We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel ) (Kampong Glam)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 35% off +WiFi +Tour
Ranked #55 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Seremban, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 3 consecutive years, every time I attended the Singapore Writers Festival (2011-2013). My first basis of choice is it's location. It is 400 meters away from Bugis MRT station. This station is on the East-West Line (Green Line) which is directly connected to Changi Airport. Once we got off the plane, head straight away to the MRT station in Changi. For any first-timer to Singapore or anyone who are not familiar with the MRT service in Singapore (which is not that complicated, anyway), the East-West line will take you directly to Bugis.

This hotel is very near the majestic Sultan Mosque. If you prefer Malay food, this place is a food haven for nasi baryani and martabak. Right in front of the hotel there's a 7-Eleven convenient store. When I checked-in, I didn't even ask for a room with breakfast, because I can find my own breakfast around this area, which are abundant!

You can also get a lot of souvenirs around the Sultan Mosque and the Malay Heritage Centre (which is also next to the mosque).

The rooms have been renovated this year. I like the new furniture concept which makes the room more spacious. There's a free wi-fi in the room, an iron plus ironing board and all the other standard amenities.

I will definitely book this hotel if I'm coming to Singapore again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Nishaharon,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

As for our new rooms, they are well received by our guests who have tried them. We focus on the important features to ensure a great stay for our guests. Wifi is one of them. We have increased the bandwidth of our wifi, but make it complimentary to ensure all our guests benefitted from the increment.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    572
    271
    85
    53
See reviews for
341
312
99
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellence service at check in and check out, though we did struggle with the language variation. Excellent room very large and comfortable. Located on the hop on hop off and local bus routes. Air con is cold in the hotel room. A small gym with great views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear chrisGP57,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after.

Our luxurious room size is well publicized. Many of our guests stayed with us because they loved the space accorded to them. This is uncommon in Singapore.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Hotel is locate at a very convenience location,Maybe to improve on the hotel lobby and lift.( Just a suggestion )

Hotel-Shower area suitable for Asia country, however not for Foreigner as (small areas)

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with StayFarEast.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Steveyeo77,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to provide us with feedback to allow us to improve our products and services.

We are drafting plans to improve on our lobby and other public space. As this is a huge project, we expect works to start only somewhere in 2015. We look forward to your suggestion, if any, to help us with this project.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salalah, Oman
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our trip to Singapore was centered around this hotel. Booked based on reviews on this website, we were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality. Well decorated, beautiful pool and restaurants, the best part was the room. The spacious room overlooking the city and nearby skyscrapers was comfortable and rejuvenating after the long walks. The restaurant was excellent with ample dishes to choose from and the staff were cordial. The location of the hotel is also perfect being close to MRT and Bugis Junction.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Siddhesh_kanranjai,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our pool and poolside restaurant are well liked by our guests. Many of our guests have also held parties and functions at our pool, both corporate and private dinners. You have also correctly pointed out that our views from the rooms are superb. We have the Marina Bay view, together with City and Little India views.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel's facade feels old and the lobby has an old, classic feeling. It gives an impression that it hasn't been refreshed it quite some time. But that was dismissed by the newly renovated rooms. The rooms now have this fresh, modern look and feel. Spacious and nicely designed. Power outlets are everywhere and plenty enough to keep all of your gears fully charged for the next day.

Big 40" LCD TV and nice wooden floors covers the room from entrance to window. Speaking of the window, I was lucky enough to have a view of the Arab St. stores and overlooking the Singapore Flyer and a few other buildings.

The bathroom was really nice as well, but there isn't any power sockets/outlet to be found. The shower was the rainfall shower head, which was nice. But the shower door covers only half, so expect some water splashes to the main bathroom area (entrance, in front of the sink).

Internet was good at first, but towards the end of my stay, the speed seemed to slowed down significantly.

Housekeeping staff that cleaned my room did an exceptional job where everything is always nice, neat and fresh.

Breakfast is buffet style at the Mooi Chin restaurant downstairs and they served western and also asian style dishes.

Location wise: PERFECT. Only 1 block away from the Bugis MRT station. 1 block away from Arab St. restaurants. 2-3 blocks away from Bugis Junction, Sim Lim, and Iluma Mall.. so you have yourself covered. Not too far away from Marina Bay area as well.

Room Tip: Don't order the western dishes from the room service menu. They are HORRIBLE
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ardhi R,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Club product has been well received by our regular Club guests. Our Club rooms were recently renovated and our lounge services were upgraded to ensure a better experience for our guests. Since the revamp, we have received many regular guests complimenting the change and see new Club guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location, walking distances to Bugis MRT station and Bugis Junction. Easy to find food. Helpful reception and room is clean & spacious with complete amenities in bathroom. Definitely will stay at this hotel again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Hendry18,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My family & I stayed in a deluxe room at "The Village Hotel Bugis" for 7 days in October 2013. Here is why we all liked it.

Location :

1) Centrally located, very close to Bugis MRT station (stating this since MRT is a highly recommended mode of transport in Singapore) & Little India (cuisine choices are plenty).
2) Very courteous & friendly reception staff (I was especially pleased with the customer focus & service of Naren). It is people like Naren who build a good image at the first touch point in the hotel.
3) Couple of choices for a well spread breakfast (Indian & Continental), found the continental better in terms of buffett breakfast service.
4) Well maintained rooms. Appreciate the prompt room service.
5) Overall great experience & value for money.

Negatives

1) The free shuttle to Universal studios does not have a stop at this hotel. You will have to go to one of the hotels on Orchard Road.
2) The glass closet in the bathroom does not have a door which I feel is basic. Not sure why that was penny wise pound foolish on the part of the hotel.
3) The elevators (lifts) seem to act weird. Not only do they take a long time to show up but do not have sensors to re-open door & hardly gives time for more than 2 people to get in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Leng K, General Manager at Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Pradeep_Seshadri,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review to compliment Village Hotel Bugis and our staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our location is well liked by many of our guests and reason why many frequent guests stay with us. Village Hotels is about the buzz and interesting things to see and do in our precinct. Our guests are spoilt for choice in terms of attractions, food and shopping. Other than this, our location is convenient for transport in getting to anywhere in Singapore as you have correctly pointed out.

Hospitality is one of our hallmark at Village Hotels. Our staff are trained and inculcated with the personalised service culture to ensure all our guests are well looked after.

We also take note of your feedback on the shuttle to Universal Studios, closet and the lift. We will speak to Universal Studios to see whether we can also get them at our doorsteps. For the closet, it is part of the design to provide convenience for our guests by having an open closet. As for the lift, it is part of our plan to upgrade the lift system next year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay Village. And discover.

Yours sincerely,
Yan Leng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality

Address: 390 Victoria Street, Singapore 188061, Singapore (Formerly Landmark Village Hotel )
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Singapore
#40 Business Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#61 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Arab Street and Kampong Glam enclave, and a mere stone’s throw away from Bugis Village and Little India, Village Hotel Bugis is at the crossroads of Singapore’s Arab, Peranakan and Indian enclaves.These multicultural and multinational influences are seen in the Indian, Chinese and international cuisines at the hotel’s three dining options.Guests can explore the side streets of Kampong Glam, Bugis Village and Haji Lane, which have small boutique outlets stocked with fashion labels otherwise not found in the Singapore malls. They can also indulge in a shopping spree at the Bugis Junction and Bugis+ shopping centres. The Bugis MRT station, which is just a 5-minute walk away, connects guests to the Orchard shopping belt or the Central Business Districts of City Hall or Raffles City.Besides its location, Village Hotel Bugis' key selling point is its spacious rooms, which start from 32sqm for its entry level Superior Room to up to a generous 64sqm for its Executive Club Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Landmark Far East Hotel
Golden Landmark Hotel Singapore
Village Hotel Bugis By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.