We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at the Albert Court” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 35% +WiFi +Tour
Ranked #45 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at the Albert Court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Albert Court in October 2009. Overall, our stay was very satisfying. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very adequate, albeit small, which is to be expected of a historical building. The location is great - the heart of Little India is right across the street! Also, the MRT is a short walk away, so it is very easy to get to other parts of the city. Another nice feature is that you can use the internet in the lobby, so I was able to write home without any problems. I cannot rate the restaurant, as we opted for the far cheaper option of eating at the hawker center across the street. All in all, if you are looking to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road, the Albert Court is an excellent option!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us..

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    579
    165
    70
    28
See reviews for
270
422
111
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Excellent & nicely maintained hotel. Ideal for India tourists as its near Liitle India. Has good & neatly maintained rooms, even though bit small in comparision. Has good breakfast & also has Inbuilt indian restaurent. Nice experiance !!

  • Liked — Good service, Food & Proximity to Little India
  • Disliked — Bit Small room
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
The management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

In a nutshell, this places scores dreadfully in the value-for-money scale and even worse for customer service.

We had a serious problem with our aircon, which meant that it was either fixed at arctic or subtropical (i.e. off) and made sleeping virtually impossible. We alerted the reception to the problem on the first morning and nothing happened. Tried again, still nothing. And probably again, same result. On our last night we said we wanted to be moved, so they moved us to a room that hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupant left. Made a bit of a scene when we left the next morning, to be told that because we'd booked through Expedia, we had to address complaint to them (who, to their credit, offered us a 40% refund). And, even if we hadn't had the aircon/customer service debacle, the place was tired, the rooms ill-designed and the staff lacking in any sort of charm. But the location is great - Little India makes a fantastic alternative to the anodyne 'charms' of Orchard Road.

Some relatives stayed at the Landmark Village Hotel, which was just up the road, about the same price and excellent in comparison to this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us..

Yours sincerely,
The Management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

stayed for 3 nights, booked via booking.com. They didn't provide rooms side by side with connecting door as we had asked them 3 months before and reminded via e-mail 2 weeks earlier, so we offered 2 rooms - one on 2nd and the other on 4th floor. Didn't agree with it, so ended up 1st night in a 3 persons room and single room far from each other. Following nights were in 2 rooms side by side but no connection between and one of the rooms never warmed up, also the rooms were by all hotel as well as all neighboring houses ACs, so it was very hard to sleep, very noisy. Otherwise location is good, not too busy streets, right by Little India, metro close, shopping centers close, 24h market close. Hotel has a little fitness center and 1 small jacuzzi bath but it's closed from 10:00 p.m. - who returns from city for that time????? If you get rooms towards courtyard then the hotel is very nice. Service is ok, internet is not free. it's restaurant and bufee too expensive but lots of eating places close and round. Worth the money if you get right room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
The management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Welcome to Albert court.

Hotel characterised by its location. 10 minutes walking from Little India area and just a couple of minutes walk from Little India MRT.
Hotel has a mix of traditional and modern construction. Good rooms and a very good breakfast. There is a restaurant named Shiv Mahal which serves authentic indian food at reasonable price. Coming to rooms, decent rooms with modern amenties and well maintained.
On the pricing front, its pretty reasonable compared to the hotels surrounding it and also looking at the area where it is situated.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
The management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Had two visits to this hotel with the first stay in a very well-maintained large room(upgraded) which was very comfortable. However the second stay was a disappointment as we were in a small room with a bathroom which was not really clean, the plug didn't work and where we found a cockroach. That being said the staff were generally helpful and we liked the hotel architecture and especially the location which is really alive with restaurants, shops and local markets. I would recommend this hotel in spite of the second visit experience as the hotel overall is kept in excellent condition and if we had stayed longer I am sure the problems would have been rectified.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
The management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We did stay at this hotel for 2 days and were really satisfied. Room was fine and clean. Staff was great, so friendly and helpful. Love this hotel so much and we are sure to turn back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
The management of Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#42 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.