We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, 80s decor, smoking room on 1st night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Festive Deal
Ranked #112 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good location, 80s decor, smoking room on 1st night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at 10pm and was told that our original room was no longer available and that we would now be placed in a smoking room on a smoking floor, with two single beds pushed together (we are friends and wanted two separate beds in a twin arrangement). Having asthma, I specifically requested a non smoking room at time of booking 5 months ago. The floor was hazy and stunk, the room was just as bad. A tiny room of about 15sqm. A cleaner came in to spray air freshener which just made it worse.

The following morning we were told we could change rooms that evening, which required us to come back to the hotel at 6pm and then move our bags to the new room ourselves. The new room (our original room) was much better and had a view overlooking the river. The hotel decor in common areas is dated and very 80s, needing a refurb. The pool area is large and nice. There are plenty of restaurants and bars along the river to eat at. Several buses depart from outside the hotel. The nearest MRT train station is about 15 minutes walk away.

Overall, with Singapore being an expensive city, this hotel is a good option for average 3 / 3.5 star accommodation at the $150 - $180 per night price range.

Room Tip: If they give you a smoking room, demand a non smoking one. I am sure there were other available room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear alamo25,

Thank you for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations.

Please be assured that our Front Office staff strive to assign our guests their preferred room types stated in their bookings with all the available resources at the time of request/check-in. However, this may not be possible during high/full occupancy. We have also recorded your preference for a non-smoking room in our Guest History/Profile and would certainly try our best to meet this request during your next stay.

We are glad that you were fine with the new room, which has the view of the Singapore River, that was arranged for you.

We would like to share with you that, while our housekeeping team freshen up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily when they make up the rooms and deploy ionisers (electronic air fresheners) in rooms with smoke smell, unfortunately sometimes the fresh air exchange to all rooms provided through the air conditioning and bathroom exhaust system allows some smoke smell to travel back to the room. The teams are working on this issue and hope to have even better news for you shortly.

In addition, being one of the first hotels situated next to the Singapore River, we would like to let you know that the architect chose a regional design at the last renovation in 2008 that was in trend then, which may not reflect the contemporary designs that many of today’s travellers prefer. However, as shared in our replies to previous comments on TripAdvisor, efforts are being made on a step-by-step basis to further enhance certain areas, such as changing the carpet to a more eye-friendly design where 3 floors were completed with more to follow soon, replacing the bed covers, pillows and chairs in the guestrooms. Also, our rooms, at around 23-25 sqm, are comparable to hotels of similar category in Singapore.

We are delighted that you like the pool area where our swimming pool was recently upgraded and the convenient public transportation from and near the hotel.

Once again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and the teams hope to see you again when you are in this region in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    261
    210
    78
    33
See reviews for
125
240
66
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wish I could give this hotel a higher ranking but their high prices for medium quality didn't equate as a good value for me. The room was a bit small but OK for western business or tourist traveller standards. The TV conked out and the remote also, so both had to be replaced while I stayed in the room. Why is it hotel maids don't ever check the remotes to see if the batteries need replacing? Why do they leave this up to the guests to notify them of this?

The restaurant downstairs is average, but pricey because of the view of the river. Singapore is very small so a quick taxi ride to Orchard Road isn't expensive and you have plenty of food options there.

Room Tip: No advantage of taking a room with a river view, the river is unremarkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear vlichadan,

Thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologise for the areas you have commented that were not up to your expectations.

Please be assured that appropriate checks are made by our Housekeeping team when preparing/making-up the rooms. For items that are battery-operated, one possible reason is that the equipment is still working when it is being checked. On the other hand, the team has been reminded to ensure all the essential items are thoroughly inspected. Regarding the TV, we would like to share with you that our Engineering team is working on the issue and exploring a few possible solutions. Meanwhile, the team is removing the wooden frames around the TV on a floor-by-floor basis as they have been found to affect the remote control’s sensor and reception.

As for the prices in our restaurants, they are comparable to, if not cheaper than, a number of hotel restaurants in the vicinity. In addition, we do run special promotions at regular periods for more guests and diners to enjoy our chefs’ gastronomic creations in our restaurants. These include the 4-dine-3-pay deal for our diners who have “liked” the Riverview Hotel Facebook page in our River Garden Coffee House, a special promotion set menu deal where one can enjoy 9 dishes at only S$26.80++ per person on weekdays at River Palace Chinese Restaurant, 1-for-1 Happy Hours at Jade Lounge and selected credit card discounts.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a family holiday in Singapore for a weekend meeting up with my husband (am currently in Malaysia). Hubby's flight arrived early in the morning and asked the hotel if he could check in a little early. He was at the hotel about 7 ish and was told they will try to get a room clean and ready for him as soon as the housekeeper start their day which is at 8am. He managed to get in the room around 10ish and had a good rest before we arrived! Really appreciate the staffs hardwork!

The cherry on the cake was on the day of checking out I had totally forgotten I left my wedding ring and engagement ring at the hotel! I have the habit of taking rings off when I'm going to have shower or before going to sleep. Upon leaving the room hubby and I did the usual of checking the room but none of us found the rings were laying on the desk (might be covered by some maps or plastic bags). I didn't realise I left my rings until I was going to the parents room to change my little girl's nappy I realized I had left them in the room. By that time it was almost evening and had left Singapore. I then quickly called the hotel and the staff told me that the housekeeper actually found the the rings and left them with the reception.

I was so grateful and thankful to the housekeeper and the front line staffs! Again I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staffs at riverview hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Angelitocw,

Many thanks for your kind compliments, which also provided us the opportunity to show our appreciation to our staff and thank them for their efforts to ensure that our guests have a good and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel.

We are glad that our housekeeping team member found your wedding and engagement rings and they have been returned to you.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stopped at this hotel for nearly 4 weeks. It is a reasonable hotel that is looking and feeling a little bit tired now. It could do with an upgrade to freshen it up a bit.
Room size was ok, however the small desk to work on let it down. The bathroom, although clean was showing it's age with the sealant having mildew marks and the Bath having pitting marks.

The breakfast was ok with plenty of choice to suit most nationalities. I stayed away from the "British" breakfast as I did not fancy the chicken sausages. The food at dinner was ok, but was not that cheap and there was a lot of choice in the area to tempt you away from the Hotel.

They did have quite a nice trio of ladies who sang most nights and were very good,

The location was quite good, and you could stroll along the river down Robinson and Clarke quays. Lots or eating establishments to choose from.

The Pool was quite nice as was the steam room. The Hot tub was not hot and the jets were a little weak.

Staff were generally good, although getting coffee in the mornings at breakfast time was a little hit and miss. The coffee when you did get it was about the strongest I have every tasted.

Overall it was not bad, but it was not really stand out good. They did play the Premier Football matches on large screen TVs and showed most big sporting events

Room Tip: Odd numbers have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear aaedwa,

Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing us for your hotel accommodation during the 4 weeks you were in Singapore.

The teams are delighted with your compliments and are glad that you were fine with the size of the room, breakfast and dinner, the all-girl band, our newly refurbished pool and its steam room, as well as the hotel location that is also a favourite with many guests.

Please accept our apologies for the few areas you have highlighted in your feedback that were not up to your expectations and we have tasked the respective department heads to look into them.

We would like to share with you that we are in the process of enhancing the rooms. The bed covers, pillows and chairs are being changed progressively, while 3 floors have been laid with new carpet with more floors to follow soon. Regarding our F&B pricings, they are comparable to, if not cheaper than, a number of hotel restaurants in the vicinity. In addition, we do run special promotions at regular periods for more guests and diners to enjoy our chefs’ gastronomic creations in our restaurants. For example, our River Palace Chinese Restaurant is currently running a special promotion set menu deal where one can enjoy 9 dishes at only S$26.80++ per person on weekdays.

We would also like to let you know that guests can watch the “live” telecast of Barclays Premier League matches at our River Terrace whenever there are matches on weekends or weekdays. Other major sporting events, such as the F1 and key rugby matches are also shown.

Many thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Riverview Hotel on your next visit to this part of the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here twice in September, and have stayed here previously too. The main attraction for us is the excellent location; on the Singapore River, and Havelock Rd, which gives good access downtown via taxis or the splendid bus services from directly outside the hotel.

We ate breakfast at one of the small cafes on Robertson Quay opposite the hotel, a couple of minutes stroll along the river. This was cheaper and more pleasant that the somewhat soulless hotel breakfast room. Robertson Quay is thriving, with new bars and restuarants, and is a good place to spend a relaxing evening, lively but without the coachloads of tourists which seem to infest Clarke Quay.

Hotel rooms are more than adequate in terms of decor, facilities and cleanliness. This is not a uber-trendy modern hotel, it is a good standard mid-range hotel that offers good value for money if you take advantage of discounted on-line offers.

The Jade Lounge at the hotel is comfortable, the barman very efficient, but the cabaret is to be avoided at weekends, when a male singer joins the bearable female trio. Unfortunately the gentleman's talents must lie elsewhere, his appearance unfailingly led to our departure, it was painful.

The hotel has an efficient business lounge where services can be paid for separately if you're not on the business tariff. The staff is helpful and we found the internet service reasonably priced.

The only disapppointment was the lack of the swimming pool, which was being re-furbished. Our two visits in September were at opposite ends of the month, we were assured that the pool would be finished in mid-September, it wasn't, and the hotel failed to warn us. We would have went somewhere else had we known this in advance.

I'd stay here again, though the old place certainly needs sprcing up a bit. The location is everything for us, the stroll down the river is just so nice.

Room Tip: Other than the suites, all rooms are the same, though you'll want to avoid the smoking rooms if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear GraemeySunderland,

Many thanks for the time to share your extensive feedback on TripAdvisor, and for coming back to stay with us again.

The teams are delighted to hear that you like the Singapore River location of the hotel; the convenient public transports available that provide easy access to downtown; the room’s décor, facilities and cleanliness; the Internet rates; as well as other aspects of the hotel. We are also glad that you like the comfort of the Jade Lounge and the attentive bartender. Your kind compliments of the staff will further encourage them in their efforts to enhance the stays of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you have highlighted that were not up to your expectations. Regarding the male singer, he was a guest and not a member of the band. We do sometimes allow enthusiastic guests to sing a song or two with the band, as long as it does not cause annoyance to other guests. Our bar staff have been reminded to closely monitor these impromptu acts and cut them short if other guests appear not to enjoy them. As for the hotel pool, which is now re-opened, we are looking at other channels besides the hotel website, to inform and update our guests of any future maintenance works/information in advance.

We would like to let you know that our guests can also have their breakfast at the River Terrace, which offers an alfresco riverfront setting just next to the Singapore River. It is just outside River Garden Coffee House and you may like to have yours there on your next stay. Besides the buffet breakfast, you can opt for a smaller or more varied a la carte breakfast of local delights and western favourites, too. We would also like to share with you that we are in the process of enhancing the rooms that includes changing the carpet on 3 floors with more to follow soon. The bed covers, pillows and chairs are being changed progressively.

Once again, thank you very much for returning to stay at Riverview Hotel. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon arrival we checked in and despite asking for a non smoking room in our booking we were given a smoking room on a smoking floor - it was terrible. Straight back down to reception and in 10 minutes they upgraded us to a suite. Wasn't any bigger a room just non smoking so suite it was not.

Decor was dated, room size OK, manageable and facilities just about OK. Very limited wadrobe space etc.

Location: not bad actually on Robertson Quay, so a short adn really nice walk (10 minutes) to Clarke Quay and MRTs, Chinatown etc.

Previously we had stayed at the Pan Pacific but as we were there this time for the Grand Prix, room rates were astronomical and hence we ended up in The Riverview. Its really a business hotel and in summary I would say it was OK but dated decor and uninspiring. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor comments. We are delighted that you like the hotel’s location and its close proximities to the MRT stations, Chinatown and Clarke Quay, and were fine with the room size and facilities.

We apologies for the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations. Our department heads are looking into them and take any necessary measures. Please be assured that our Front Office staff strive to assign our guests their preferred room types stated in their bookings with all the available resources at the time of request/check-in. We are glad that the team took the initiative to upgrade your room and based on what you highlghted about the room size, we would like to clarify that you could have been upgraded to our Executive Club Room. With a size of around 46-50 sqm, our Executive Suite has a living room and bedroom, which is almost twice the size of the Club Room.

We would also like to share with you that we are in the process of enhancing the rooms and this includes changing the carpet on 3 floors with more to follow soon. The bed covers, pillows and chairs are also being changed progressively.

Many thanks for your feedback and the teams hope to see you again sometime in the future when you are in this part of the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Poor breakfast, good location.
I was upgrade to a swite on smoking floor due to the reason no king size bed on none smoking floor. The room was with a strong cigarets smell.
Last time I was at the merchantcort Swiss hotel (much better)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear AssiW,

Thank you for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and we are glad that you like the location of the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you mentioned that were not up to your expectations and our respective department heads are looking into them. We would like to assure you that, if guests have indicated their room preference in their bookings, our Front Desk team always do their best to assign them their preferred room type with all available resources at the time of request. However, this is not always possible, especially during high occupancy periods. As stated in your feedback, the Front Desk staff took the initiative to upgrade your room to a suite when the room type for your booking was not available. In addition, we would like to share with you that our housekeeping team freshen up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily when they make up the rooms and deploy ionisers (electronic air fresheners) in smoking rooms to minimise the smoke smell.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and the teams hope to see you again on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.