We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off +Wifi + Free Tour
Ranked #42 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. Good breakfast. Situated near metro station, little india and Mustafa is just a 10 mins walking distance. Room are small in size but neat and clean. Easy access to a lot of restaurants nearby.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Ashish J,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

As we are a heritage hotel built on conserved pre war shophouses, there are limitations to the size of some of our rooms. While the size of our rooms varies, all our rooms are designed to be relevant to the needs of our guests.

We are humbled by your compliment about our breakfast. We will continue to improve and ensure that our selections are relevant to the taste of our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    435
    141
    62
    22
See reviews for
185
318
85
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel and second time to give my review because I feel they deserve to receive commendation. First of all, I am happy with my stay here because of the friendly staff like Melvin Racraquin who always espouse his friendliness and flashing his smile, he is always ready to help. We also met Azalea who is also friendly and gave assistance even we said we don't need it. The rooms are clean and beautiful. Location is just near bugis and the food strip. Great stay, I will go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear jayoliverdy,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We have conveyed your appreciation to Melvin and Azleena and they are delighted that they had made a difference to your stay. We take pride in providing great service as well as clean and comfortable rooms. We will continue to challenge ourselves to improve our product and services.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We (two couples) stayed two nights in this hotel, en-route for Oz, and would definitely recommend it. It is situated very close to the Little India area, which is buzzing, colourful and fascinating, and has easy access to the metro station. Our room was really nice: spacious, with iron, hairdryer, wardrobe, safe, armchairs, airconditioning etc, and a lovely, big comfortable bed. We were at the back of the new (annexe) building, which was fairly quiet, and we had two great nights sleep. The en-suite was fine, with good toiletries/mini-toothbrush/mini razor etc - which were nice extras - the only slight negative was that the shower was over the bath and not a walk-in one, but it was fine. Breakfast was served until 10.30 each morning (although we almost over-slept on the first morning!), with plenty of coffee (essential), cereals, some fruit (fresh and dried), and an array of hot dishes, including curry, noodles, etc for those with a good appetite in the morning. It was served in a pleasant dining room in the main hotel building, and was a lovely, relaxed way to start the day. We didn't eat other meals in the hotel - having found a superb, small, crowded and very cheap Indian restaurant (recommended by one of the guide books) a few minutes' walk away in Little India. Drinks at the hotel bar - and in the bars around the courtyard - were pricey, but the Singapore Sling was delicious despite the cost!! We'd definitely recommend this hotel to others. Incidentally, another reviewer referred to the tube: it was a great way to travel, especially if you buy a day ticket. The carriages are very clean, and the trains always ran on time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Hils15,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We take pride in being relevant to the modern day traveller and will continue to work hard to provide our guest with a memorable experience.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here while on honeymoon. The hotel is located convenently in Singapore. Access to taxis and tube is decent. We preferred to take taxi initially when we were not too sure about the tube. But it is convenient to go via tube also. Good property, well maintained and decent service. Morning breakfast options are plenty, including vegeterian options that would be liked by Indians.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear SiddharthKhanna_12,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your compliment about our hotel and our breakfast. We are constantly reviewing and improving our hotel and we hope to continue to deliver this unique experience to our guest.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A group of friends spent a nite here. Not far from Sim Lim and Bugis Street. Convenient as all the attractions are nearby. Very friendly staff, willing to assist our request. Not far from MRT and not difficult to board on taxi a bus. Must try Allauddin Beryani, at Tekka just a 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: A colonial type of building which was existed duringthe WWII.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Faisalbob,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your compliments about our staff and our location. Our Village brand is about exploring our locale and we are delighted that you had enjoyed the various attractions nearby.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, cosy with nice decor. In a good location with shops and eateries all around.
The room we got was nice and cosy only a bit smaller being tucked in around the corner by the lift. So it could get a bit noisy if there are many guests using the lifts.
What got my goat was they gave my partner and I twin rooms even though we had requested a double! And when we had gone down to request for a change there was no apology at all.
Speaking of the staff, we had to wait a long time for check-in. The area was too squeezy and the staff(males who all seemed young and wet behind the ears) did not handle the situation well. No eye contact, no smiles, no apologies for waiting.
The cake on the icing was when we called to ask for a late check-out. A Filipino male staff said that it was not possible as all rooms were fully booked. But I saw that there Were rooms available on asiatravel n booking.com!
All the above gives me the impression that the staff at this hotel is unprofessional, did not get proper training, is not proud of their job and eager to provide a good hospitality experience.
The service experience pales in comparison with other hotels of similar class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ZanSingapore,

We apologise for failing to meet your expectation.

This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to deliver. We have investigated and briefed the staff involved.

We had always pride ourselves for delivering good service and we hope you would give us another chance to prove ourselves.

We thank you for choosing to stay at Albert Court Village Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Since the hotel was renovated from colonial shophouses, it exudes a distinct charm of it's own. Only a stone throw away from MRT station, Little India, Sim Lim Square(IT heaven of Singapore) and some great eateries(Chicken Rice, Douhua and lots of Indian cuisine).

Because the hotel is only 2 stories high and there are pubs on the ground floor, it can get a bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ed T,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We note your feedback about the noise from our courtyard. We apologise for the noise and are in the midst of soundproofing all our windows. The project once completed will be able to allow our guest to enjoy both the peace and serenity of their rooms and also the vibrancy and excitment of our courtyard.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Family Hotel in Singapore
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.