We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25%off +Free B'fast +Wifi
Ranked #41 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend & I spent about 2 weeks at Albert Court. it was located well for our needs. Our room was in the Club section & was good sized & had pleasant décor. The hotel has character & is well maintained. We did get a good deal on the price which helped.
The staff in a hotel can make or break the business & we found the manager & some staff "going the extra mile" which made our stay very pleasant. Especially as we were in a foreign country where we had to rely on their honesty & local knowledge.
Apart from a little rowdiness in the court yard near the hotel one night it was a near perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear daisybell353,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback that it was rowdy in our courtyard on one of the nights. We have since stepped up our security patrol and enforcement to control the noise level in our courtyard especially when it is past 10pm.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    432
    141
    61
    23
See reviews for
188
319
85
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was our first trip abroad, cruise and tensed to be first time outside the country. When our pick up agent drove us from airport to the Hotel , we were amazed the hotel location and the ambience. The front desk were very helpful also explained the existing Heritage Offer.
The hotel just 5mins walk from Little India MRT Station and walkable distance to Orchard Road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Babu_chitti,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and our heritage feel. Our location is ideal for guest who are interested to explore the local heritage as well as the international diversity in Singapore. We are close to Little India and Kampong Glam as well as Orchard road. Apart from our location, our unique architecture and ambience also offers a great experience for guest who are interested in Singapore's history.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked a night stay at this hotel over the weekend for my family via agoda because of its location and also it's promotion. The room is nice and pleasant but do not expect it to be very grand, given that the price you are paying, I must say it is good enough for my family and myself...

I booked a club room via agoda and the only confusing issue happened the next morning when I came out for breakfast at the club lounge with my son. It was stated in a welcome letter given to me that I can dine at the club lounge or the café but however, there is a lady holding a list telling me that we do not qualify for the breakfast at the club lounge, even though my booking was for the Club Room through agoda and when checking in, the letter clearly states I am entitled to the club lounge food... However, the lady was quick to add that we are allowed to eat there nonetheless which I appreciate very much but this shouldn't had happened in the first place... Is the hotel telling me that booking a club room through agoda does not qualifies for the club lounge food or what? Then what is stated in agoda is just telling a lie because I read and quote from agoda, "Rate includes complimentary breakfast and evening cocktail at Club Lounge"

Anyway, my stay was good overall and the service level of staffs there are very attentive, especially Yin Kai for going out of the way to ensure my family has the proper room to stay... So thank you for the good weekend...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear RobinAng,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed their stay.

We apologise for the incident at our Club lounge. Our staff had made a mistake and informed you that you are not entitled to breakfast. We have spoken to her and she will ensure that it will not happen again.

We have also conveyed your appreciation to Yin Kai and he is delighted that he had made a difference to your stay.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed our room on the quiet side overlooking internal walkway with fountains. Service was excellent and always with a smile. Could not do enough. The promotions were an extra bonus as well. We would have preferred not to be woken up to be asked about laundry every morning. Perhaps this could be asked when we first check in or bring back the "do not disturb signs". Apart from this we enjoyed our stay and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mike B,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback about the do not disturb sign. Our premier and club rooms are equiped with a digital privacy sign that is controlled at the side table. For our superior and deluxe rooms, we do have physical signs for our guest to display. we apologise that this facility was not adequately

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Albert Court has a very strategic location. It is near to Little India and Bugis MRT stations. Making it very convenient for us to explore both areas.

We explored Bugis in day 1. Going to Bugis Junction, Bugis+ area, took a cab to Ochard Central because of a tie in promotion (Heritage fest). And also shopped at OG Albert Court. For day 2, we crossed over to the other side to venture into little india, walked all the way to City Square Mall and took MRT back to Little India. I guess there are just too many things to see/do in both areas. Plus many promotion going on and these areas are slightly cheaper then along Orchard Road.

I also like the service of front counter staff. Very polite and energetic. Didnt show any signs of inpatence despite many questions from us.

I did not give 5 stars because:

1) Difficult to find carpark. Must approach the hotel from Cathay area, else will miss the entrance to carpark.
2) The room deco/quality is in general average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear weeteck1973,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback about the design of our rooms and we are delighted to share that we will commence our renovation of all superior and deluxe rooms at the end of the year. Upon completion of the renovaiton, we hope to present to you a new experience.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to weloming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in the first half of June. Booked online 3 months ahead and specified 'No Smoking' Family room. Sure enough, the family room was stinking of stale cigarrette smoke. Apaprently all family rooms are in the smoking section - funny how they didnt tell us that when they too our booking @ ~US$250/night. THey offered to change us to another non family room, which was fine, but the bathroom had a bad sewage smell......some issue with the pipes. Unfortunately we didnt realize this until a couple of hours after we moved our luggage to this new room. Staff offered us to move yet again, however we were tired of this, with the kids all cranky and tired by this time.........sprayed some extra cologne for the few minutes we were in the bathroom in the morning. Front desk guy said its not something they could fix immediately, as it was a major renovation.
Plus the 3rd room they offered us seemed much more noisy due to the major construction outside....... On the positive side, staff is helpful - offered to change our rooms, allowed for early checkin. And agreed to allow us to have a late checkout, due to the poor condition of the room (6pm checkout - no extra cost).
Location is quite nice, close to Little India, Bugis street, Sim Lim Square etc.

Room Tip: Be aware, family rooms are all smoking rooms. Call and confirm if this is chaged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Aprak,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are very disappointed that we had failed to deliver the experience that we intended to.

We note your feedback about the location of our family rooms. We will be embarking on renovation for all our superior and deluxe rooms later this year and have planned to move the smoking rooms to another floor. After the renovation, all our family rooms will no longer be in the smoking area. We also apologise for the smell from the bathroom. Our engineers are now working with experts to review our options to resolve this issue and we hope to eliminate the problem within the next week.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

hotel is very comfortable, staff is very polite, cooperative ,and helping. potter service is good. check in and out procedure time is short .rooms are airy and smoke free.room service was excellant .atmosphere was peaceful and calm.american breakfast was healthy nourishing and fresh.
tourist service desk is not properly guiding regarding the places for visits and try to arrange tours for getting money while tourist guide give very short time to visit that place.for example whole day is required to visit bird park but guide spend only 1-2 hours and then wrape up the tour and takeback. this kind of attitude was showed in all visits.

Room Tip: rooms on 7 and 8 th floors are more comfortable and least noisy.a/c was properly functioning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear a a,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Village Hotel Albert Court and we are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise for the bad experience with the tour desk. We have conveyed your experience to their management and informed them that such standard of service is not acceptable. If they continueto deliver below par service to our guest, we will consider terminating their lease in our hotel.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.