We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Festive Deal
Ranked #111 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
London, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon arrival we checked in and despite asking for a non smoking room in our booking we were given a smoking room on a smoking floor - it was terrible. Straight back down to reception and in 10 minutes they upgraded us to a suite. Wasn't any bigger a room just non smoking so suite it was not.

Decor was dated, room size OK, manageable and facilities just about OK. Very limited wadrobe space etc.

Location: not bad actually on Robertson Quay, so a short adn really nice walk (10 minutes) to Clarke Quay and MRTs, Chinatown etc.

Previously we had stayed at the Pan Pacific but as we were there this time for the Grand Prix, room rates were astronomical and hence we ended up in The Riverview. Its really a business hotel and in summary I would say it was OK but dated decor and uninspiring. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Paul,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor comments. We are delighted that you like the hotel’s location and its close proximities to the MRT stations, Chinatown and Clarke Quay, and were fine with the room size and facilities.

We apologies for the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations. Our department heads are looking into them and take any necessary measures. Please be assured that our Front Office staff strive to assign our guests their preferred room types stated in their bookings with all the available resources at the time of request/check-in. We are glad that the team took the initiative to upgrade your room and based on what you highlghted about the room size, we would like to clarify that you could have been upgraded to our Executive Club Room. With a size of around 46-50 sqm, our Executive Suite has a living room and bedroom, which is almost twice the size of the Club Room.

We would also like to share with you that we are in the process of enhancing the rooms and this includes changing the carpet on 3 floors with more to follow soon. The bed covers, pillows and chairs are also being changed progressively.

Many thanks for your feedback and the teams hope to see you again sometime in the future when you are in this part of the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    260
    208
    78
    33
See reviews for
124
238
66
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Poor breakfast, good location.
I was upgrade to a swite on smoking floor due to the reason no king size bed on none smoking floor. The room was with a strong cigarets smell.
Last time I was at the merchantcort Swiss hotel (much better)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear AssiW,

Thank you for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and we are glad that you like the location of the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you mentioned that were not up to your expectations and our respective department heads are looking into them. We would like to assure you that, if guests have indicated their room preference in their bookings, our Front Desk team always do their best to assign them their preferred room type with all available resources at the time of request. However, this is not always possible, especially during high occupancy periods. As stated in your feedback, the Front Desk staff took the initiative to upgrade your room to a suite when the room type for your booking was not available. In addition, we would like to share with you that our housekeeping team freshen up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily when they make up the rooms and deploy ionisers (electronic air fresheners) in smoking rooms to minimise the smoke smell.

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and the teams hope to see you again on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked a superior room weeks ago, only to get to the hotel and be given a choice of a non smoking room with two beds or a smoking room with a double bed. So I paid £125 for a dated and tired room, where I had to sleep in a single bed. The bathroom is horrendous, with mould under the mirror and taps, around the bath. Even the alarm clock is a cheap plastic one and while this may not really matter, I only mention it to give an idea of the standard of rooms at Riverview. I am writing this review from my room and I cannot for the morning to come so I can leave this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear MonGH,

Many thanks for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the areas you mentioned that were not up to your expectations. Our respective department heads are looking into your comments and take the necessary measures.

We would like to share with you that our Front Desk team always do their best to assign our guests their preferred room type, if they have indicated their preference for a specific view in their bookings, with all available resources at the time of request. However, this is not always possible, especially during high occupancy periods. Regarding the alarm clock, most hotels have similar ones as these can withstand accidental drops and rough handling better.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it assists us to see which areas need further enhancements. The teams hope to see you again when you are in this part of the region in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good position. Taking bus is very easy and Hop On- Hop Off bus has a station on the opposite of the street. Clean enough but the pool is small. Kindly and helpful receptionists.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms and highest floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MajidNasiriNejad,

Many thanks for your comments and your compliments about our staff will be a boost to them in their efforts to continuously improve their service to our guests.

We are delighted that you like the hotel’s location and the ease of taking public and Hop-On/Hop-On bus services from the bus-stops outside the hotel. We would like to share with you that at approximately 20m by 10m, the hotel pool is designed for both adults and children while the poolside pavilions are ideal for a relaxing time.

Once again, thank you for your time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked two rooms for one night in September 2012. I think I now understand the mixed reviews for the hotel. One of the rooms was on the riverside with a great view. It was bright and fresh and large. The other, booked as single occupancy, but in fact a room with two single beds, was on the street side, much smaller and had that 'stale worn out air con' smell.

Got the hotel as a last minute pot luck deal on a well known website, and value was OK for Singapore. Not near an MRT station, though Chinatown is walkable. Buses from right outside the door, so worth getting a one day travel card or tourist card to use the combined MRT / bus system.

We had an excellent breakfast at a little coffee shop across the river

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Chris,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were fine with the room that faces the Singapore River and its views, and the convenience of public transportation from the bus-stop just outside the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the area you mentioned that was not up to your expectation. Our housekeeping department head will look into this matter and take any required measures. We would like to share with you that our housekeeping team freshens up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily and we strive to ensure that all the rooms, regardless of their categories and views, are in optimal conditions for our guests to stay. We would also like to let you know that one of the nearest MRT stations is Clarke Quay on the North-East Line. It is only 4 bus-stops away from the hotel and 2 bus services go there from the bus-stop outside the hotel (approximately 5-8 minutes bus journey).

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next Singapore trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights Oct 2012-With some hesitance from the reviews on this site I went ahead and booked as i wanted specifically a hotel on the river this time round.
After some intial hiccups about my booking as I needed unexpectedly a second room as our daughter was coming over from USA. I emailed the manager of the hotel and he promised me all would be organised to my wishes and all was fulfilled-We were up-graded to Executive rooms -high with the river views-large rooms with massive beds and interconnecting rooms as previously had been told they didn't have any - the daily maitenance was twice forgotten but with all the extras and a general nice feeling about the hotel we would be happy to recommend it-the breakfast was very good very varied and they gave me a surprise birthday cake to top it all off. Thanks from Monica Gates

Room Tip: River views rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Monica,

Many thanks for your compliments and the opportunity to share them with our teams, which will motivate the team members further with their efforts in enhancing our guests’ stays.

We are delighted that you were happy with the arrangements and the rooms, including views of the Singapore River and the breakfast.

Thank you very much for recommending Riverview Hotel and all of us here look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived by taxi to valet service and was checked in efficiently. The room on the 5th floor (same as pool, gym and spa) was clean and adequately supplied. The bed and pillow were ok. The shower; hot with good pressure. The view of the river was nice especially after lit up after dark.
I was very impressed with the buffets in the lobby restaurant. The service was attentive and friendly. The food, with its quality, taste and display, was exceptional. The extensive seafood buffet dinner was capped with a delicious lobster laksa.
The location, right next to Roberston Quay, near to Clarke Quay, is good for a walk along the river. Though a taxi from the hotel lobby is always available.
I would recommend this hotel for a visit to downtown Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear TominDarwin,

Thank you very much for recommending Riverview Hotel.

We are glad that you had a good stay with us and your compliments will boost our teams’ confidence and encourage them to continue with their hard work to enhance our guests’ stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you visit Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.