We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Good Location with Reasonable Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza on Scotts

Save Saved
You added Royal Plaza on Scotts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Plaza on Scotts
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Psst! How to get 38%* off
Ranked #26 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Good Location with Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed two nights at the Royal Plaza on Scotts in May 2007. The hotel is in a very good location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but I would not say luxurious. The public areas of the hotel are nice, but not opulent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool small but nice. I would recommend and stay again. Overall, a 4 star hotel with a reasonable price in a city with very expensive hotels.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,133
    985
    264
    53
    31
See reviews for
530
846
207
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel was initially booked through Expedia due to the special rate. The 2 things that stand out for me are that the hotel is the first total non-smoking hotel in Singapore, plus the provision of free wireless 802.11n internet, which others charge for. After an easy 20 minute taxi ride from Changi Airport in the late evening, check out was efficient, and we settled into the comfortable, clean spacious room. Some noise was encountered during the day because of suite refurbishment, but we were forewarned of it. The staff attended to our every need, including shortages of equipment in room,and cutlery for cuttting food. Free minibar helped to sustain us.
The only migiving I would have area paucity of dining options, with one restaurant, Carousel, the UltraHeat Lounge (more like a pub),and one Chinatown Heritage Restaurant.
Took good advantage of the fee internet.
In summary, recommend the Royal Plaza, even to thse staying in the major competitors across the road, and pocketed a saving of $100 a day, which goes a long way in food and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Service was great, free wi-fi access (though sometimes a bit slow), free drinks in the minibar replenished daily, excellent location right next to a metro stop and tons of shopping. They had some construction going on in the hotel, we were warned at checkin about that. Most of the time we were out and about, there was absolutely no problems in the evening hours or night. Overall a very pleasant experience. My only complaint is that there were not enough lights in the room and roomservice and the restaurants in the hotel were way too overpriced. So, we ate out everytime (not hard to do in Singapore). Definitely recommended for all types of travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

RP on S was a great experience, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable, clean and sylish, and the location excellent. Having two rooms, the staff went to some lengths to find us adjoining rooms.

The only meals we had were the buffet breakfast - it was great value, delicious and the staff were so attentive. The pool was great (2.9 m deep, cool and roomy}.

The location was great - close to the very convenient, fast and efficient Orchard MRT and to Isetan department store which has a food hall/supermarket/pharmacy. Being in the midst of Orchard Rd, it's a stone's throw (maybe a stroll through an underpass) to Tangs, Far East Plaza, Wheelock Place and Wisma Atria (which has the bustling food court called Food Republic).

It was a great value, as well as being so convenient and comfortable - would recommend to anyone looking for a base to explore Singapore during a shortish (3-4 day) stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Introduction: We stayed at the Royal Plaza on nights of 9,10 July 2009, as a stop over London to Syndey. Booked it online for around AU$300 a night.

The Hotel: Very good location on Scotts Road near Orchard Rd in the shopping/entertainment hub of Singapore. Very good reception by porters and reception staff. Very large hallway into hotel, well fitted out. Very large restaurant which served a very hot and cold breakfast which was included in our price, normally S$38 !
hotel had a nice pool as well on upper floors. Also we could use internet in busines centre for 15 minutes, good for airline check in.

The Room: Quite spacious and comfortable but not quite as luxurious as I would have thought. Good bed and seating, good bathroom. Hotel undergoing refurbish and a lot of work noise from other rooms. Had a few complimentary drinks in fridge - beer, coke, water, oj, very welcoming.

Conclusion: Good hotel, but a little overated and overpriced in my opinion. But then you pay for location. Probably will be nicer and quiter after refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were delighted with our stay at the Royal Plaza on Scotts, which we booked because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We arrived in the early hours of the morning for a three night stay. Staff were professional and friendly. On arrival, our room was upgraded and we were given a 3pm late checkout on our final day.

The location of this hotel is very convenient, right on Orchard Road, 5 min walk to the MRT, and with a very busy bus stop right out front. There is a huge department store opposite, as well as a large shopping plaza. There are also a large range of affordable food stores within 5 mins walk, including major chains.

Our room was what we expected, a large bed, desk, desk chair and lounge chair. The room was extraordinarily quiet and we were able to block out all light if we wanted. We appreciated the free beer, soft drinks and water, and enjoyed swimming in the large pool. The only problem we experienced was the strength of the free wireless broadband connection which was not strong enough in our room to be reliable.

Unusually, I booked a package with breakfast and was blown away with its size and quality. There was appropriate breakfast food for almost every country, which even included different specialities on different days. In fact, the buffet breakfast at The Royal Plaza on Scotts has ruined us and we will always use hold it up as the gold standard.

What I did not know when I booked it was that the restaurant at the Royal Plaza on Scotts has won 'Singapore's Best Buffet Restaurant' category for several years running. I didn't try the other buffets (which included afternoon/high tea and seafood) but I did notice that the restaurant was always packed with people each afternoon and especially in the evenings. The hotel also offers a very affordable three course meal deal in the upstairs bar/restaurant that was also well attended. If you are ever going to book buffet breakfast with your accommodation, this is the hotel to do it.

The public transport system in Singapore is fantastic. We bought a rail pass and put $20 Singapore on it. We then used it for our whole stay to catch trains and buses, including our return train trip to the International Airport. In total we only spent $10 and, because we arrived at the airport before 7.30 pm, were able to retrieve all the money we hadn't yet spent. The only problem with the system is that it is not really accessible for people with disabilities. Stairs are used as flood barriers to the rail system and the Singapore people do not stand for people with disabilities despite having specially allocated seats. However, I have found this also to be the case in most of Europe and sometimes even in ustralia.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a very affordable and reliable option, even without the fantastic buffet breakfast. With the buffet breakfast, it is unbeatable value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Plaza for 4 nights from 11th June. The problems we had with the refurbishment will probably not affect anyone else now but I have to mention it because I think the hotel could have done more to make sure their guests were less affected.It spoilt our holiday.
We paid for a premier room so we could enjoy the premier lounge benefits. The room was very nice and clean but very small and our view was a car park. We had to change rooms because of the noise and the second room was exactly the same, just a different view.
The breakfast were ok, nothing special and busy at all times.
The hotel has a beautiful lobby and the staff were very nice. The location is also very good.
However due to the horrendous noise from the refurbishment we had to change rooms. The next day they started on rooms next to our new room!!.The noise went on from 10am to 6pm and it wasnt just a little banging and knocking, it was full on mechanical drilling and such.Needless to say we could not bear to be in room between these times.You could even hear it in the Premier lounge so we never went for the tea we paid for.Surely the hotel could have protected their paying guests from such inconvenience.
If we didnt have the problems we had I think it would have been an ideal hotel. So dont be put off. It is just unfortunate that our stay was spolit and so was our holiday.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#25 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel and exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Great Singapore Sale 2014 2014 Formula 1 Singapore Airlines Singapore Grand Prix at Marina Bay Street Circuit (8 minutes' drive) WTA Championships Singapore at Singapore Sports Hub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza on Scotts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.