We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 25%off +100%Cashback
Ranked #43 of 290 hotels in Singapore
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently, we had 4 nights stay at Village Albert Court. We booked 3 Superior rooms through the travel agent & to our surprise, room sizes were smaller than our imagination. I booked one of the the room keeping in mind the accomodation for 2 adults & 2 kids (9 & 4), however it was smaller for even a small family. Also, same category rooms like Deluxe have various sizes by design, which is inappropriate. Knowing the size of the family, nobody bothered to find the room with maximum area & allocate accordingly. The interiors need renovation for sure. Staff for room service is very good, however the reception staff needs training to be little more friendly with atleast a smile on their face :-)

Breakfast menu was different every day & was quite a good mix of veg & non-veg. The staff at Breakfast area was very cooperative & friendly. Also, location is definitely a plus due to nearby places like Little India, Bugis & MRT. The washroom was shabby with aged shower. The outside view towards roadside will showcase construction activities for MRT & the other side of the hotel has nothing much to offer. The room sizes are bigger with better decor for same flagship hotel - Hotel Village Landmark nearby.

Overall a pleasant experience but expectations were higher from such good brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Nitin_kap,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise that our staff did not share with you that we have family rooms that are designed to accommodate 2 adults and 2 child. We also have 3 other room categories, which are our deluxe, premier and Club rooms and they are all bigger than our Superior rooms. While these room categories do cost more, the extra space is definitely worth the money.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    405
    137
    62
    21
See reviews for
160
297
79
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here while we discovered Singapore. We had room only which is all we needed. Room was basic but no complaints as it was clean, hotel staff very friendly and helpful and knew how to make a great Singapore Sling!! It was about 30 mins walk to the Marina and just over the road from Little India. We were hardly at the hotel so cant comment on the food or ammenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear FlipnFlop,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We would like to share that we will be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year and we hope you would like our new design on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Booked this hotel based on the Tripadvisor rating and comments. Just checked in, overall impression is old and outdated, I'm not saying it's not clean but it's just the overall impression. Have paid upfront so not a lot of choice I'm afraid. Staff at the front desk very friendly though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear 95Business_traveller,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we hope that you had enjoyed your stay.

We would like to share that we would be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year and we hope you would like our new design on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The room itself was nice and the staff were helpful and polite. The location is a little out of the way but the small square between the two hotel areas with its bars and restaurants was a nice area for a drink in the evening. The only let down was breakfast which was very limited and not that appetising.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Simonscott,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologised that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. We promise that we will continue to work with our food and beverage team to improve both the quality and variety of our breakfast buffet.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Has been staying here all this while since 2010, overall a good place to stay. The front desk is friendly and gave me a worm welcome back, just feels like return to home. Location is quite strategic and walking distance to MRT and bugis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear rains85,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us,

Our team takes pride in providing good service and meeting our guest needs. We will continue to work hard to bring to our guest a great experience at Village Hotel Albert Court.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had stayed at the Albert Court in February 2013 and did not have a good experience. We let them know and they offered us a free nights accommodation next time we were in Singapore. My wife's birthday was coming up so we decided to take them up on the offer. We arrived and were greeted at the cab door, and they had no idea what time we would arrive. From that point on the experience was totally different to the previous. The front desk staff were efficient and very helpful. Jamal took us to our room and was very helpful, welcoming and made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. The decision to give them another chance was worth it, the place has improved considerably and it is worth a look if you want to spend some time in that part of town. It's sits on the edge of Little India opposite Sarangoon Road which is also worth a wander if your in the mood. Give them a chance and I think you will be delighted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DarwinPete,

We thank you for sharing about your stay and we are glad that you had enjoyed your recent stay better than your previous.

We thank you for giving us a second chance and we are delighted that we have changed your perception of us. We strive to give all our guest a memorable stay and will always try to learn from our mistakes to improve ourself.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

A single person, I went to there for 10 days, for the Grand Prix, food was good, staff friendly. Nice small gym in hotel, with a bar and restaurant. The food was good with offers on during the week for residents. Seemed more a business hotel than a family one. I have to mention some staff who made my stay perfect, Theresa, Melvin and Azleena, wonderfully friendly, you are a 5 minute walk from orchard road the main shopping district and just round the corner from little India.... Perfect place to stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Andrew Q,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We have conveyed your appreciation to Theresa, Melvin and Azleena and they are delighted that they had made a difference to your stay. We are glad that you liked our gym and we would like to share with you that we had just renovated our gym and replaced our equipments with brand new sets. We hope you would like the new designa on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Also Known As:
Albert Court
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore
Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#43 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.