We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pacific Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pacific Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Pacific Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Victoria Street, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Jindabyne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights from November 23-29th. Our room was situated on the 9th floor which was a very nice floor. The check in staff were very helpful and it was a quick process to be checked in. We had buffet breakfast included in our rate but I wouldn't pay for it at an additional cost as there are other better breakfast options around. I wouldn't recommend eating at the sun cafe my experienced ordering there wasn't good.

The hotel is located around the corner from Bras Basah station which we found to be very handy. We used the MRT to get to sentosa island, orchard road, marina bay sands, gardens by the bay and Chinatown during our trip. It is very affordable at $2.30 return trip to marina bay. This hotel is also only a short 2 minute walk to Bugis street mall and also Bugis markets which we visited more than once.

We found the hotel to be a perfect size and amenities for a week in Singapore. Only criticism would be that our room was right next to the lift and it was quite noisy lucky for us we are heavy sleepers and it didn't wake us. Also the beds are very firm and some may find them uncomfortable.

We found the pool the come in handy. We used it everyday.

I would recommend this hotel and stay here again in the future.

The staff are always lovely and there is always someone to open the door for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    282
    158
    56
    14
See reviews for
127
217
51
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
187 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are flying Singapore Airlines, their stopover packages are often excellent value, considering how expensive Singapore hotels are these days. The hotel transfer is included in the stopover package. We stayed here both going and returning from our trip to Europe and paid A$60 for a double room which has a walk-in rate of S$340. Check-in and check-out were prompt on each occasion.

Our 'going' room was an upgrade, which is to say that the room had modern furniture. The 'returning' room had the nice old Chinese style rosewood furniture which is apparently indestructible. The rooms were the same size, only the decor is different. They were sufficiently spacious, clean and comfortable with a convenient bathroom with a shower over a full-sized bathtub.

The two towers of this building are now separate hotels, the other side being the Royal @ Queens which is an equally good option as an SIA Stopover. There is no signage but one level above ground there is still public access to the other hotel which faces Queen Street so you can exit that side without going outdoors if you wish. The new Bras Basah MRT station is just steps away in Queen Street.

I have long loved the location which is so central. It is an easy walk to the Bugis market, the lovely temples in Waterloo Street, OG department store, Albert Food Centre and the Fortune Centre with all it’s vegetarian cafes. Opposite the Fortune Centre on the corner of Bencoolen Street and Middle Road is a 24 hour Muslim food place where you can have Roti Prata for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

We never have breakfast in the hotel as there are so many cheap and tasty local options. The closest food court is directly across Victoria Street from the hotel entry. You won’t find other tourists here as there is no signage from the street. Just cross at the pedestrian crossing outside the hotel, turn left, walk up the short flight of external stairs, look right and you will see the Coffee Express sign. You can have a good feed here for a couple of dollars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well we read some negative feedback about this hotel after our travel agent booked it for us and we wondered what we were getting ourselves into BUT from time of arrival to our departure we have nothing but praise for this hotel considering the cost

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights prior to boarding a cruise ship back to australia and could not fault for the cost of our 4 night stay, the room & the buffet brekkie was very enjoyable with numerous choices, the staff at reception, buffet brekkie, and the doormen especially Soulami & Velu were exceptional in advice and assistance regarding tours or just getting around Singapore

We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A lovely clean hotel,well situated in Singapore. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a few meals at the hotel and they were lovely, especially the buffet at weekends. The rooms were adequate and quiet considering it is right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel was pretty much as expected, room was nice and spacious which made for a good change in Singapore. You could climate control the temperature easily and the bed was hard but comfortable since that's how I like it. Bathroom was a little bit odd and the water pressure in the shower was pretty low and the free wifi dropped in and out, but other than that I was quite satisfied. The pool area was a nice place to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, they will bring you something from the bar if you call the restaurant from there. I walked in with low expectations but as it had everything I needed I am happy to give it 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall are quieter as you don't hear the rushing water noises in the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hallway to our room was smelly. The room itself was just OK. The room was quite small. The beds and bedding were fine.
The location is great, though there are lots of other hotels around that I'd try first.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was sceptical at first but was very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is situated right in the city centre, 2 mins away from the Singapore management university. the bathrooms are small but very neat. you will get free breakfast and internet. I was given a late check out until 6pm just because i upgraded. its great value for money. i enjoyed every bit of my stay

Room Tip: if you prefer bigger and affordable rooms, the premiere is probably the best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pacific Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Hotel

Address: 101 Victoria Street, Singapore 188018, Singapore (Formerly Allson Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Hotel situated in the heart of business, shopping & entertainment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Pacific Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allson Hotel Singapore
Singapore Allson Hotel
Allson Singapore
Grand Pacific Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pacific Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.