We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Orchard Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 25% + Free Breakfast
Ranked #62 of 298 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
“Short but sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of days for a short trip with my family and was totally amazed at how friendly and attentive the staff were. We arrived quite early but we didnt have to wait for a room which was a delight especially when you are traveling with kids. The room was simple yet spacious enough. My kids enjoyed dipping in the pool which was clean and big. The hotel also offers a free shuttle to universal studios. Aside from that, the location was great. It is minutes away from tourist attractions and walking distance to Orchard Road which has the best places to shop and dine. Overall, the stay was fantastic and i would definitely recommend this to others who are looking for an amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Worldexplorer555
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.
We are delighted that you had a fascinating and an unforgettable experience throughout your stay with us.
It is our prime objective to continuously go above and beyond to ensure that we deliver the experience that is meaningful and fulfilling to you.
We look forward in welcoming you and your family back to the Orchard Hotel Singapore.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    676
    304
    86
    42
See reviews for
276
408
114
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

In summary, this is a good hotel, let down by some factors. The hotel is located in a reasonable position, at the western end of Orchard Road, about 5 minutes from the MRT station. It's not the most throbbingly exciting bit of Singapore, but then it's easy enough to get around.

The hotel is quite traditionally furnished, and can look a bit old fashioned, but in fact everything in the public areas is fine. My room, which was on one of the executive floors, was adequate. Excellent wifi and wired Internet. The TV didn't work immediately, but was fixed quickly after one call.

There was an intermittent drain smell in the bathroom.

The air conditioning seemed to have two settings - freezing and off.

I ordered a room service curry - it arrived minus rice. This was rectified promptly.

There is a decent Executive lounge, but food was only available at mealtimes - no snacks at other times.

I left my luggage on departure; when I came to claim it, it wasn't in the secure room, but in an overflow pile outside the main door of the hotel. It was attended, but I still felt that was unsatisfactory.

The staff were unfailingly pleasant and very helpful.

Unfortunately, the standard of business hotels in Singapore is high, and this just misses qualifying. A few too many things were wrong; quickly addressed, but all preventable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Philip S
We thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us and of great assistance in highlighting points of concern from our valued guests.
It is most important for us to listen to our guests and to look at matters from their perspective as this enables us to not only deliver the service that they expect and to make their stay a rewarding and a memorable experience
Please do not hesitate to contact us at gsm@orchardhotel.com.sg as we look forward for the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Comfortable large room, well appointed. I like stand-up showers so this was great. The hotel is close to great restaurants, the shops, etc. Easier to get taxis here in the mornings than at Scotts. Great range of channels on TV. Only two complaints - room is a bit dim for reading and comfort, and internet password too complicated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear wlazar
We thank you for selecting Orchard Hotel Singapore as your preferred accommodation during your recent trip.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have found our services and our hotel’s centralized location have surpassed your expectations.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Stefano di Magra, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice Hotel. It's located in the downtown of Singapore no far from MRT and at beginning of Orchard Road, the mostly famous location for shopping. The rooms are very cosy, big with fresh smell. The bed is very comfortable and large and the cleaning services it’s very accurate.
All bathrooms are spacious and provided with shower box, bath plus many accessories.
All staff are very kindly and always available with polite manner with guests.
It's almost 3 years that many week end I go there and what I can say it's that the Hotel increase every time his services.
Moreover many time I reserve room with "executive club" because are on the top and you can use the dedicate lounge where you can enjoy your time, special during aperitif time.
Before reserve other hotel in Singapore I suggest to have a deep look of this structure.
I’m sure you will not regret to stay there

Room Tip: I suggest room with Executive Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Luca I
Thank you for your great compliments and outstanding review.
It is pleasing to hear that you had a remarkable stay with us on and have enjoyed the exclusivity and ambience of the Executive Club lounge.
We are looking forward to seeing you back soon and for you to experience another impressive stay with us.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You know you are in a special place when you can leave your Rolex in your room by accident, and still find it there when you get back, neatly placed next to your bed after the room is cleaned.
Singapore rates vary dramatically depending on what's happening there at the time. If you want to save money, and you can choose when to go their, then you can make great savings, otherwise you will pay a lot for a good hotel and a central location.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Brian C
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are delighted that you had a remarkable stay with us and that you have left The Orchard Hotel with fond memories.
Our prime focus is to continuously go above and beyond to ensure that we deliver an experience that is meaningful and rewarding to our valued guests.
We look forwards in anticipation to seeing you soon.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was our first time to visit Singapore as part of our honeymoon trip and we're not that familiar with the establishments.. We would like everything to be perfect and memorable. I got the name of the hotel from a friend, still I'm a bit hesitant with the booking however the overwhelming friendliness and graciousness of the staff made me realize that it is all worth it. We're upgraded to a deluxe room and given a room with a very nice view... we've mentioned that it was a special honeymoon trip and guest services has been proactively offering us assistance on how to enjoy our stay in Singapore...The hotel has a very good location...walking distance from the shopping area which I totally love... getting around is also very convenient for it is near the transportation service... We had a vacation of our lifetime and will definitely won't have any doubts booking again with Orchard...
Kudos to all the staff for giving us a memorable trip...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear iaman0mad
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was immensely enjoyable and that you have left Singapore with fond memories.
Thank you for your wonderful compliments and we will be sharing this with our Guest Services team to acknowledge the sincere service that they have delivered.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and for you to experience another '5 star service' moments with us.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was really a great stay here. Thank you very much for the assistance.
The rooms are very neat, big and fresh smell..I will never think twice to come back again and stay here. This hotel is very convenient, just a short walking to the famous shopping center "ORCHARD ROAD"....The food taste good..

It was a memorable experience & very nice place to stay again specially every weekend..:-)

Room Tip: Deluxe room..:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrchardHotelSing, GSM at Orchard Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Imelda G
We are humbled to receive your fabulous review.
It is most gratifying to hear that you have experienced a memorable moment during your recent stay with us.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Zirah Barrell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel Singapore

Address: 442 Orchard Road, Singapore 238879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Orchard Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 653
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orchard Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Orchard Hotel
Orchard Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.