We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GR8 location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35%off +Free Tour +WiFi
Ranked #42 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Jaipur, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“GR8 location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

gr8 location, next to little india MRT station and bus station with direct service to orchard road.breakfast is gr8 with indian and continental on offer.walkin distance from mustafa shopping centre with good indian veg/ non veg restaurants at walking distance.its a heritage hotel a bit pricey though.staff was very helpful.rooms were clean and have a heritage feel to it as the hotel itself is very old.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

You have correctly pointed out that our great location is one of our key advantage over other hotels. We are located near to the Little India MRT (subway, metro) station, and 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts of Singapore.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    500
    147
    67
    24
See reviews for
221
359
96
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Do
Like the room space but as expected

Don't
-Location very bad..even taxi driver hard to find this place
-Service also bad.ask them to book taxi for my next check out, but found out the never book.ask them twice during check in
-hotel amenities not user friendly.looks from the website better then the real thing

Room Tip: Small, but as expected as the hotel itself is small.toilet okay but bathtub too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Albert Court Village Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to achieve and we are certain we can do much better than this.

We have followed up on your feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. It is with such feedback that allow us to improve our products and services to continue to provide excellent service to our guests.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of and we look forward to welcome you back to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

here is what i liked about the hotel:
- after reading some of the reviews, i was very scared about quality of rooms. however the room we were given was very big and very well furnished.
- the rooms were neat and clean
- the entrance was beautiful
- reception was helpful
- walking distance to MRT as well as vegetarian Indian joints in little india
- there is a nice jacuzzi but we didn't use it

What i didn't like:
- the rooms had no sound proofing. so if u are a late riser, you will get disturbed by neighbours opening and shutting doors and talking outside your room
- if you request anything from housekeeping, you will probably have to call twice as they are pretty slow

All in all, I won't mind staying in this hotel and will recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

The abundance of specialty food and beverages around our hotel is certainly one of the key highlights for staying with us. Singapore is known as a city with plentiful of international food cuisines and traditional South East Asians cuisines. Staying with Albert Court Village Hotel also presents you with the chance to flavour the variety of cuisines either within our hotel premises or outside the hotel premises.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas city, tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had to stay here for four days waiting to join my ship, and was definitely disappointed. The property is old and rather rundown, and the rooms even worse. I got to my room and was shocked at how small it was. Not only small but rather dingy and dirty feeling. After the 24 hour flight to get there i just wanted to lay down, well after a few hours of hearing the elevator which was next to this room I went and asked for a different room, desk staff was very friendly and move dme right away, to an even smaller room overlooking the busy street ugghhh. The interesting thing was this rooms shower had the exact same cracks in its soap dish as the first one.

Would definitely never pay to stay there and if I had been paying would of tried to find a different hotel on arrival.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Albert Court Village Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us. We would like to assure you that this is not the standards that we strive to achieve and we are certain we can do much better than this.

We have followed up on your feedback and we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. It is with such feedback that allow us to improve our products and services to continue to provide excellent service to our guests.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of and we look forward to welcome you back to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a week with a friend, visiting Singapore to attend a conference. We had a room upstairs opposite the main building, and room was quiet, big and comfortable, although starting to look a little tired. Great location, close to MRT, Tekka Centre, Bugis Junction and Sim Lim Square. Great food nearby, would recommend if you're looking for a quiet yet convenient stay close to the hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

Location is the other key advantage we have over the other hotels. We are located close to the Little India MRT Station (Subway, Metro), and also 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts. Whether it is for leisure or business, we are best located to serve you.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

Good customer service. We booked a room with a King bed but got a room with a queen plus single. Unfortunately we had to move rooms due to curtain rail that came of wall when opened, and because our room was on the Rochor Canal Road side, there was quite a bit of noise that made it to our room on the 3rd level. The staff were very understanding and after packing up they moved our luggage to a quieter room which was better in all ways except that it only had a queen bed (I'm 6'4 so I try to book king size beds where I can). I probably could have said something at the time but we were happy that we'd been moved into a quieter part of the hotel. Good thing is, Little India is in ur opinion a good location. It's near the train station which has access to all the tourity places and the rail system we found easy to use, but taxis seem a cheap option too (caught one taxi from near Marina Bay Sands to Mustafa for about 7 SGD). For shoppers, Orchard ave is only a 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

As a boutique hotel constructed from restored pre-war shop houses with Straits Chinese carvings and motifs, we provide a different experience from other hotels. The unique Village experience will also complement our modern amenities to suit both business and leisure travellers.

Location is the other key advantage we have over the other hotels. We are located close to the Little India MRT Station (Subway, Metro), and also 10 minutes away from major business and shopping districts. Whether it is for leisure or business, we are best located to serve you.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel is known across globe for its service and facility extended to travellers at such a rate which suits everybody. I went there with my office staff on lesiure/fun trip from 2 days. We have all the facilites & Great breakfast offered by Hotel

Room Tip: Best Hotel in Singapore
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, Manager at Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments to Albert Court Village Hotel.

it is our goal to provide the best service in town to all our guests. We thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff and we are sure this will spur them to provide even better service to all our guests in future.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again to Albert Court Village Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality

Address: 180 Albert Street, Singapore 189971, Singapore (Formerly Albert Court Village Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Singapore
#32 Family Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Albert Court is a landmark of Albert Street restored from pre-war shop houses. The Paranakan-styled hotel has enhanced the historical shop houses with modern luxury to endowed guests to enjoy convenience while indulging in its rich cultural guestrooms. This popular hotel lies along the famous street for food and beverage before the 1980s, Albert Street. It was named the Gourmand Street of Singapore in Cantonese. The many celebrated restaurants still exist around the hotel today. The well located hotel is located in the heart of Singapore and is easily accessible to the Business District and Shopping District, which offers convenience to both the business and leisure travellers. From April 2014, experience the newly refurbished rooms designed with the necessities and comfort in mind for both business and leisure travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Far East Hospitality Management Pte Ltd, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Court Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Albert Court By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Albert Court by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.