We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Singapore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

It's noisy as a MRT station is being constructed before hotel gate. It would be finished in 2017. But the service is good. It's 5 minute walking to the MRT. The breakfast is not good for the price. If you go there, you can eat something outside the hotel beside the MRT.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our service and location despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction.

The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    234
    190
    51
    31
See reviews for
111
190
54
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Hotels in Singapore is very expensive and during exhibition, it's even worse. We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights via Booking.com and we paid about SGD200/room/night (incl. service charge and GST) which inclusive of breakfast.

The room is bigger than average hotel room at similar room rate. There's no view from the room, other than windows of the opposite buildings. There's no WiFi in the room, but I have no problem connecting to the free internet via LAN network cable. During booking, we requested rooms with twin bed and our request was fulfilled. Upon check in, we asked if we could have connecting room, and again we were given one. The room looks a little worn out, but it's clean. All towers were clean and odorless. Other reviewers had complained about the noise from the construction in front of the hotel, but since our rooms were at the behind, we were not bothered by the noise, in fact we hardly hear any noise, even when we were having breakfast in the restaurant.

Breakfast was good. Although there were not many choices, but the quality was acceptable. We didn't encountered any cold food (other than food that's supposed to be cold) as experienced by other reviewers.

The location is what I like most about this hotel. Bras Basah MRT is just 2 minutes walk away. And next to the hotel, there's a food court with many choices, a fast food restaurant - Wendy's and a 7-Eleven Convenient Store. This hotel even offers free parking since we were driving down from Malaysia. We were there to attend an exhibition in Marina Sand Bay, so location is very important to us. And during booking, we couldn't find any other hotels offering better rate than this hotel, at this location.

I'd recommend this hotel to budget conscious travelers and I would definitely stay here again, as long as the rate is competitive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's at the rear of the hotel, so it's far from the construction in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion.

The team at Bayview Hotel Singapore joins me in extending our gratitude for your appreciation towards our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Singapore and this was by far the worst. I was only going to be staying here for a few hours and I'm lucky that was the case. I was working until 3am and when I got to the room if i wasn't so tired I would have been straight down to complain.
I decided to leave the hotel at 9am because I just didn't want to be there anymore.

Instead of a double bed I got 2 singles, the carpet was dirty, the view was of a building site. The towels were dirty, they shower was even worse. After I got to sleep I was woken by a bang in the bathroom. When I went into check what it was a part had fallen off the bath. I have attached pictures.

I was woken again at 8am by the noise outside and decided to go for breakfast. Breakfast was only average,

There is a lot of work needs to be done to this hotel but I am not going to find out if it ever improves because I will not go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, I really love their mashed potatoes. I was a bit disappointed that they don't have WiFi in the room, I had to sit at the lobby whenever I need WiFi. Luckily they have sofas in the lobby and the connection's quite fast.
There's a 7/11 store and a Kopitiam (24 hours diner) right beside the hotel. It is also very close to the Bras Basah MRT station and a bus stop. It took only a couple of MRT stops to get to some tourism spots like Merlion Park or China Town.
Another one of my disappointments is that there's an MRT construction right in front of the building. It wasn't noisy, but because of that, that part of the Bencoolen street is closed and the view from my room was cranes and tractors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are most delighted to learn that you are happy with our facilities and hotel’s surrounding despite some disruption causing inconvenience from the MRT construction. Your recognition and encouragement will certainly motivate us in the hospitality industry to constantly pursue service excellence.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Bayview Hotel Singapore

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 3days. I hate rooms with dirty carpet...and might have spotted a few fleas during our stay...but if you don't care then its a decent hotel very in the middle of the city.
oops one other thing...Ben Coolen street is until 2017 a big construction area, a new metro station is being built and guess what comes with those building activities....noise, a lot of noise. But if you don't care then its a decent hotel in the middle of the city...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Singapore for your holiday in Singapore and we appreciate your sharing the experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We are saddened to hear of your encounters at Bayview Hotel Singapore and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

On the construction in front of the hotel, we are working closely with the Authority to minimize the inconveniences. The MRT construction is part of Singapore upgrading to provide more connectivity for the residence as well as overseas visitors in the future. This MRT line is directly connected to Singapore Expo and Changi Airport.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. We hope the experiences you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayivew Hotel Singapore where I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was clean, room was spacious, bathroom was average though the tub was chipping and showed signs of wear and tear. The staff were friendly and easy to talk to. The breakfast choices was good and varies every day. The location was good for walking around, the only downside was that there were construction around the area which made it hard to get to for taxi cabs so you will have to walk to a corner or wait until one finds its way around the detours. Eating spots were scattered and easy to walk to, 711 just across the small alley. Over all, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It’s been our honour to have you as our guest. We are grateful for your taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback on our room, the hotel’s location and our staff are very much appreciated and met your expectation.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back for a memorable hotel experience with us soon.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a Good location. They have some MAJOR road works going on at the moment with the MRT being built in front of them. I requested a room with 2 single rooms be provided and when we arrived it was on the paperwork showing a 'twin' room so all was looking up. We get to the room and the Room is only 1 double bed. This was quickly fixed but not before the reception girl was heard laughing over the phone to the concierge. Once it was sorted and we were given the correct room we went to hook to the Wireless Internet only to find that WiFi only available in the reception area and NOT in your room. you can connect to Internet in your room only if your device has a ethernet slot (and you need to purchase a cable or BYO)

We were in a room over looking the MRT and we heard very little noise from them during our stay.

The Breakfast was included in our Room rate but be warned that the food is often cold (and we were there around 7am)

The receipt staff are VERY helpful however the room we were in was not the cleanest room you have seen. The shower door was broken and the corners were covered in scum

Overall The place is OK but it is WELL overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHSingapore, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank you for taking time to write in which allow us to address the shortcomings. As our valued guest, we appreciate tremendously your feedback and apologized for the inconvenience caused. This was indeed an oversight on our side and had addressed the issue to the department concerned.

We take this service lapse seriously and the staff concerned had been counseled and disciplinary action had been taken against them to ensure such an incident will not recur in future. Spring cleaning is in progress.

All our guest rooms come with free internet access with LAN cable obtainable from reception counter and wifi at lobby, café, swimming pool and function rooms.

The Management is constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts. Our upgrading programme is in the pipeline in line with the MRT completion. We hope that the experience you have had does not deter you from staying with us at Bayview Hotel Singapore.

Once again, we thank you for your kind understanding in this matter and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Francis Tan
General Manager
Bayview Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Pacific Hotel
#118 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Strand Hotel
#154 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Rochor
Hotel Bencoolen
Hotel Bencoolen
#156 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Bencoolen
#181 of 301 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#112 of 301 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Hotel Kai
#68 of 301 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Singapore

Address: 30 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189621, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Fifteen-story Hotel located 4 km from train station & 22 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Bayview Hotel Singapore
Singapore City Bayview Hotel
City Bayview Singapore
Bayview Singapore
Bayview Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.