We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayview dishonest Family package.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Singapore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bayview dishonest Family package.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed in the Bayview for one night during our stop over in Singapore with my family. We are return customers, having staying at the hotel with a good experience a few years before. We booked through the Bayview web site which included, kids stay and eat free (breakfast only). Upon our arrival, we found the counter staff to be very unwelcoming this time around. We specifically requested a king room, which we checked into queen and had to hassle the reception to change the room to the king that we originally requested. The next morning Upon presenting for the breakfast which was prepaid with the room package, we had to argue with the staff for our son who was supposed to be staying and eating free. The hotel staff was not aware of their current advertised room packages. The staff insisted on charging for my son to the eat breakfast. Only after disputing and showing the staff the booking on the web page, was the charge removed from the room account. The room was booked and paid for in advance as per the special offer conditions, so there were no additional charges when checking out. I was give the invoice and we checked out with nothing listed beyond my expectation. 3 days later I check my credit card transaction history and the Bayview hotel has charged me for my sons breakfast as addition charge, I cannot believe how this can happen. This totally dishonest, and totally goes against my morals. I'm really unhappy and would think twice about booking this hotel again, as it just acts in its own best interests and does really care about its customers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. While we do not wish to come across as putting up excuses but as a means of clarification, we have checked from the Bayview Website and found that you had booked under “Advance Purchase Non-Refundable” Promotion for superior room. The rate quoted is subject to 10% service charge and 7% GST. The entitlement of breakfast for the double room that you have booked is only for 2 persons. There are a total of 3 promotional offers on our Bayview Website, namely “5 Days Advance Purchase Non-Refundable”, “Kids Stay for Free on Bayview Kids Package for Deluxe or Family Room” and “Minimum 3 Nights Stay”. All these offers come with different rate plan. While you have mistook the rate plan that you have booked, our Assistant Manager had explained to you personally on our different packages and gladly waived the child breakfast charges as a gesture of goodwill. We have verified that there were no additional charges on your credit card as stated on your invoice.
We understand from your comments that you are unsure of staying with us again, having read through your comment, We can well imagine your decision. We would like to assure that we take your feedback seriously and will make every effort to make necessary improvements. We hope you will reconsider your decision for Bayview Hotel Singapore in the future.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    204
    156
    44
    22
See reviews for
91
155
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a stop over to see universal, and the rooms do what they need. Clean beds. Nice staff good location. Although, if you get a room facing the front there is lots of building work going on till 2017 that sound as if they would be disruptive

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at Bayview Hotel Singapore. We are very happy to read that your bed was clean and enjoyed the good location and having nice staff. Whilst we do apologize for the inconvenience caused, unfortunately we have no ability to control the pubic work construction in front of the hotel to make way for the MRT Downtown Line 3 to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors. Upon the station’s completion in 2017, it will enhance rail connectivity between the eastern corridors, the Central Business District and developments in the Marina Bay area.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel SIngapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

i stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, booked with "lots of hotels" through my office travel agency. near bras basah mtr station. on going construction for bencoolen mtr station operational by 2017. near a food center - frequented kopitiam stall known for the very singaporean coffee & toast, and very nice and quiet area. hotel staff helpful. free breakfast is ok for an asian like me. for a basic hotel this is acceptable, as long as you do not ask too much amenities and scrimp on expenses. my bed was soft enough. tried room service, it was quite fast, price was reasonable. i recommend this hotel for guests that are not finicky, and want only the basics! i wll come back to this hotel again next year. this is a "no smoking" hotel. but there is a smoking area along the alley to 7/11 or the driveway beside the hotel entrance. upon arrival, front desk gave me the username and password of the wifi. since i am visiting a friend we communicated through facebook messenger. wifi is free and working - fairly fast. check-out was fast, i requested assistance from front desk to get me a taxi to the airport, and the taxi was there in a blink.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are delighted to learn that you have found our hotel staff helpful and services were promptly delivered. Taking your positive & constructive feedback on board, we will be sure to seek for improvement upon current facility and service. The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore looks forward to having another pleasure of welcoming you back for an Enriching Bayview experience in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Batangas Province, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed 4 days and 3 nights here. The location is perfect, so close to Orchard road yet at a fairly quiet part of the city. Accommodation included free breakfast which was really good. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but the staff isn't as courteous as the Filipinos (I'm not biased, being a Filipino and all. It's just an observation.). Overall the stay was satisfactory and I wouldn't mind staying here again if I go back to Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore as your preferred choice. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. are happy with our location and good breakfast.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in Bayview for 4 days; enjoyed the stay. Spacious room, courteous staff, nice breakfast, good locality.. got a good deal by booking online too. Also has self service laundry, iron box and ironing table, decent view.. Only negative is property is bit old..

Liked it more as another place we stayed in the same locality was too congested.. and without many advantages bayview has.

A Sunday worship service happening in second floor was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest on your recent visit to Singapore. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor.

It is such a delight to learn that you have found our staff courteous and the breakfast nice. We are also delighted to learn that you happy with our spacious room and good locality. Your positive review is certainly encouraging for us to move forward towards achieving service excellence!

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Bayview Hotel Singapore, we thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to your continuous support.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in May 2014 on our way home to Australia from Europe. We wanted a quiet hotel so we could catch up on some sleep and also be close to transport. We were very close to Bras Basah train station which we used to get around the various tourist spots. There was a local eatery where we had most of our meals apart from breakfast which we had at the hotel and was good. Unfortunately the hotel has been barricaded behind timber walls as the new Bencoolen Metro Station is being built. It has been going on for a few years and will be finished around 2017. However we were not deterred by this and there was no noise. The rooms were clean and roomy and the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit.

While only on a short stay, we were glad to see that our team provided you with impecable service and that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel despite the MRT construction. Upon the station’s completion in 2017, it will enhance rail connectivity between the eastern corridors, the Central Business District and developments in the Marina Bay area.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore looks forward to having another pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience with us in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good value stayed June 2014 with family and friends group of nine with 5 rooms for a week. Close to MRT and eateries breakfast decent and suited all from 10 year old to 60 year old member of our party. Beds hard but by 3rd night we had adapted, air cond so good requested extra blanket. Pool nice if not deep and relaxing after long day. MRT being built on street in front but we were not aware of it from our rooms. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Away from front high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We will be sure to take your valuable feedback on board to seek for improvement whenever possible.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.