We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25%off +Free B'fast +Wifi
Ranked #44 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had three nights stay at Village Hotel Albert Court. The staff are friendly, motel clean and location is great - close to MRT and buses. I would stay again, my only comment would be "take care when the staff offer you an upgrade - they say it includes a bigger room, etc. The room is not really bigger, the free cocktail is a selection of four within certain hours which are not real exciting and you are usually out and about, and it includes two items per day ONLY laundered (non accumulative). The upgrade was $40SD plus taxes - a rip off. Otherwise, no problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Keighleybyte,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Our Club rooms are significantly bigger than our Superior and Deluxe room. However, they are quite similar in size compared to our Premier rooms. The difference between a Premier and Club room would be the amenities, cocktail hour and the exclusivity at our Club wing. We apologise that our staff did not communicate effectively and hence resulted in this misunderstanding.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    460
    144
    64
    24
See reviews for
202
335
90
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for the second time in january'13 during my short trip to singapore. This hotel is amazingly well located in little india and has a historic backing. Mustafa is walkig distance from here and internet wifi is free. The best part are the balony so big and with gr views of little india specially at night with all neon signs. The room and toilets are very clean. The bathroom is decked up with all the necessities. The hotel is divided into 2 wings and this time i stayed in the other wing. The courtyard and outside of thehotle i mean the entrance is very chic and lovely with becnh to sit and an old victorian watch for time. Best for having drinks sitting on the table outside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear vivek_kool,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the view from your hotel room. We are situated at a very interesting location. We are near to Singapore's shopping paradise, Orchard road and also near to our heritage sites like Little India, Bugis and Kampung Glam.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay here every year for it's location and Staff, the Hotel is comfortable but not over the top, I do not eat here as there are so many places just outside and in the Food courts to sample so many great and inexpensive meals and Drinks. - I would recommend the Club rooms as the basic rooms can be that. The internet usually works but they have promised they will upgrade to allow email that uses secure protocols to work soon - I am holding my breath for next year. The Staff here are the best and fully endorse their enthusiasm to make up for any shortcomings this Hotel may have. Overall it is a good place at the right price. The local MTR is Little India and a new station is being built at the end of the block.

Room Tip: get the Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear DaveH745,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise for the issue with our wireless internet. We understand from our internet network provider that the issue with accessing secure email is with inidividual laptop settings and there is nothing that we can do to our network to circumvent the security settings. However, we are trying to get a second opinion from other providers to ensure that there is really nothing that can be done.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We visited singapore in early September and found Albert court by chance for a drink to quench our thirst. On our way back before flying home decided to stay at the hotel (great rate ($170 SD after taxes). Our room had a view of little india (which had all the banners light up). We were worried about the noise from the main road - didn't hear a thing. Only criticism would be there were not powerpoints near the bed side tables. Not that big a deal

The staff here are fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble. We checked out in the morning, but our flight wasn't until late that night. They offered to look after our bags and asked if we would like a shower to freshen up before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear shantelle11,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologised that there was insufficient powerpoints in the room. We will be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms starting from December 2013 and we will be adding more powerpoints to cater to the needs of todays modern traveller.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Village Hotel Albert Court
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently, we had 4 nights stay at Village Albert Court. We booked 3 Superior rooms through the travel agent & to our surprise, room sizes were smaller than our imagination. I booked one of the the room keeping in mind the accomodation for 2 adults & 2 kids (9 & 4), however it was smaller for even a small family. Also, same category rooms like Deluxe have various sizes by design, which is inappropriate. Knowing the size of the family, nobody bothered to find the room with maximum area & allocate accordingly. The interiors need renovation for sure. Staff for room service is very good, however the reception staff needs training to be little more friendly with atleast a smile on their face :-)

Breakfast menu was different every day & was quite a good mix of veg & non-veg. The staff at Breakfast area was very cooperative & friendly. Also, location is definitely a plus due to nearby places like Little India, Bugis & MRT. The washroom was shabby with aged shower. The outside view towards roadside will showcase construction activities for MRT & the other side of the hotel has nothing much to offer. The room sizes are bigger with better decor for same flagship hotel - Hotel Village Landmark nearby.

Overall a pleasant experience but expectations were higher from such good brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Nitin_kap,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise that our staff did not share with you that we have family rooms that are designed to accommodate 2 adults and 2 child. We also have 3 other room categories, which are our deluxe, premier and Club rooms and they are all bigger than our Superior rooms. While these room categories do cost more, the extra space is definitely worth the money.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here while we discovered Singapore. We had room only which is all we needed. Room was basic but no complaints as it was clean, hotel staff very friendly and helpful and knew how to make a great Singapore Sling!! It was about 30 mins walk to the Marina and just over the road from Little India. We were hardly at the hotel so cant comment on the food or ammenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear FlipnFlop,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We would like to share that we will be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year and we hope you would like our new design on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor rating and comments. Just checked in, overall impression is old and outdated, I'm not saying it's not clean but it's just the overall impression. Have paid upfront so not a lot of choice I'm afraid. Staff at the front desk very friendly though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 95Business_traveller,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we hope that you had enjoyed your stay.

We would like to share that we would be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year and we hope you would like our new design on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#41 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.