We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Festive Deal
Ranked #111 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 16 nights in Sept/Oct 2012.
The jade lounge was consistently good, excellent service and good snack menu. The evening entertainment was of suitable standard just to my personal taste
The main restaurant was good. Buffet breakfasts got a bit boring after this long but would be the same for any hotel.
The Chinese restaurant was disappointing, slightly overpriced and not clear on how buffet worked. Rice arrived after we had finished desert. Some dishes did not arrive at all. Puddings were not restocked during the evening so go early to ensure they are a range to choose from.
Good location, plenty of restaurants in walking distance.
Rooms were cleaned to a high standard daily. Would have liked a better table/work area in the room. Fridge in room and free safe.
The staff were all helpful and courteous. In particular the staff outside who oversee the taxi’s were very helpful.
When we arrived we found the hotel pool was closed for refurbishment and would remain closed for the first 10 days of our stay this was disappointing. Alternative swimming was arranged at a nearby hotel but this did not suit us. The pool opened ahead of schedule, however found this out from other guests rather than the hotel staff. When the pool reopened it was clean and very well maintained. Plenty of clean towels available at all times.
Late check out arranged with no extra charge.
Overall a good experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear 77nab,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our Jade Lounge, and liked the Singapore River location of the hotel and our coffee house.

Our Housekeeping team will be happy to learn of your praise for the room cleanliness and your compliment about our staff will further boost their efforts to provide our guests a memorable stay.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations. Our F&B department head is looking into the Chinese restaurant matter and take any necessary steps to improve operations. On your next stay with us, you may want to try the a la carte menu for breakfast. It offers choices that include our famous Bak Kut Teh (a Chinese soup made from herbs and spices with pork ribs, served with Chinese crullers, pickled vegetables and braised Taro rice); freshly boiled chicken, pork or fish congee; and vegetarian fried rice.

We are glad that you were happy with the pool after it was re-opened. Regarding its closure and re-opening, besides the hotel website, the heads of departments are looking at other channels to inform and update our guests of any future maintenance works/information in advance.

Many thanks for your feedback and the teams look forward to welcome you back to Riverview Hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    261
    209
    78
    33
See reviews for
125
239
66
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My partner and I spent two nights here enroute to London and it was a good choice. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean. Just what we look for. The location was good for us but may have been a little far away from the MRT for some visitors. The location bordering the river was perfect for those wanting to sit outside in a garden setting for drinks or dinner and also handy to many restaurants and cafes. The beds are quite firm - a bit hard for me but adequate. The pool was not in operation and it would have been nice to know this beforehand but we were offered the use of the hotel pool across the road. As we were only in Singapore for 2x nights we didn't have time to take this up and it was not really suitable. Breakfast was not included in our deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. it was fun to look out on the nannies walking the dogs and seeing the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Elsie1987,

Many thanks for your compliments. Your kind comments will encourage our teams to continue with their efforts to further enhance their services for our guests.

We are glad that you were fine with the room’s cleanliness and riverfront location of the hotel, including the alfresco setting of our F&B outlets. We would also like to share with you that there are public bus services from the bus-stop outside the hotel to a number of MRT stations. One of the nearest stations, Clarke Quay is just 4 stops away with 2 services going there.

Regarding the pool closure (which is now open for our guests’ use), other than the notice that was put up on the hotel website, we will look at other relevant channels to inform our guests in advance of any future maintenance works.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon when you are in Singapore the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the 2012 Singapore Grand Prix. The package deal of approximately $250 per night including breakfast was reasonable value for money compared with other hotels for the Grand Prix. The river location is nice and the room was modern and clean. Many of the staff seem to be from mainland China and there are communication difficulties when speaking in English. The staff need to be a little bit more friendly on the desk and in the breakfast area. The breakfast choice provided is very good for Western and Asian. The main disappointment was the hotel did not mention that their swimming pool was under renovation when I booked. I booked the hotel wanting to use the pool. There was an alternative pool at a nearby hotel which was not really a suitable arrangement.

Room Tip: Does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear sjbsteven,

Many thanks for your kind compliments on our guestroom and the buffet breakfast. Our Housekeeping and F&B teams will be delighted to hear it as this will encourage them to continue with their hard work.

We are also glad that you like the Singapore River location of the hotel and found our F1 package reasonable.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the pool matter and even though we had placed a notice on the hotel website, we will look at enhancing the communications on other channels to enable more guests to know about any future updates and news.

Regarding the English conversational proficiency of our staff, as some of the staff are from other parts of the world other than China, where English is not their main language, we would like to share with you that our department heads are looking at ways to improve this area that is a common challenge for the hotel industry.

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Singapore, especially next year’s F1 as the night race here has been extended by another 5 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here recently with my partner for 6 nights in a 16th floor (non exec floor) deluxe room.

In summary:

Location - a 10-15 minute walk to the closest MRT station which can become a pain in the heat but the hotel is close to restaurants and bars along the river.

Room - OK on the surface but very basic and tired. Beds were very hard and a closer look beneath the surface revealed significant shortcomings in terms of cleanliness.

Food - we had breakfast included which was buffet style (hot & cold). It was edible but far from impressive. Fruit was not fresh and selection on the whole was limited. Ended up eating cereal and toast every morning which says it all.

Staff and service - ranged from polite and helpful to baffling. Many requests, such as for a different pillow or a cup of tea at breakfast, were either forgotten or ignored.

Facilities - No free wi-fi (although did manage to get an access code from the barman so we could use it then) and internet nearly £8 for half hour. Bar was very expensive and we couldn't use the pool as it was closed. Shuttle bus was available to some locations but we never used it. Taxis were always readily available from outside hotel.

Summary - If you are the kind of person who is quite particular then DONT stay here, however if you are fairly relaxed about hotel accommodation then I would suggest that this hotel could be a last resort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear nb_101,

Thanks for your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise for the areas you have commented on and all the respective heads of departments are looking into them and will take the necessary actions to improve them.

We would like to share with you that there is a bus-stop just outside the hotel with buses going to a number of MRT stations nearby, and all are within 4 to 8 bus-stops away. The Clarke Quay station is one of the nearest and is only 4 stops, or around 5 minutes’ bus ride, from the hotel and 2 bus services go there.

Regarding the rooms, the housekeeping team has embarked on steps to enhance them. The carpet has been changed on 3 floors and more will follow soon. In addition, other changes that are being made progressively include bed covers, pillows and chairs.

As for the buffet breakfast, the selections are similar to that of many hotels in Singapore. Other than using fresh food and ingredients, our chefs regularly review and look at new items to add to the spread. Besides the buffet breakfast, our guests can also opt for the a la carte menu that offers choices that include our famous Bak Kut Teh (a Chinese soup made from herbs and spices with pork ribs, served with Chinese crullers, pickled vegetables and braised Taro rice). Also, because Singapore sits at a central cultural crossroads between Asia and the West, we do our best to cater to guests from many different cultural and nutritional eating preferences, such as Asian, Western and Indian vegetarian.

Our Internet charges are comparable to those of a number of hotels in Singapore. For guests who need to go online during their stays, we have a room package that includes Internet and breakfast that is only available for booking on the Riverview Hotel website. In addition, as part of the initiatives for our diners, they can opt for a 2-hour free Internet access at our coffee house, Chinese restaurant and Jade Lounge when they order their meals or drinks.

With regard to the drinks at the bar counter outside the coffee house and at the lounge, we are unable to offer them at retail prices where retailers enjoy bulk discounts, such as supermarkets. On the other hand, we are pleased to share that our current beer prices, including special promotions, are either below or in line with our neighbouring competitors. We also have daily Happy Hours that offer 1-for-1 house pours.

Many thanks for your detailed feedback and we greatly appreciate it as this will enable our teams to know which areas need further improvements. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked a triple deluxe room (17th floor) and arrived late afternoon to find that the third bed was not in the room. Whilst we were unpacking the third bed was brought in only to find that there was no space for the bed as our bags were opened and half unpacked. We opted to make do without the bed as the room was way too small for it. We were still charged for it even though I brought it their attention that we did not have it. We had requested a river view room but got a city view room, although we weren't too fussed as we didn't spend too much time in the room.
The room was okay but the bathroom was horrible and small. The location of the hotel is excellent, the only thing excellent about the hotel. The staff are not very friendly.
My sister who was staying in another room had a safe that did not work. She requested that they fixed it and they tried one day but were unable to. They then called her one night at 22h30 to say they were sending someone to fix it. She said she was sleeping so it would not be convenient. It was never fixed so she was inconvenienced by having to carry her valuables around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear VeroBrisbane,

Many thanks for your feedback and we are glad that you like the location of the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies on the matters you have highlighted and checks are being made by the team leaders to see which areas require further improvement.

We would like to share with you that the bathroom is a third in size of the guestroom, which is at 23-25 sqm, and our guestrooms are comparable to many hotels of the same category in Singapore .

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back when you are in this part of the region in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights because of it's location near to the quay & restaurants...which is good. However i was disappointed with the overall experience.The hotel is in need of refurbishment, check in took more than 20 mins, (with more people waiting behind us),then i discovered we were in a smoking room - changing rooms took another 30 mins. I would choose another nearby hotel next time.

Room Tip: Try the Kings next door....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear BrKg,

Thank you for your comments on Tripdvisor. We are glad that you like the hotel’s location which is just opposite Robertson Quay and within walking distance to Clarke Quay.

We apologise for the areas you have mentioned that were not up to your expectations and our department heads are looking into them to see what steps are needed to further improve them.

We would like to share with you that efforts are being made on a step-by-step basis to improve certain areas of the hotel to enhance our guests’ experience. These include changing the carpet to a more eye-friendly design where 3 floors were completed with more to follow soon, replacing the bed covers, pillows and chairs in the guestrooms. Our hotel pool has also recently undergone maintenance works in line with our objective to provide our guests with facilities in optimum condition.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback, which we greatly appreciate, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Been to singapore many times and just didnt get the massive smiles as we are used to. Breakfast ok but staff 50/50. Rooms old and in need of paint.an executive suite (20th)floor was tiny and you would expect a king bed but it would not fit. No water pressure. Clean with air fresheners and fruit everywhere, just needs a touch of polish. Great position for the keys, cafes and nightlife and only 6-10 bucks by cab to anywhere. Foyer staff were good men.The pool area was out of action but you could go across the road! What the? All up not worth 1100 for three nights

Room Tip: Ask if the pool is fixed first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeaneSua, E-Marketing Manager at Riverview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear yantina,

Many thanks for your compliments on our Front Office team and we are glad that you liked the breakfast and location of the hotel.

Please accept our apologies for the areas you mentioned that were not up to your expectations. We would like to share with you that our Executive Suite also offers a king-sized bed, subject to availability. With around 46 sqm in size, our Suite is comparable to those in other hotels of the same category in Singapore. Regarding the pool which is now re-opened for our guests’ use, even though we had placed a notice on the hotel website, we will look at enhancing the communications on other channels to enable more guests to know about any future updates and news.

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again on your next trip to this part of the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.