We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to all the good stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Singapore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Batangas Province, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So close to all the good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed 4 days and 3 nights here. The location is perfect, so close to Orchard road yet at a fairly quiet part of the city. Accommodation included free breakfast which was really good. Maybe it's a cultural thing, but the staff isn't as courteous as the Filipinos (I'm not biased, being a Filipino and all. It's just an observation.). Overall the stay was satisfactory and I wouldn't mind staying here again if I go back to Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore as your preferred choice. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel. are happy with our location and good breakfast.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    204
    156
    44
    22
See reviews for
91
155
48
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in Bayview for 4 days; enjoyed the stay. Spacious room, courteous staff, nice breakfast, good locality.. got a good deal by booking online too. Also has self service laundry, iron box and ironing table, decent view.. Only negative is property is bit old..

Liked it more as another place we stayed in the same locality was too congested.. and without many advantages bayview has.

A Sunday worship service happening in second floor was a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest on your recent visit to Singapore. We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in TripAdvisor.

It is such a delight to learn that you have found our staff courteous and the breakfast nice. We are also delighted to learn that you happy with our spacious room and good locality. Your positive review is certainly encouraging for us to move forward towards achieving service excellence!

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Bayview Hotel Singapore, we thank you once again for your patronage and look forward to your continuous support.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in May 2014 on our way home to Australia from Europe. We wanted a quiet hotel so we could catch up on some sleep and also be close to transport. We were very close to Bras Basah train station which we used to get around the various tourist spots. There was a local eatery where we had most of our meals apart from breakfast which we had at the hotel and was good. Unfortunately the hotel has been barricaded behind timber walls as the new Bencoolen Metro Station is being built. It has been going on for a few years and will be finished around 2017. However we were not deterred by this and there was no noise. The rooms were clean and roomy and the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit.

While only on a short stay, we were glad to see that our team provided you with impecable service and that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel despite the MRT construction. Upon the station’s completion in 2017, it will enhance rail connectivity between the eastern corridors, the Central Business District and developments in the Marina Bay area.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore looks forward to having another pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience with us in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Good value stayed June 2014 with family and friends group of nine with 5 rooms for a week. Close to MRT and eateries breakfast decent and suited all from 10 year old to 60 year old member of our party. Beds hard but by 3rd night we had adapted, air cond so good requested extra blanket. Pool nice if not deep and relaxing after long day. MRT being built on street in front but we were not aware of it from our rooms. Would stay here again

Room Tip: Away from front high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We will be sure to take your valuable feedback on board to seek for improvement whenever possible.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night last 26-27 May, 2014. The Staff is very courteous and polite. We we're given a high floor room (10th floor). Room is very spacious with a separate living room from the big bedroom with 2 toilets. We have also a two 32" LCD Tv and a separate work desk - one for the bedroom and one for the living room. It has a glass wall. We can hear the construction outside if we go near the glass. Not safe for the kids to lean over. Basic toiletries such as shampoo, soap and toothbrush is provided in the room.

They serve free buffet breakfast (but I didn't try - so I cannot comment on it). Wifi connection is also good (free).

The only negative with this Hotel is the aircon. Probably, because the room is too big. Eventhough, it has 2 aircons, it is still hot. We didn't complain anymore because we will be checking out next day.

As for the location, Hotel is located in Bencoleen - there is a 24/7 Kopitiam and 7-11 and my favorite Irish Pub is around the corner. It is just in the heart of everything - Museums, Shopping Malls, Tourist Attractions, etc. Just only a few bus stops away and you are there. However, getting a cab is not easy. But at least they have a drop off point unlike the Strand Hotel (check my review in Strand Hotel if you want to know more). If you know how to use the Public Transportation, getting around is easy. There is a nearby MRT Stations and a bus stop. The only thing that you need to take note is that --- this Hotel is infront of a huge construction site for the future Bencoleen MRT Station that will be finish in 2017.

Amenities:
Swimming Pool - is small but usable. Nobody's using it and it is on top of the Hotel building (rooftop).
Gym - is also small but it seems functional. Nobody's using it as well.
You can only go inside, if you have the access card. It is only for Hotel Guests.

Overall, we are happy with our stay. If we needed a place to stay again in Singapore. We will definitely choose this Hotel again. Hopefully, the management can fix the aircon problem and they won't increase their price. :P This Hotel is truly a gem in Singapore!

Room Tip: Request for a high floor room to avoid the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at Bayview Hotel Singapore. We are most delighted to learn that our staff were courteous and polite and that you found our room spacious and also liked the hotel’s location.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had 8 night stay during April 2014 hotel very convenient for transport trains and buses, walking distance to raffles hotel and raffles city. Staff were efficient and courteous and went about their business Buffet breakfast also good. We expected more noise due to the MRT works and was pleasantly surprised that it was no where near as bad as we expected.. It's a pity it detracts from the hotel. Room was adequate only down side we faced a plain block wall. Facilities were clean beds comfy and overall it met our needs . For those wanting a little more than a basic budget priced hotel we can recomend this hotel.

call it

Room Tip: None to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at Bayview Hotel Singapore. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with the location and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. We appreciate your comments on our efficient and courteous staff and good breakfast. We are also that our services and facilities met your needs.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel's location is very good. It is a very short walk to the train station (Bras Basah) and is nearby a food court that's open 24 hrs and 7-11. There is construction in front of the hotel so the taxi had a bit of a difficulty finding the hotel but once you get there it is easy to get around. Rooms are ok with clean sheets. The breakfast is good but be sure to come around 830 in the morning as it gets too crowded. Wifi is free but it didn't work most of the time when we were there. Noise is tolerable and I had a good sleep. Water pressure in the shower is fine. All in all the hotel is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that you are happy with the hotel’s location and you surely have enjoyed your stay with Bayview.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore

Kind Regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.