We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Robertson Quay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Robertson Quay Hotel to your Saves list
Robertson Quay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Merbau Road, Singapore 239032, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Shanghai
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Glad I read other reviews before we stayed so I wasn't disappointed. Room is small but adequate. Bed is comfortable but bathroom is tiny and could do with some refurbishment.

Good location, close to Clarke Quay. Fine for one night but wouldn't necessarily stay longer.

Breakfast was okay, not a lot of choice but everything was fresh and plenty to eat. They could add some fruit.

Average hotel for an average price.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    106
    212
    93
    108
See reviews for
81
174
88
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel gives an old welcome with it's small reception and barely lighted lobby! The breakfast area is at the main lobby as well but given it's poor lighting, it's just exudes an old feeling and I don't think anyone would like to dine in a dark area. Well, at least not for me! Big minus point for me here.

Breakfast is ok. Minimal selection with cereal, fried rice, bread, sausages and eggs.

The room size is pretty decent given that space is limited here in Singapore but the toilet is really too small even for an Asian-petite-me. The facilities are minimal with an all in one soap in the bathroom. NO BIN inside the bathroom/toilet which was quite a turn off for me. Another minus here.

There isn't any complimentary drinking water but safe and fridge are provided. The room was quite well lighted. Good air-conditioning system and comfy bed. (Thankfully)

I think there was a gym but i did not check it out. Jogging along the Singapore river will be much better than being confined in a gym with no scenery. Pool area is small but nice and cosy. There was a mini man-made waterfall and a slide but not too enticing.

Services was quite a turn off though.I tried calling the housekeeping at night which was only around 9plus to request for more pillows but was told by the reception that the housekeeping was closed and to call back the next morning. This got me very puzzled, so does it mean if i'd needed toilet papers instead and since the housekeeping department is closed, i'll have to wait till the next morning before i can have fresh toilet roll?? It's ridiculous.
When i had the extra pillows sent to my room the next afternoon, i also asked for extra teaspoon because during the morning housekeeping, they had forgotten to replace the used one. And guess what??? I was told by the lady to go down to the reception for the spoon.

To have paid for service charges as well, it's only fair that a decent service is being fulfilled here but it doesn't seem to be the case.

The main good point about this hotel would probably be the location. It is within walking distance to clarke quay, boat quay and chinatown. If you don't mind the heat, you could even walk to orchard road. Bus stop is very near but not MRT station.

I'm sure there are better hotels in the same price range.

This was my first staycation at this hotel and it will be my last.

Room Tip: Request for a river view room or if they don't, get a room in the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed at 2 hotels in Singapore in the last month, both at about US$100 a night. The Robertson Quay was the worst of the two on all counts except its location.

LOCATION - Fairly central a short walk from Clarke Quay, so you can get to may places on foot. However, beware that it is 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest MRT station at which can mean a very hot and sticky walk if you are carrying bags. I would prefer to stay close to an MRT station. However, for its location, it is probably the best price hotel, and this is its big advantage.

ROOMS - I booked a double room instead of the cheaper single rooms, and had asked for a river view. I didn't get the view and the room itself was quite disappointing. Everything felt cheap. The bed was comfortable enough, but the desk was in an area that got virtually no light from the limited room lighting, and there were no plug sockets by the bed. It was clean enough but has a tired feel to it. Free wi-fi worked well.

BREAKFAST - This is served in the lobby area, from 7am. I had to leave just after 7, and after having a look at what was on offer, I gave it a miss. Limited choice, and not very appetizing...but I didn't actually try it, and am sure it would have served a purpose.

OTHER FACILITIES - The website advertises a small gym. There is no information about this in the room, so I rang reception, and asked where it was and asked if it had a running machine. I was told it was very small, and the person on reception didn't think there was a running machine. I didn't bother going so went outside instead.

OVERALL - If you really want to be by the Singapore River, this is a good location to be, as long as you don't want to spend much time in the hotel, but if you are prepared to travel a couple of stops on the MRT, you can find MUCH nicer hotels for the same money, which is what I will do for my next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing view - I asked but didn't get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel was average to good. The room was really tiny. Bathroom was petite. The shower door and the bathroom door was common. Yes, creatively done. But on the whole, if you're looking to enjoy Singapore without caring much about the hotel, then this hotel is at a pretty good price considering the location and distance from everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel appears to have many poor reviews, but this is unfair. It is a basic hotel, but clean, with all the required facilities albeit on a very small scale. The free wifi works very well. The hotel's main strength is probably its location vs price paid. It is 10 mins from the main tourist areas around the river, 20 mins from the central business district.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Agree with above ranks, and reviews from others. This hotel is in an excellent location, few minutes walking to places you want. Walking distance to great bars, restaurants and coffee shops, and easily show address to taxi driver. Staffs here also very friendly, and helpful. Breakfast is exceptionable. Totally it is ok for your money paid, and a good place to stay in

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the exterior, from pictures, Robertson Quay Hotel looked 'beautiful' in its own style so we being daredevils, decided to stay for 2D1N to enjoy our romantic getaway (despite being read many reviews about it) but the moment door swung open, we were utterly dumbfounded :(

Room looked really dated & was really small. Toilet - was not even worth mentioning as was ridiculously small. We literally just rinsed & washed up & get out of the toilet within 10 minutes before getting the toilet flooded.

Location was thumbs up, view was reasonably good if stay on high floor (our room no was 812).

Breakfast - think can skip it if not that hungry as merely having fried rice/scrambled eggs/fried eggs/baked beans/hotdogs/white bread/wholemeal bread/orange juices/coffee/tea...in the coffeehouse...

Well, if have better budget, then consider somewhere else...

If to stay here, needs to reconsider countlessly & carefully.....cheers :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Robertson Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson Quay Hotel

Address: 15 Merbau Road, Singapore 239032, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Robertson Quay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Robertson Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertson Quay Singapore
Robertson Quay Hotel Singapore
Hotel Robertson Quay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robertson Quay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.