in the hotel lounge where literally hundreds of people are skyping with friends/family. If you wait long enough, around midnight, a lot of flight crews assemble to go to the airport. I had the luck to always be amongst the ladies of the Asian airlines...good times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    849
    345
    122
    56
See reviews for
283
557
147
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a room (with breakfast) by booking.com. The lobby was trendy and cool but our room and bathroom looked surprisingly worn-out. Maybe the oddest thing was the smell in the corridor because of very old looking carpet that covered the floor and had obviesly been sprayed with somehting "freshing".
Otherwise everything was fine, the location is perfect, lots of places to eat or shop nearby and the Flyer about 15 min walk away. Breakfast was also very good and the hotel lend us an umbrella on a rainy day. Big plus for us was complimentary internet connection in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was on a business trip to Singapore when i stayed in this Hotel, Location wise is the best as placed centrally in Singapore. The Room well clean and had all the required things in place.
The breakfast buffet was the same for all the three days i stayed there, this could be improved.
I have stayed in other hotels at Singapore as well will not not rate it very high compare to those but found it ok, Not so good Not so bad. If you are looking for Calm and Quite place this one is for you.

Room Tip: There are two wings in the Hotel.. Premier and Executive. Try get an room in the Executive Wing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is located across the street from both Raffles Hotel and Chijmes (resturants and bars) and is close to everything else if you take a short taxi ride (SGD 5-8 in 4-5 minutes to Orchard Road as an example).

Staff is very friendly and if you get a room in the newly (by comparison) renovated wing it's excellent, in the older wing it's still good but feels a bit dated (who cares, you are not in Singapore to sit in a hotel room are you?!).

The pool area is nice and clean and you get a full hit from the sun between the buildings after about 13:00 until sundown.

Been here many times and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for the "New Wing" :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Was a bit unsure having read reviews about if this was going to be a good choice. However despite the reviews I think the location for us (tourists) was perfect, we were in an older style room but it was absolutely fine for what we needed. We are a well travelled pair of couples and we all managed without a removable shower head !Reception is stunning and breakfast was absolutely fine with a choice that was good. Two things that would make a difference would be free WiFi in all rooms and not just the communal areas and the tiles around the pool get very slippery when wet. Work is ongoing to complete the updating of the hotel but didn't interfere with our stay at all.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked a room on Agoda - because I always thought it would be a good hotel to stay in. And the price was good - about $200 thereabouts. I got put in the old wing where the rooms are big enough but old with dismal bathrooms that looked really old. Wifi was also terrible, not the thing you need during a business trip. Good points were the pool and gym. Poor points were the coffee shop: really un-proactive service, ordinary buffet spread. On coffee shop service, No one told me they were closing the buffet in 10 minutes and suggested i refill - i started with a light breakfast plate intending to go back for seconds. I still had to pay the full $35 price for a croissant. In another instance, it took some serious thinking by the staff to set up a table for 4 for a breakfast meeting. It was hard for the, to figure out that all they had to do was put two tables for 2 together. Also nothing is more irritating than to want to sit in a nice area of a coffee shop where there were still people and be told that the area was closed for lunch service - even if it was only 9am... Plus the bar music was pretty dismal with the performers attempting to sing songs that were not fit for their capabilities. I like ADELE but her songs are depressing when you are having a business meeting by the bar. More depressing when they are underperformed, but the location of the hotel is outstanding.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Singapore

Address: 76 Bras Basah Rd, Singapore 189558, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#66 Family Hotel in Singapore
#70 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Singapore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Carlton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.