We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25%off +Free B'fast +Wifi
Ranked #41 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just came back from a 10 days holiday in Singapore. Stayed at Albert Court Village Hotel. Received tremendous service; nothing was to much for staff. Room was very clean so was the restaurant , breakfast well presented and with more then enough choices of food to eat. Only disappointment was the noise produced by the beer shops located a few meters away from under our first floor room during weekend nights. Worth coming back to next time in Singapore

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Luciendat,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise for the noise from the pubs at our courtyard. Our security team will step up their patrol and enforcement of our noise policy at night.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    431
    141
    61
    23
See reviews for
187
319
85
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking to stay in Singapore this is an excellent choice of accommodation. Have breakfast included as it caters for all tastes and dietary requirements. Very friendly staff who make you feel at home, easy access to markets, food, rail, buses, taxis, tours can be booked on site. Rooms are lovely, clean and cool. Cant speak highly enough and hope one day to have enough money to go back to Singapore and we will definitely stay at the Albert Court. Make sure you have dinner at "Fatty's" just down the road. For anyone with wheat allergies, both the hotel and Fatty's cater for you well.

Room Tip: We liked being down stairs on the ground floor. Just felt like home. Ask for room 1112
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Kerrie M,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We strive to provide a clean and comfortable environment for all our guests to explore and experience Singapore.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights beginning of August and would certainly go back again given the chance. The hotel was well situated close to the efficient underground at Little India and ethnic quarters which were good for shops and restaurants. The Albert Court Area is great with a number of excellent restaurants which were good value. As we were staying at the hotel on a room only basis this gave us the chance to venture out and we would recommend both La Café and Patisserie which was amazing value (especially breakfast) with great choice and very friendly staff and the Art College 'canteen' which was also excellent.

Hotel staff very friendly and efficient and gym and jaccuzi were good. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the 'Fragrance' Hotel which was fine and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was very welcoming. Would certainly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear HMC2013,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you had enjoyed our gym and jaccuzzi. We will be renovating our gym and replacing all our equipments in the next 2 months and we hope you would enjoy the upgrade on your stay with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend & I spent about 2 weeks at Albert Court. it was located well for our needs. Our room was in the Club section & was good sized & had pleasant décor. The hotel has character & is well maintained. We did get a good deal on the price which helped.
The staff in a hotel can make or break the business & we found the manager & some staff "going the extra mile" which made our stay very pleasant. Especially as we were in a foreign country where we had to rely on their honesty & local knowledge.
Apart from a little rowdiness in the court yard near the hotel one night it was a near perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear daisybell353,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback that it was rowdy in our courtyard on one of the nights. We have since stepped up our security patrol and enforcement to control the noise level in our courtyard especially when it is past 10pm.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was our first trip abroad, cruise and tensed to be first time outside the country. When our pick up agent drove us from airport to the Hotel , we were amazed the hotel location and the ambience. The front desk were very helpful also explained the existing Heritage Offer.
The hotel just 5mins walk from Little India MRT Station and walkable distance to Orchard Road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Babu_chitti,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and our heritage feel. Our location is ideal for guest who are interested to explore the local heritage as well as the international diversity in Singapore. We are close to Little India and Kampong Glam as well as Orchard road. Apart from our location, our unique architecture and ambience also offers a great experience for guest who are interested in Singapore's history.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a night stay at this hotel over the weekend for my family via agoda because of its location and also it's promotion. The room is nice and pleasant but do not expect it to be very grand, given that the price you are paying, I must say it is good enough for my family and myself...

I booked a club room via agoda and the only confusing issue happened the next morning when I came out for breakfast at the club lounge with my son. It was stated in a welcome letter given to me that I can dine at the club lounge or the café but however, there is a lady holding a list telling me that we do not qualify for the breakfast at the club lounge, even though my booking was for the Club Room through agoda and when checking in, the letter clearly states I am entitled to the club lounge food... However, the lady was quick to add that we are allowed to eat there nonetheless which I appreciate very much but this shouldn't had happened in the first place... Is the hotel telling me that booking a club room through agoda does not qualifies for the club lounge food or what? Then what is stated in agoda is just telling a lie because I read and quote from agoda, "Rate includes complimentary breakfast and evening cocktail at Club Lounge"

Anyway, my stay was good overall and the service level of staffs there are very attentive, especially Yin Kai for going out of the way to ensure my family has the proper room to stay... So thank you for the good weekend...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear RobinAng,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed their stay.

We apologise for the incident at our Club lounge. Our staff had made a mistake and informed you that you are not entitled to breakfast. We have spoken to her and she will ensure that it will not happen again.

We have also conveyed your appreciation to Yin Kai and he is delighted that he had made a difference to your stay.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our room on the quiet side overlooking internal walkway with fountains. Service was excellent and always with a smile. Could not do enough. The promotions were an extra bonus as well. We would have preferred not to be woken up to be asked about laundry every morning. Perhaps this could be asked when we first check in or bring back the "do not disturb signs". Apart from this we enjoyed our stay and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mike B,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback about the do not disturb sign. Our premier and club rooms are equiped with a digital privacy sign that is controlled at the side table. For our superior and deluxe rooms, we do have physical signs for our guest to display. we apologise that this facility was not adequately

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.