We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
S'pore's Birthday Deal
Ranked #116 of 292 hotels in Singapore
bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

this hotel sits right on top of clarke quay which is the "happening" place in singapore. although i was travelling for business, it didnt harm us in anyway to be close to all the pubs and restaurants. the buffet breakfast had a decent spread and room service was also good. marina bay is just 4.5 Kms from the hotel and in the evenings it can be a good walk along the banks of the river. prices are on the higher side.

Room Tip: try to get a river facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear saikatBangalore,

Many thanks for your time to share your comments with us. The teams are delighted that you like the hotel’s location opposite Robertson Quay and close to Clarke Quay, two very happening entertainment and dining venues.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the walk along the Singapore River, as well as the buffet breakfast and room service.

We hope to welcome you back to Riverview Hotel on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    218
    190
    74
    33
See reviews for
112
206
56
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When we booked our holiday in Australia and we decided to stay for a few days in Singapore we were recommended the River view hotel , We were very pleased with our room and enjoyed a really good nights sleep, in a very comfortable bed, our room was quite large, it was clean , and had a good size bathroom ,a well stocked mini bar,coffee making facilities, and a view of the river, We stayed there again on our return journey and we were equally pleased with our stay,our room was on the 20th floor , very quiet with a lovely view ,Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and the staff were pleasant and helpful,We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again .

Room Tip: We requested a twin room on a high floor, It was very quiet, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Pat,

Many thanks for your compliments on TripAdvisor, which also give us the opportunity to show our appreciation to our team members for their hard work in providing our guests a memorable experience.

We are very happy that the size and cleanliness of the room and its bed and amenities were up to your expectations. The teams are also glad to know that you like the view from your room and the buffet breakfast.

Also, we would like to thank you for staying in Riverview Hotel for your return journey and will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Singapore.

All of us look forward to welcome you back to the hotel and continue to make your time here an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked three nights at the Riverview Hotel through United Airlines Mileage program. At the point it had decent rating (3 stars and average review) for what seem like a very reasonable rate. While I expected the hotel website photos to have been touched-up, what I saw and experienced was nothing more than a 2.5 star motel at best.

My first room had a horrible moldy smell, that made me politely asked to moved to a different room. I then decided to spend a little extra to upgrade to the executive level floor hoping for added amenities and space. Sadly, the executive level upgrade didn't provide much in additional benefit. First, the room had a bit of moldy smell as well (not as revolting as the first room). Second, there were used coffee mugs hidden in the drawer. Third the bathroom towels (threadbare) had a moistness that seen like it could have spent a few more minutes in the dryer. When I called the service center one night to request extra towels, no one picked up. I had to personally go down 19 floors to ask the front desk (two girls who were clearly web surfing) to send me some additional towels. Talk about lack of service.

The rooms are tiny- do not be fooled by the spacious, nicely appointed pictures in the hotel website! The rooms are only fractionally larger than my bedroom in my NYC apartment. The hotel website photos do not accurately reflect anything you will get! I am still shock that they claim to be a four- star hotel! It's false marketing at its worse.

Better off staying at the TravelLodge or the Holiday Inn, where you know what you will get.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Setsuna_12,

Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations. Our Housekeeping and Front Office department heads are looking into them and take any necessary steps.

The staff are continuously reminded to attend to our guests’ requests at the fastest possible time.

Regarding the room pictures on the hotel website, we would like to share with you that they were not intentionally touched-up to portray a different image.

The contents and room categories on the hotel website are in line with the hotel’s rating. All the facilities/amenities mentioned in the website under each room type are exactly what are provided and available in the rooms. However, different guests have varying expectations and, while most guests feel that the rooms are adequately supplied, some guests may think otherwise. Kindly rest assured that we do not deliberately mislead our guests and, apart from removing any folds/creases on the bed sheet and adding the hotel façade to the TV screen, no other enhancements were made by the photographer.

Our rooms are 23-25 sqm and are comparable to a number of hotels in the same category in Singapore.

We would also like to let you know that our housekeeping team freshen up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily when they make up the rooms and deploy ionisers (electronic air fresheners) in rooms with smoke smell, if needed. Unfortunately, because of the hot and humid weather in Singapore, sometimes the fresh air exchange to all rooms provided through the air conditioning and bathroom exhaust system allows some smell to travel back to the room. The teams are working on this issue and hope to have even better news shortly.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback as this enables us to know which areas require further efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in the Riverview Hotel for 8 nights. Not a luxurious hotel, but nicely located along the river, half hour walk to old Singapore. The rooms are spacious and clean. Coffee/tea facilities available. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available. Flat screen TV was old fashioned and poor control and reception. Elivators work well, important when you are on the 21st floor.
Restaurant is excellent with good variety in asian and european food. Registration and check-out was efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Richard,

Many thanks for the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. The teams are delighted to hear that you had a good stay in the hotel and you like the hotel location, the room’s size and cleanliness, as well as the dining options in our restaurant.

Your compliments on our Front Desk staff regarding the registration and check-out will further encourage them in their hard work to enhance our guests’ experience.

We would like to share with you that the hotel is currently replacing the old flat screen TVs with new ones. Almost 3 floors are completed with more to follow.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Riverview Hotel on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed for only 1 night in this hotel on a stopover, I had stopped at the Swissotel Marchant Court previously and thought I'd try a different hotel, I wish I hadn't. The room was OK but quite dated and the furnishings had definately seen better days, my view was over the rver which was great, the other view is over a busy main road. There is not much within easy walking distance from this hotel, I did find a 7/11 to buy a drink from. I walked to Chinatown but this took about 25 minutes in 35 degree heat (I didn't walk back) If you stay here make sure you make clear if you want a non-smoking room, I didn't, but the hotel staff were very helpful in changing my room. There is a pool which was quite nice and a shower area there too. I had a late check out at 4pm and asked if I could extend this till 7pm but was told it would cost me another half days room rate, I thought this was a bit steep for 3 hours. Plus side, always plenty of taxis outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room and if you're a non-smoker make sure you ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Pat,

Many thanks for the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were fine with the room and you like the view of the Singapore River and the hotel pool, as well as the frequent availability of taxis at the hotel lobby.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you felt were not up to your expectations.

We would like to share with you that at the last renovation in 2008, the architect selected a regional design, which was in trend then but may not reflect the contemporary designs that many of today’s travellers prefer. However, efforts are being by the respective teams on a step-by-step basis to further enhance certain areas, such as changing the carpet to a more eye-friendly design. Currently, 3 floors have been completed with more to follow soon. In addition, we are in the process of replacing the TVs, bed covers, pillows and chairs in the guestrooms.

Please be assured that our Front Office staff strive to assign our guests their preferred room types, if they have stated in their bookings, with all the available resources at the time of request/check-in. We are delighted that our Front Desk staff helped to change your room to a non-smoking one during check-in.

Besides taxis, our guests can take the free shuttle bus service from the hotel to Chinatown. There are also 2 frequent public buses from the bus-stop just outside the hotel to this popular venue. The journey is approximately 5 to 7 minutes or 3 bus-stops away. The fare is only S$1.10 by cash.

Apart from Chinatown, there are other places close to Riverview Hotel that our guests can explore. Located just right opposite the hotel across the Singapore River, is Robertson Quay. With its many entertainment and dining outlets, this popular place transforms into a bustling nightlife venue where a lot of locals and tourists like to unwind by the river. A few minutes away from the river is the Mohamed Sultan Road entertainment precinct (8 minutes’ walk). Many guests also enjoy the stroll along the river from the hotel to Clarke Quay, another popular entertainment and dining venue along the Singapore River.

Also situated at Robertson Quay and just around a 10-minute walk from the hotel is Singapore Tyler Print Institute. It organises many exhibitions by outstanding artists around the world and visitors can even purchase some of their work. Those who prefer clubbing can go to Zouk, one of the most popular clubs in Singapore and the region, and it is just a stone’s throw away from Riverview Hotel. For shopping, there is Great World City Shopping Mall that is 8 to 12-minutes’ walk from the hotel. It is a one-stop shopping mall with a wide range of products and services, as well as a 6-screen cinema showing the latest movies.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel is located at centre of the city and has good view. However rooms are too small and there is no bell. Suggest have a look at the room before booking. Near to bus stand and also has drop in at various MRT centre, however such drop in takes time suggest go by taxi.

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear jaimani,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor feedback. We are glad that you like the view from the hotel.

We would like to share with you that at 23-25 sqm, our rooms are comparable to a number of hotels of the same category in Singapore.

The teams hope to welcome you to the hotel again when you are visiting this part of the region in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had a 24-hour stop-over in Singapore and booked the Riverview Hotel. The hotel is close to great restaurants and bars,has its own 24-hour restaurant, and is convenient for a riverside stroll. The staff was very helpful and the rooms clean, but I didn't feel the hotel and its amenities totally reflected the price I paid. It did seem a tad average.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Frani,

Many thanks for the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you like the hotel location and the cleanliness of the rooms was up to your expectations.

The staff will be delighted to hear your compliments as this will spur them to continue with their efforts to provide our guests a memorable stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and the teams look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.