We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 35% +WiFi +Tour
Ranked #44 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved the hotel and location. The service was excellent, very friendly and helpful. We stayed at the Club room which was great with free wifi which was handy. We also loved the restaurants part of the hotel precinct, which was easy and well appointed. The location close to Little India and Bugis centre and market was perfect as well. We will be staying there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AggieDD,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are thankful that we have a great location but most importantly our team take pride in providing our guest with a memorable experience.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    579
    165
    70
    28
See reviews for
270
422
111
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at Albert court Hotel for the second time... I had last stayed in 1999 for my Honey moon and came back this time.. The hotel has the same layout as last time... :)

I really enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel as they are very nice and decently dressed and very clean hotel.. I would rather advice the Indians to think before staying at any other hotel as it has the best connections nearby to Bugis as well Little India as well there is an MRT just 5 Mins walk.. Then why spend more on 4* when you can get the convenience at the door step..

In the Breakfast they do serve with Indian delicacies to flavor your tongue...

Room Tip: Only i would suggest all to take a upgraded room which i was complimentary given by the hotel and lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Vishal75,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to provide great value to our guest by being relevant to their needs. Great service and a clean environment are two of the areas which we had identified as important to our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this property was. This hotel is built into some of the old long shop houses that once made up the area. The hotel itself is very close to the Little India MRT station. On checking in, I found the staff friendly (which is a rarity in Singapore) and efficient. The receptionist even went the extra mile by divulging the location of her favorite and very popular chicken rice stall which did not disappoint. (You know it's good when there's always a queue). This personal service was excellent and lacking in some of the more well known brands of accommodation that I stayed at in Singapore.
The rooms are of a good standard here although they are a bit dated but the rooms are clean. The only minor problem I had was that the plughole in the bath tub could not keep up with the shower. First world problems... The room I found was quiet and well insulated from the outside world.
The free bottled water was really appreciated in the Singapore heat and replenished every day. The gym I found was well equipped, clean and in good order, while the outside Jacuzzi area was small and cozy but a welcome relief from the heat.
This hotel easily surpasses the service in other more expensive hotels in Singapore and is excellent value for money. I would quite happily return to this property with my family on my next trip to Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear METAR,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apolgise that our room design is not up to your expectation. We are excited to share that we are planning to commence our renovation of all our superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year and we hope you would like the new design on your next stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a crew here for business this past summer. What a pleasant surprise - a nice colonial (but all updated) historic property with a gorgeous courtyard and walkway between the two buildings (to keep you dry). The staff were super attentive, the breakfast was great - and the internet was good. (all of the key things) If you are staying on the club side there are some additional benefits like the club lounge and evening drinks. As well there are two hot tubs, one heated and one not to unwind in. It is also about two blocks from a large number of restaurants (including Fatty's - which is famous) and the metro station. Easy to get a taxi. Beds were great - location was good - hotel was clean. Need I say more?

Room Tip: Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Adam D,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to deliver the greatest value by being revelant to the needs of our guest and we are delighted that our efforts had been appreciated.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice quaint setting ,very clean and tidy,well connected to public transport and shopping areas.We came back only to sleep and believe me that we did excellently. Don't trust them with a wake-up call. We would have missed our flight if we had relied on them.







  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mini M,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologise that you did not receive our wake up call as requested. Our wake up calls are managed by our system and are keyed in upon our guest request. However, if the phone is turned to silence mode, the wake up calls would no longer be audible to our guests. In view of such incidents, our team will be checking the phones in all the check out rooms daily to ensure that the phones are not turned to silence mode.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and it felt like home. A comfortable Hotel which isn't pretentious but cosy and welcoming. I found the staff professional, efficient and friendly, even the cleaners asked if they could help! The breakfast had a wide variety of foods to suit all tastes. I arrived in Singapore after staying for 4 weeks in Morocco & Spain to find the Club room at Village Hotel Albert Court had the most comfortable bed I had slept in for the month! I want their pillows! The rooms are large and clean. The location is great,around the Little India district which I find more interesting than staying in the more touristy areas. The train station is only a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel.. I did find the carpet in the hallways a tad shabby (stained and old)but have been told renovations have been planned to update the hotel. The air conditioning was a little loud but all in all a good value hotel.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are large and comfortable and with these rooms you have the added bonus of free coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Meiko88,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We agree with you that the condition of the carpet is no longer presentable and hence we will be undergoing renovation to replace our carpets at the end of the year.

We thank you for choosing stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the second time I am staying here. Great location. The ambiance is great. The sit out joints in the courtyard are fantastic. Looks like a heritage hotel. Food is passable. Facilities are minimal. But the service - arrrrhhh! People talk down to you as if you have never been inside a hotel before.

Room Tip: They tell you that the rooms in the block opposite the reception are "upgrade". I actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear SrikanthSivaraj,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we hope that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise that our service did not meet your expectation. We set high standards for our staff when serving our guest and hence we would like to hear more details about these incidents so that we can investigate further. I would appreciate if you can email these details to me at vernonlee@fareast.com.sg.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#42 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.