We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - everything else mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Plaza on Scotts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Plaza on Scotts to your Saves list
Royal Plaza on Scotts
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Psst! How to get 33%* off
Ranked #30 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location - everything else mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I booked RPS on the basis that it had received many good reviews and also because there was a deal on WOTIF. We had previously stayed at Mandarin Oriental the 2 nights before, so moving to RPS was a little bit of a shock. The lobby was chaotic - everyone was talking in extremely loud voices, the staff weren't as well-dressed, and I just found it rather annoying how many of the guests would use the lobby for their catching up session. Many times, we have walked down to the lobby only to find the equivalent of a marketplace going on there.

The room was very ordinary - we booked the Deluxe room. The bathroom was also very ordinary. Nice enough but there was no WOW factor. However, the free wi-fi was a VERY nice touch as even Mandarin Oriental did not offer this service free of charge. Also, there was a Nespresso machine in our room AND the mini-bar was complimentary (one of the staff came up and explained this to us). I think it was these small touches that ultimately saved RPS and made the hotel memorable.

The location was fantastic - it was brilliant to be able to walk straight home after a long day out shopping on Orchard Road.

But other than that, I doubt we would come back and stay at RPS when in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    1,110
    289
    56
    34
See reviews for
602
968
234
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
novara
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

It is my second visit in this hotel. It is aligned with a 4 stars hotel standard.
Remarkable the breakfast and the general atmosphere.
Sometimes the interior decoration is a little bit kitch for my personal perspective.
Location is excellent : walking distance from Orchard and main commercial centers.
Excellent for an Italian : any room has a Lavazza coffee machine!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and we were very happy with it's location, hotel cleanliness and courteous & polite staff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a very clean hotel, with excellent and friendly staff, and a well-considered approach to assisting customers. Price was also very keen and good value for money. Booking was easy - no problems and instantly confirmed. Through our error, my wife left her handbag (containing money, cards, passport and many valuables) in the taxi. The staff at check-in and the concierge had located the taxi, and had the bag returned in fifteen minutes - what an excellent welcome to the hotel, Singapore and the taxi driver. All the while they were extremely considerate toward her and did their utmost to ensure she was supported. My personal thanks for a great stay. You will never know how grateful we both were for your assistance in helping us with our needs when the bag was left in the cab. Your staff were magnificent (and the rest of the stay was too)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
783 helpful votes 783 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Pretty much all you could want from a top four-star hotel -- central location, five-star staff, and comfortable, quiet and functional rooms. Speaking of the rooms, while not particularly large, they are smartly outfitted with:

-- Free internet

-- Complimentary mini-bar (water, orange juice, Tiger beer, Oreos, Coke, and Diet Coke), replenished daily

-- Large work space/desk with an adjustable desk chair

-- Nespresso coffee maker and L'Occitane bathroom amenities

My only (minor) complaints would be about the gym (small and under-equipped), the club floor lounge (boring and minimal food selections at both breakfast and the evening cocktail hour), and exorbitant room service prices (eg, club sandwich = S$25, fish & chips = S$34).

Overall, I would definitely return given the value for money.

Room Tip: Club floor upgrade not worth the extra charge as internet access and mini-bar are both free in all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel, the last one being a year ago. It is very convenient to the Orchard Road shopping precinct and the MRT (underground train system).
The service at checkin and checkout was fantastic - friendly faces eager to serve you. The concierge Ibrahim is a legend. He knows his stuff but also is provides friendly, helpful service - nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast spread is enormous - if you cant find something special amongst the wide selection on offer, you must have a problem! We stayed in the club room which had free minbar restocked daily and free wi-fi and the room rate included daily breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable and modern but don't expect any rooms with a view given the way the building faces. But no one going to Singapore does much more than sleep in their room surely!
The e-concierge service is fantastic. I used it to book transport to/from airport/Changi and I also used it to get a recommendation for a special dinner with my wife. The system works really well. I also booked direct with the hotel rather than through an agent and found the deal was no different except that I could access the e-concierge service.
Hotels in Singapore are not cheap (we stopped in Singapore on the way back from Cambodia and there was a marked difference in the costs - try 3-5 times dearer!!) but relatively speaking, RP on Scotts is pretty good value.
I will stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed a RP on Scotts as family of 4. Had booked two rooms which were great.
Enjoyed the short walk to Orchard Rd shops and lots of restaurants and eating places around too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Plaza on Scotts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza on Scotts

Address: 25 Scotts Rd, Singapore 228220, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Singapore
#23 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#28 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Plaza on Scotts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza on Scotts is a deluxe Singapore hotel offering free WIFI and high-speed wired Internet to cater to your business needs. The rooms are also equipped with free Nespresso gourmet coffee, minibars that are replenished daily and free local calls. Delight yourself with meals at award-wining buffet restaurant, Carousel or try out our delicious Artisan cupcakes by Gourmet Carousel. Enjoy exclusive access to 24 hour facilities such as the Internet Lounge and the gym. Our excellent location in Orchard Road means that we are steps away from iconic shopping malls such as ION Orchard, Paragon and Takashimaya and a 10-minutes' drive to the main business and financial institutions like Marina Bay, Shenton Way and Suntec towers. Upcoming events in Singapore: Christmas on a Great Street at Orchard Road Singapore Countdown to 2015 at Marina Bay (15 minutes' drive) Chinese New Year Celebrations at Chinatown (10 minutes' drive) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Royal Plaza on Scotts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Plaza On Scotts Hotel Singapore
Royal Plaza On Scotts Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Plaza on Scotts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.