We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 Singapore F1 Special
Ranked #119 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is located in a very good position. Taking bus is very easy and Hop On- Hop Off bus has a station on the opposite of the street. Clean enough but the pool is small. Kindly and helpful receptionists.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms and highest floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear MajidNasiriNejad,

Many thanks for your comments and your compliments about our staff will be a boost to them in their efforts to continuously improve their service to our guests.

We are delighted that you like the hotel’s location and the ease of taking public and Hop-On/Hop-On bus services from the bus-stops outside the hotel. We would like to share with you that at approximately 20m by 10m, the hotel pool is designed for both adults and children while the poolside pavilions are ideal for a relaxing time.

Once again, thank you for your time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    230
    198
    75
    33
See reviews for
114
216
59
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked two rooms for one night in September 2012. I think I now understand the mixed reviews for the hotel. One of the rooms was on the riverside with a great view. It was bright and fresh and large. The other, booked as single occupancy, but in fact a room with two single beds, was on the street side, much smaller and had that 'stale worn out air con' smell.

Got the hotel as a last minute pot luck deal on a well known website, and value was OK for Singapore. Not near an MRT station, though Chinatown is walkable. Buses from right outside the door, so worth getting a one day travel card or tourist card to use the combined MRT / bus system.

We had an excellent breakfast at a little coffee shop across the river

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Chris,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were fine with the room that faces the Singapore River and its views, and the convenience of public transportation from the bus-stop just outside the hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the area you mentioned that was not up to your expectation. Our housekeeping department head will look into this matter and take any required measures. We would like to share with you that our housekeeping team freshens up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily and we strive to ensure that all the rooms, regardless of their categories and views, are in optimal conditions for our guests to stay. We would also like to let you know that one of the nearest MRT stations is Clarke Quay on the North-East Line. It is only 4 bus-stops away from the hotel and 2 bus services go there from the bus-stop outside the hotel (approximately 5-8 minutes bus journey).

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next Singapore trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne-australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights Oct 2012-With some hesitance from the reviews on this site I went ahead and booked as i wanted specifically a hotel on the river this time round.
After some intial hiccups about my booking as I needed unexpectedly a second room as our daughter was coming over from USA. I emailed the manager of the hotel and he promised me all would be organised to my wishes and all was fulfilled-We were up-graded to Executive rooms -high with the river views-large rooms with massive beds and interconnecting rooms as previously had been told they didn't have any - the daily maitenance was twice forgotten but with all the extras and a general nice feeling about the hotel we would be happy to recommend it-the breakfast was very good very varied and they gave me a surprise birthday cake to top it all off. Thanks from Monica Gates

Room Tip: River views rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Monica,

Many thanks for your compliments and the opportunity to share them with our teams, which will motivate the team members further with their efforts in enhancing our guests’ stays.

We are delighted that you were happy with the arrangements and the rooms, including views of the Singapore River and the breakfast.

Thank you very much for recommending Riverview Hotel and all of us here look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived by taxi to valet service and was checked in efficiently. The room on the 5th floor (same as pool, gym and spa) was clean and adequately supplied. The bed and pillow were ok. The shower; hot with good pressure. The view of the river was nice especially after lit up after dark.
I was very impressed with the buffets in the lobby restaurant. The service was attentive and friendly. The food, with its quality, taste and display, was exceptional. The extensive seafood buffet dinner was capped with a delicious lobster laksa.
The location, right next to Roberston Quay, near to Clarke Quay, is good for a walk along the river. Though a taxi from the hotel lobby is always available.
I would recommend this hotel for a visit to downtown Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear TominDarwin,

Thank you very much for recommending Riverview Hotel.

We are glad that you had a good stay with us and your compliments will boost our teams’ confidence and encourage them to continue with their hard work to enhance our guests’ stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you visit Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel had a convenient location and was first stop as part of our honeymoon to NZ. We booked into a 'superior grade' room which was on the 9th floor. It didn't meet the superior description we had in mind though as it smelt stale, and the bathroom suite and fittings were very tired - loose rails in the bath - and not particulary clean with mould/ mildew staining around the walls and ceiling and dust build up on some surfaces and evidence of shoddy repairs. I've stayed in better rooms in budget hotels. Good views from the rooms though and a pleasant walk into the centre along the river. Staff were friendly enough but did not seem to understand the problems with our room.
Buffet breakfast was fine ( but extra). Late check out at 4pm was appreciated but overall experience was disappointing compared to other hotels we stayed in with the same star rating. The room in the Park Royal in Kitchener Road which we stayed in on the way back was much better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Daniel,

Thank you for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you like the views from the room, the walk along the Singapore River, and were satisfied with the late check-out, buffet breakfast and friendliness of our staff.

We apologise for the areas that were not up to your expectations. Our respective department heads are looking into rectifying the issues you have mentioned. We would like to share with you that we are in the process of enhancing the rooms, includes changing the carpet on 3 floors with more to follow soon, bed covers, pillows and chairs, which are being changed progressively. Our housekeeping team freshens up all guestrooms with air fresheners daily but our hot and humid weather in Singapore may have an effect on the air quality of the room when it is not occupied. However, please rest assured that we are working on this issue and hope to have even better news soon.

Many thanks for your feedback as they enable us to identify which areas need further enhancements. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stayed in the executive suite on the 19th floor but it was a disappointment because the room is too small dull and nothing fancy considering that its an executive suite air conditioning is poor though the breakfast buffet was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear wanderingnoreen,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you like the breakfast buffet in our coffee house.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas you have feedback that were not up to your expectations. We would like to share with you that our rooms are 23-25 sqm, which are comparable to many hotels of the same category in Singapore. Our Executive Suite consists of a bedroom and living room and its total size is 46-50 sqm. Regarding the room you mentioned on the 19th floor, we would like to clarify that it could be our Executive Club Room as we do not have any Executive Suites on the 19th floor.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again when you are in this part of the region in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I think this hotel was good on the whole. Location is super - right next to Roberston Quay, and very near to Clarke Quay. Easy to get a taxi from the hotel lobby. The best thing for tourists is that one of the hop on hop off buses stops right outside the hotel on its green route - and this is certainly a super way to see Singapore. The views from the hotel are super fromn the higher floors. I was worried that it would be a noisy hotel, having read previous reviews - it was a quiet for the 2 nights we stayed there. the hotel probably needs a little updating but on the whole it is good. The pool area is nice but the poolside only has sun till about 11 am and then a little late pm.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Kettle provided in the room with tea and coffee. Rooms on poolside have good views but ask for high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear kmr100,

Many thanks for your compliments and the teams are delighted and encouraged by your positive feedback, which will further boost their efforts to make our guests’ stays memorable ones.

We would like to share with you that we are in the process of improving certain aspects of the hotel, such as upgrading our Internet connectivity earlier this year with more access points and bandwidth, and the recent maintenance works to our pool to provide our guests with facilities in optimum condition, as well as changing the carpet on 3 floors with more to come.

Once again, thank you for your comments and the teams are waiting to welcome you back to our hotel on your next trip to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.