We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel in major shopping area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Orchard Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
60 Days Advance Purchase
Ranked #52 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average business hotel in major shopping area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Orchard Hotel is located on the major shopping street in Singapore. The biggest malls are nearby and easy to reach. Good restaurants and bars are more fare away and will require a taxi trip. The rooms are small for the price but well equipped and clean. The hotel has a nice pool and fitness area. The breakfast was good but you will need some patience until you will get seated. Check-in and -out was not convenient as well - very long queues - too long after a long-haul flight.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Orchard_Hotel, General Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Management response:

Dear Alfdag, thank you very much for your comments. I am sorry to know that our Front Desk process was unsatisfactory and I have taken this up with the team. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future, Ruprecht Schmitz General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    750
    322
    89
    42
See reviews for
302
478
122
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I have just checked in (literally 2 hours ago) and I am EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED with the Hotel, I will recommend my company to use a different one from now on.
- Took 30 minutes to check in. I am coming from Europe so I was hoping to get some sleep before lunch.
- Dated room, has not been renovated in a LONG time, you can even see some drink spills on the walls.
- An old spring matress is not what you expect when you pay +$200/night plus taxes.
- $20/day for the internet connection.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at the Orchard and chose the Executive Club. However due to very high occupancy we got bumped up to a bigger room in their Signature club. This was really something different. Having read some of the previous reviews, I simply cannot agree, the service was simply awesome. The girls in the club lounge were really looking after us, even though my young son was probably a bit out of place with all those business travelers. Decor of the rooms is superb too, although not a kid proof decor, but then it was not meant to be. Food in the lounge was excellent to and also the selection for the afternoon and evening cocktails. Honestly, having stayed with Hilton and Marriott in the same area previously, this club was not only comparable, but much better ( and not only for price) . Other areas were fine too, with a huge pool area a kids play room and gym (needs some touch up). All in all, we have not come across anyone who wasn't nice, although smiling is not as evident as in say Thailand or even Bali, but definitely better than my experience in Hong Kong. Anyways, I'll have to go back to Singapore for business soon and will write again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Orchard_Hotel, General Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Dear CAS03, thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments with regards to our Signature Club Executives. I have shared your feedback with the Team and we all look forward to welcome you and your family back to Singapore and Orchard Hotel, Ruprecht Schmitz General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

In addition to upfrontly ringing me out of my dreams just 8 hours after check-in, the room feels like an unconformtable concrete hall, the bathroom is so tiny I cannot do aynthing without bumping there and there. The sewer is noisy, the little water dripping out of the shower takes forever to get warm. Furniture defintely needs an overhaul.

As other said before: The staff hardly ever smilies and further was quite helpless.

Well rooms were clean, TV is ok and the breakfast was acceptable (though you have to wait and wait for your coffee) but I will definitely never come back to this hotel. Compared to what you get the hotel rate is cheeky to say the least. How can this waiting hall style place get more than 2 stars? Well at least there was no one around doing a business trip - these guys know why.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Orchard_Hotel, General Manager at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Management response:

DearPanic_in_Detroit, thank you very much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience.

With regards to the room condition, we are currently evaluating an upgrade of our guestrooms. Maybe you could write to me and furnish me more details on your reservation so that I can see which room type is concerned. I am sorry that the service from our staff was unsatisfactory and your comments have already been shared with the staff of our departments concerned. I have also addressed the waiting time for coffee and tea in the mornings and would very much like you to give us another opportunity to showcase Orchard Hotel to you in the proper light.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future, Ruprecht Schmitz General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and I with two friends stayed at the Orchard Hotel, Singapore at the end of a cruise. The hotel is located at the top (or Bottom?) of Orchard Road, but anywhere in Singapore is easy to get to. The hotel is quite comfortable, good rooms, expensive meals and adequate breakfast. I found small ants in the bathroom which I reported to reception, don't know if anything was done about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Accompanied my husband on his business trip! most of the time we stay here as its convenient and a lil away from the main jam at orchard in the mornings and evenings.we found it comfortable and the staff friendly! breakfast was also not so bad! though it gets boring ur there for more than 3-4 days!

Overall prettty good hotel to be in! and as the mrt is just a 10 min walk was convenient for me to go around!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We were looking for a weekend away from home to celebrate my birthday. I booked the club room online and had a great offer. It includes access to the lounge with a great spread of breakfast and we even had free drinks in the evening.
The staff was most welcoming and made us all feel really at home. There are lots of things to do around and shopping is within easy reach. One evening we had my celebration dinner in their famous chinese restaurant Hua Ting and it was really remarkable

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel Singapore

Address: 442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#49 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orchard Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Orchard Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.