We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to many eating places and Chinatown Markets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duxton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Duxton Hotel to your Saves list
The Duxton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Duxton Road, Singapore 089450, Singapore (Formerly Berjaya Singapore Hotel - Singapore) (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Close to many eating places and Chinatown Markets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here.....beds and room comfy and we were surprised how large our room was...room 402. Complimentary water bottles, fruit and fresh towels every day. Easy walk to the bustling Chinatown Markets with lots of stalls and fun eating places. Also don't miss the Maxwell Markets. Join the locals for budget priced food, chosing from any of the many food outlets within. Banana fritters are a must try. Hotel was quaintly old world and staff very polite and helpful. Booked us the FunVee hop-on hop-off bus tour of Singapore which is great value for $19.90.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    175
    76
    37
    30
See reviews for
43
103
34
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great little hotel, in perfect position in Chinatown. My room was quite small, but very comfy bed. Food a little basic, but so close to lots of lovely eating places. Easy to walk and very safe for a woman travelling alone. Close to open-top bus route, giving access to all of Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A pretty hotel in a great area, but on arrival there were no staff in sight and we waited 7 minutes after ringing the bell. The staff were surly, there constant problems with the room keys and breakfast barely qualified. To top it off a great,massive leak into our room had to be verified by 2 staff before they accepted we needed a room change!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We really didn't get off to a good start with this hotel. I had booked and paid through Hotelclub. Due to our airline changing our departure time I had requested Hotelclub to ask for some flexibility to cancel. In all fairness I knew it was a non refundable policy. Hotelclub rang the hotel and sent an email requesting a cancellation. The manager would not cancel the reservation. Ok fair enough. No flexibility. When we checked in the reservation staff were sour to say the least. We arrived at 2200 from the airport. Went outside to find something to eat. Came back at 2300 and the door keycard would not work. So after two trips to the desk still it did not work. So I insisted the staff come up with me. The card still did not work twice again.No apology offered. He then said that he would move us to another room and that in the morning he would open the door. We were to leave at 0700 the next morning. All our belongings were locked inside. I told him to get an axe or at least a key. Down he goes again and up comes a very nice chap full of apologies and a key. Seems the battery needed to be changed. Room was fine. Hotel is in good location for Chinatown etc. Staff need to be trained in good customer service skills and be polite.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very happy with our choice! Booked very early to get a quiet king room, arrived to be told quiet twin room. All sorted and got an upgrade to a suite which was great! Tip - breakfast not that flash but nothing else around so make do! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Berjaya Singapore is a small, but very pretty hotel. The outside is a gorgeous row of shophouses, on a street of many gorgeous shophouses. The inside is nice, and the rooms are of decent size. Despite several bars outside, there was very little noise in our rooms on weekends. It is also in an excellent location, less than five minutes from Maxwell Food Centre, the Buddha Tooth Temple and Chinatown Complex...all the food you could ever want.

For a couple night stay it wouldn't be bad, but for a longer stay (we were there 8 nights), the lack of a pool becomes very apparent. With the heat of Singapore, it is amazing how much you miss not having even a small pool to cool off in. At the price the Berjaya charges, you can find other small hotels with pools.

The staff were okay most days, but mostly because we didn't use or need them. The one major issue was over breakfast. On our first day ( we arrived at 2 am) we came down for breakfast after a few hours of sleep. We gave the lady at breakfast our room number and she said nothing. We sat down, barely ate anything (jet lag) and as we were leaving she handed us a bill for about 48 sing dollars. Apparently breakfast was not included in our room, but she didn't feel like mentioning that until after we had eaten. When discussing this with the front desk staff, the man's excuse was "the restaurant is separate from the hotel, so I can't make changes to that cost". Not five minutes later, he hands us our hotel bill which includes the restaurant charge (not so separate I guess?). I won't get into whether the breakfast was worth about 24 us dollars per person (some breads, yogurt, couple of cheeses and cold cuts and eggs), but don't feel like the staff handle breakfast well. It may be an indication when in 8 days you only see maybe two couples eating breakfast over the entire stay.

Other than that hiccup, and the lack of pool, it is a "nice" place in a great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duxton Hotel

Address: 83 Duxton Road, Singapore 089450, Singapore (Formerly Berjaya Singapore Hotel - Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Duxton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at The Duxton will open your eyes to Singapore’s rich blend of history, culture and excitement. Situated on Duxton Road within the Central Business District, this neighbourhood has the perfect blend of experiences for leisure and business travellers, eager to explore its historic past and today’s vibrant cosmopolitan lifestyle. With 49 spacious rooms built within the walls of baroque style shop houses, this boutique hotel brings you back to the colonial era of the 19th century, whilst being located within one of the most exciting and thriving clusters in Singapore. The Duxton is situated moments away from an eclectic mix of high quality bars and restaurants located close to Duxton Hill, Club Street, Ann Siang Hill, Keong Siak Road and China Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Duxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Berjaya Hotel
Berjaya Hotel Singapore
The Duxton Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duxton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.