We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Orchard Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
60 Days Advance Purchase
Ranked #51 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aussie on the Road
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I travel for Business purposes only. Many years ago I used to stay at the Orchard, I stopped using the Hotel when the queues for Check in / Check out became intolerable because of the number of Tourists! The queues are still there, but now I stay on the Executive Floor which bypasses those problems. The Executive Floor staff are extremely competent and the lounge facilities are of “average” standard. I agree with the other reviewers, it needs a revamp and would add that they also need more Concierge staff. In my two visits so far this year I have had to carry my own luggage out of the Taxi up the stairs and into the Foyer, to be greeted by Concierge staff buried under piles of luggage with netting (the Tourist problem).
I would recommend this Hotel, but advise that if you are travelling on Business, go for the Executive floor, and avoid the rooms overlooking the building site. If you’re a Tourist, be prepared to queue!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive Floor Avoid the rooms overlooking the Building site next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear The_ AP_Rover
Thank you for your comments as they are extremely important to us to review the service that we offer.
At all times in our interaction with the guests, we need to step back and listen to what our guests are saying and understand the issues that are of prime importance to them.
So your comments and suggestions are important to us as it is our building block to deliver the experience that our guests are looking for in their stay with us.
We look forward for your return soon.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    756
    322
    89
    42
See reviews for
302
481
123
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked a premier suite in orchard Hotel. The room was spacious ,good for gatherings. Like my stay there although there was a miscommunication in terms of payment. The staff had given me wrong information for a cash deposit fee the other day when i called to enquire. Other than that,all's great especially when i bought the package which comes with free limo transfer and 3course dinner..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Estherfan
We are humbled to receive your wonderful review.
We take pride in the fact that we delivered a genuine service that have met and surpassed your expectations.
We look forward in anticipation for your return.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days in March 2013.our room 923 looked out over the hotel next door which is being built so workmen were on site from morning until late afternoon although we didn't find the noise too disturbing. The room was quite small although we were offered an upgrade to a clubroom on check-in which we refused as we didn't think we would use the facilities. There were toiletries and robes and slippers, but the shower screen was dirty when we arrived and remained dirty the whole time we were there. there is a tv and a mini bar and 2 complimentary bottles of water a day.Breakfast was included. A buffet style with a range of asian dishes, scrambled eggs, or the chef would make an omelette .fried eggs, chicken sausage, smoked salmon and some cereal and fruit, bread and yoghurt. Wi fi is S$20 per day. Our car was picking us up at 5.30pm and to keep our room until then from the usual check out of 12.00 we were charged S$ 100. We had S$1.89 to every £1.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear RosWaLES
Thank you for your review.
We are working very hard to meet the expectations of our valued guests and having an open dialogue with you is very important to enable us to constantly review our service and delivery.
We look forward to welcoming you again and being of service to you.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and found this to be a great alternative to the other higher priced hotels in the immediate area. The location is perfect.

The room was modern and included WI-FI, which is always nice.

The lobby is commodious and has many amenities.

The staff I met was accommodating and pleasant. I would cheerfully stay here again should I happen to be in Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Jdeppman
Thank you for giving us a fantastic review.
We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share your views with us and we are delighted that you have valued our service that was extended during your recent stay.
As our guest, it is our priority to ensure that you will have a remarkable experience and we look forward for your return soon.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the 3 rd time over the new year .this time we hsd booked ckub rooms do could use the club lounge which was good. If you compare from our earlier stays
Positives
1. Lovely complimentary cske n wine for our anniversary
2. Good pool
Negatives
1.service was slow n the hotel seemed understaffed
2.housekeeping maid thru lot of attitude n was extremely fussy regarding cleaning the room.
3. Morning breakfast was very crowded at the coffee shop and had huge waitings...

Will we come back?
Only if we get a very good deal

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear abhiami
Thank you for valuable comment.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
As our guest, it is our priority to ensure that your future stay with us will be a fulfilling experience and as such we will look into the matters that you have highlighted.
Once again, we are looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weligama, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for a couple of weeks and enjoyed it very much. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was excellent and so was the management. The food was also good. Another advantage is that it is close to supermarkets, shopping malls, restaurants and public transport. All in all it is very conveniently located. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear charleymount
It is fabulous to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have found that the locality of the Orchard Hotel, a gateway to all your needs.
We look forward in welcoming you back and going that one step further to meet your individual service expectations and providing you an unforgettable stay.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on one corner of Orchard Road but the area is sleazy at night due to the hotels proximity to Orchard Towers which is famous for it's night clubs and "ladies". The hotel is getting old and needs upgrading. I got a corner room which was larger than the other rooms but had an extremely small shower. There was also a bath tub but had no shower curtain. The lighting in the room was totally inadequate. The restaurant is unable to cope with the crowds at breakfast and customers have to queue up to be seated.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger but poorly lit and the shower is really small (at least my room - 851)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear BurzinDN
We thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us and of great assistance in highlighting points of concern from our valued guests.
It is our commitment to ensure that our guests needs are being met and their service expectations are fulfilled.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at the Orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel Singapore

Address: 442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orchard Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Orchard Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.