We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money talks in Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riverview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Riverview Hotel Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Labour Day Escapade
Ranked #110 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Money talks in Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here during our Asia Stopover. Expensive hotel to stay in, but compared to the rest of Singapore it was very reasonably priced.

Its your standard 1980's hotel which hasn't kept up with the times so probably drops a star or two every 20 years. Rooms were small but tidy, not much in the way of a minibar. Nice pool and gym and the buffet was excellent, best we have encountered. But try and book a package that gets you free breakfast as it cost us $30 SD each for breakfast!!!! A couple of decent restaurants and bars on the premises, not great food, but good for watching sport. The English isn't fantastic on the people around the concierge so don't expect any good answers to your questions.

Location is decent for Singapore, easy to get around so it doesn't matter too much where you stay in the city. About a 20 min walk into the heart of the city and 10-15 min walk to the nearest Subway/Underground Train.

At the end of the day it's Singapore. The city is totally overpriced and come 3 days you are totally over it and it's time to move on to the rest of Asia. Hotel wise and generally wise expect to pay a bit more and you have to realise you are not going to get the bang for your buck as you would in other destinations.

And the tip of the day, if you see tons of hot chinese girls walking into a building across the road on the right which looks like a massive vegas casino, its not a casino and they are all prostitutes who don't speak english and want to find a millionaire singapore businessman!! As the cab driver said, "your'e in Singapore, Money Talks!"

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    310
    238
    81
    36
See reviews for
139
280
76
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was our 4th trip to Singapore and up to now I have been impressed with the hotels we've stayed in. Staff at reception were freindly and welcoming if not very experienced. Our room at the River View was supposed to be superior but I don't know what it was superior to. The room was small and the door opened straight on to the corridor, no entrance area into the room which is common nowdays and reduces the noise from the movements of other guests. The room had not been properly cleaned after the last occupants, there were 2 jelly sweets on the floor beside the bed. The showerhead holder was broken causing it to slide down the bar, (probably not an issue if you are less that 4 foot tall) otherwise not acceptable. The grout/seal around the soap holder at the bath looked very unclean. The bed was very firm as were the pillows. We recieved a wake up call at 7.30 that was not requested or set by us. The ironing board provided was a major health and safety risk because it was prone to collapse. The decor in the room was very drab, ok if you like various shades of brown, but would definately benefit from a make over. We had a late checkout arranged but while out of the hotel during the day our key card was cancelled and had to be recoded to enable us to access the elevators to our room. Too many failings for a supposedly 4 star hotel and thus over priced!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The River view hotel in singapore was our saviour.

I was accompanying my partner on a business trip and we were meant to get a hotel room within a certain budget. His company put us up in what i can only begin to describe as a dump!
River view was just a close walk away and the people were so nice. I walked into the hotel and explained my predicament to them. Even though they were almost at complete capacity they were able to find an empty room and share their prices.
When i expressed that it was going beyond my budget, they suggested that i o online and book there as they were having a special online offer - which was perfect as it totally fit within our budget!
They even managed to get us a room with internet connectivity, although it was terrible. they did however have wi fi in their common areas so we were able to get some work done at their bar which is by the river.
The river is beautiful and serves as the perfect view from the outside bar. The drinks are not the best, but stick to regulars and classics and you should be ok.
We also had a meal at their Japanese restaurant which was packed with locals, obviously indicating that it was a popular joint Again they were friendly and offered a few different Sake's to experiment with as i was had not had it earlier.
A fun experience and the best value for money that i have seen any where in the world. I would go there time and again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in a Superior room recently for a mini break and found that the hotel experience was more like a 3 star hotel although it promotes itself as a 4 star. The reality and the brochure don't quite match up. The establishment lacks the polish of a true 4 star hotel.

The room was spacious. However, the room fittings and furnishings looked tired and could do with a revamp. eg: chipped wash basin, yellowed electric sockets, air conditioner was a little rickety, Nonetheless, the beds were comfortable and the linens were clean.

Not the best place to stay if you prefer to get around on foot to the major tourist attractions as the location is best accessed by taxi, shuttle bus or commuter bus. However, the hotel participates in a limited shuttle bus program with the neighboring hotels for trips to Orchard Rd and Chinatown.

All in all. Best summed up as serviceable, but could improve.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a non smoking floor when you book the room. We were initially placed in a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is my 8th visit to Singapore and the first time I have stayed at this hotel. I have tried almost all types of hotels in SG from 3-4 star hotels to budget hotels in Geylang and even hostels in Chinatown and I was surprised that River View hotel is the only one that does not give complimentary bottled water (at $150 a night they can't spring for bottled water?). There are hairs from the previous guests on the bathroom walls and bath tub. We were put in a smoking floor without even asking us if we are smokers or if the arrangement is fine with us. The guests in the room across us are smokers and they keep their door wide open so the smoke from their room automatically spreads on the whole floor and even our room. We couldn't sleep and complained 3 times to the reception. Their only reply is that they can't do anything about it and told us that the hotel is fully booked. It was around 1am when I really can't stand it and went to the lobby to talk to the duty manager. The people at the reception suddenly offered a room at the non smoking floor for us. I wonder, do they think I was just joking when I said we couldn't sleep because of the smoke so they kept on saying that there are no more rooms? Where did this available room come from if it is true that all rooms are booked?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I had gone to singapore for the Formula 1 weekend in September 2011, along with my cousin. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was decent experience, although overpriced because of the formula 1 weekend.
The location is ok, but any location in singapore is not more than 10-15 minutes away from each other. The check-in and check-out was a breeze, and the hotel gave us the room at 10am without any fuss about the official check-in time of 2pm, And allowed us to check out at 2pm instead of the usual 12noon.
Room size was small and the bathroom was extremely small. It was a bit difficult to take a shower in the bath tub because of the small size, but was manageable.
The staff did not clean our room after the first night, but were prompt enough to do so when we reminded them.
Did not eat a single meal at the hotel and hence cannot comment on the restaurants and food at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Booking a room anywhere in Singapore can be either expensive or a crap-shoot because of location. The River View is around average price for a mainstream property in Singapore proper, but the location makes it a better prospect than most.

My room was billed "superior" and had a distinctive European feel about it. Not huge by any stretch but had a desk, enough storage space for one -- but would be tight for a couple -- a flat-screen TV with access to local and international stations, and a clean, pretty well appointed bathroom. Also an electric kettle and fridge.

Very convenient for the business I was in town to conduct (cabs are reasonably priced and well-regulated), and really within walking distance of several must-sees including Orchard Street shopping area.

The real kicker though is proximity to the river. The Singapore River is home to a number of small bistros, cafes, bars and snack bars. Short on "local" flavor but big on international appeal, a nighttime stroll along its banks is a fun way to spend time, and this hotel is right on the river on the inland end of this area and a few minutes from more than a dozen good spots to grab a glass of wine, a beer, or something to eat.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Singapore

Address: 382 Havelock Road | Singapore, Singapore 169629, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Hotel Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the historic Singapore River, Riverview Hotel is a preferred and affordable 4-star hotel for Business and Leisure travellers. Conveniently located near the Central Business District (CBD) and popular local Business, Meeting, Shopping, Entertainment and Leisure Venues, you are always minutes away from where you want to go. While the hotel’s range of services and facilities, including the Executive Club Lounge, Business Centre and Swimming Pool, accommodates your business and leisure needs, you can enjoy a mesmerising panoramic view of the iconic river or city skyline from the comfort of our 476 rooms. Our specialty Restaurants offer a variety of fine International, Chinese, Japanese and Western cuisine and local favourites in buffet and a la carte styles. With Indoor or Alfresco Waterfront Dining settings, such a wide gastronomic choice will certainly satisfy your palate. For Company and Private Events and Functions, our Ballroom, which can cater for up to 350 people, and 8 Function Rooms are ideal venues for Residential/Non-Residential Seminars, Meetings, Workshops, Product Launches, Team Building, Cocktails, Wedding Banquets and Birthday Parties. Evenings are always full of activities when you stay at Riverview Hotel. You can chill out at our lounge and be entertained by a live band, or dance the night away at the award-winning night music and entertainment club, Zouk, which is only a short walk away. The hotel is also just opposite the popular Robertson Quay and near the colourful Clarke Quay, where you can enjoy a range of delightful Waterfront Dining, Entertainment and Shopping Activities along the Singapore River. So, whether you are in Singapore for Business, Meeting or a Holiday with your family and friends, you will always find a comfortable and memorable stay at Riverview Hotel along the Singapore River – the tranquillity of Waterfront Accommodation and Dining in a cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Singapore
Singapore River View Hotel
River View Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.