We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable Attendants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hospitable Attendants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed twice in this hotel already and really appreciated the friendliness of their staff. I was very impressed with the attention given by Melvin, he was very friendly and really extended his service to give us a warm welcome. I also appreciate the small things inside the room like Colgate Plax ready for use when you get in the bathroom, a personal coffee machine installed in the room, big television set etc. overall it was a very pleasant stay adding experience to your travel may it be businesa or leisure. I hope you will enjoy your stay too like I did.

Jay Dy
a business traveller

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear jayoliverdy,

We thank you for complimenting our hotel and we are excited to have had the opportunity to serve you.

We had conveyed your appreciation to Melvin and he is excited that he had made a difference to your stay. He is grateful for your encouragement will continue to work hard to serve our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    633
    175
    75
    29
See reviews for
298
454
114
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Albert Court Village in January 2013 for 7 nights. As we were doing a cruise from Sydney back to Sydney we wanted to have a break to get over jet lag. We had stayed in Singapore before in 2009 but hotel prices have gone up tremendously. We picked the Albert Court as the reviews on Trip Advisor were very good. ON arriving there, we could not believe how lovely and quaint it was. The reception staff were wonderful and we were shown to our room right away. It was a lovely room, not too big. Our room was at the back of the hotel and as we were very tired we went to bed and was awoken by the noise from the water circulation pump. We could not sleep, so my husband went to the reception to see what could be done. They were really good and said we could have a free upgrade to a Club room. The room was fabulous and so spacious and it was in the new part of the hotel which was lovely. A really special mention should be made to Josephine who was so lovely and went out to help you at any time and was a mine of information. She is a real asset to the hotel. The hotel was in a really great area, near Little India which was fascinating and to so many other places of interest.
We would have no hesitation in staying at the Albert Court if we ever go to Singapore again

Room Tip: Try to stay in a club room as our room was massive and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear MarilynLancashire,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We apologise for the noise from our water circulation pump. We are in the midst of reviewing the various ways to reduce the noise from the pump and to better sound proof our rooms near the pump.

We have conveyed your appreciation to Josephine and she is excited that she had made a difference to your stay.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a wonderful time here.Very cosy rooms,good service and it is at a walking distance from Little India.It is located in Central Singapore so it is close to everything in Singapore.If and when, I again go to Singapore i would definitely stay in Albert Court Village... :o)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Anupama-Joshi,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We thank you for complimenting our service and our hotel and we are excited that you would definitely stay with us on your next visit to Singapore.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful when my bus did not turn up on time and allowed me back to my room to rest whilst I waited. The breakfast selection was awesome, enjoyed it very much. The room itself was nice although I was disappointed that I was given a room with two single beds rather than a double; by the time I was checked in I was too tired to ask for a change. I couldn't find a do not disturb sign and was consequently disturbed several times by housekeeping. My only real niggle would be that the bed was uncomfortable and the plug sockets weren't next to the bed. But I would still recommend and may well stop off there on my return journey. Oh and prewarning about the deposit would be good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear hollyh392,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We thank you for complimenting our team and our breakfast setup. We are very encouraged and will continue to work hard to give our guests the best experience.

We apologize for the issues that you had faced in your room. We will be renovating all our superior and deluxe rooms this year and we hope you will find them more user friendly after the renovation. We have also shared your feedback with our housekeeping team and we will try our best to ensure that it will not happen again.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Apple (Front Desk) ....... (1) Remembers guest's name (2) Smiles readily (3) Solves guest's problems creatively (4) Follow-up with guest's requests

Abdullah (Front Office Manager) and Mira (Senior Guest Services Executive) were polite and helpful, and also remember guest's name too.

Some Housekeeping and Maintenance Department staff were helpful too.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rochor Canal may be noisy due to subway construction work even late at night. Rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Successor,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

I have conveyed your compliments to Apple, Mira and Abdullah and they are excited that they had made a difference to your stay.

We thank you for your encouragement and we will continue to work hard to provide our guests with our great Albert court experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here this week only for 3 nights and like the hotel very much. Given up-gradation due to non-availability of Superior room and had a smooth check in without any delays...hotel is close to Mustafa and little India. Little India MRT is also close by. Melvin is off-course one of their trademarks with his great service and hospitality. Only thing missing was smile on the face of other front office people and would love to see smiling faces in future. Stayed in room 101 and was annoyed by enter and exit gate voice which is next to my room. Also, the room A/C took good 1 hour to work properly and location of A/C vent is away from the bed.

Though basic requirements like iron and dryer are available in the room. Breakfast was decent enough. Jacuzzi and gym are complimentary. Will definitely look forward to stay in the future again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 due to voice problem. Higher floor rooms are more good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Shael13,

We thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your feedback about our front office team and our room 101. I have conveyed your compliment to Melvin and he is excited that he had made a difference to your stay. Our engineers had conducted a check on the room aircon and will do the neccesary to revolve the issue. They will also be exploring ways to improve the sound proofing of the room to eliminate the disturbance from bypassing human traffic.

We thank you for staying at Albert Court Village Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Last week I stayed at this place only one night. I was looking forward to visiting Little India, located just across the street. After a wonderful breakfast and a great sleep in a lovely room I enjoyed my morning. The staff were so courtieous, extending hospitality at every step of the way. Then I got very sick, just as I was going to check out. The staff working at reception, kindly extended my stay for additional 4 hours, during which time I was able to recover. While waiting for taxi to the airport, the staff were checking on me few times, offering water and asking after my wellbeing. Everything at this hotel was really nice and good style, but what will stay with me is their hospitality and courtesy. I look forward to visiting the place again and will not hesitate to recommend.it. Big thanks to the staff members who worked on 19th and 20th Jan.

Room Tip: Great place right next to Little India. Close to metro line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon L, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear JazzWarsaw,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at Albert Court Village Hotel. We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

We are humbled by your compliment about our hotel and our team. We had always placed the wellbeing of our guest as our number one priority. Your affirmation of our efforts will spur us to work harder.

We are excited that we had made a difference to your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Village at Albert Court soon.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Vernon Lee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#53 of 300 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 4,921 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
#88 of 300 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Hotel Kai
#51 of 300 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#224 of 300 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.