We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located but overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Concorde Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Concorde Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Concorde Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Orchard Road, Singapore 238840, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Value Rate
Ranked #95 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Centrally located but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly, extremely friendly although they have daily fights with the technical issues related to this hotel from the 70-ies - or even older. A typical malfunction is the magnetic room/elevator key or sounds from construction work or the night clubs.
I've not used the pool or any other facilities of the hotel due to a lack of time.
The basement of the hotel contains some stores and restaurants but don't expect anything fancy. At night, some clubs and a karaoke bars start their activities. I could sing and dance in my room and would probably even sing better...
The location of the hotel is good. Orchard Road is the center of the shopping area and even Little India is within walking distance.
Breakfast is an experience since they try to cater for all...

Room Tip: If you plan on staying in this hotel, make sure you are on level 7 or above. The basement of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    329
    167
    41
    20
See reviews for
150
204
59
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had booked this hotel for 7 nights after reading lot of reviews and recommendations. Although it was long stay and request for early check-in was sent, we were told to wait for 4 hours. After a long overnight flight one expects to relax a bit and not wait in the lobby for 4 hours especially for guests who are staying longer. Entire money was taken as advance and we were asked to wait. They did not even offer water or welcome drink! So much for the hospitality of this hotel! I think the staff should be sent for some training in this aspect. We got the room after 2 hours and it was descent, not bad. However, it is not having that class of 4/5 star hotel. We initially thought that ac was not working as per our expectations and asked for a fan but housekeeping declined to give one. Luckily for us, ac functioned well later on and we did not need a fan. Everything else in the hotel was ok but this initial experience left a bad taste in our mind. Barring the above incidents, our stay was comfortable, everthing else worked very well. Location is excellent and close to most places including MRT station, malls, shopping, eateries etc. I think the price this hotel is asking is little too much. Their rates should be at least 25% less. The mall below the hotel has some massage rooms and sex shops but it did not cause any problem.
Hotel is recommended to those who would like to pay for central location.

Room Tip: We are told that rooms on upper floors are better. We stayed on 5th floor and room was good. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had checked on trip advisor and were worried about seediness of area (explaining about sex shops and massage rooms as we exited or entered hotel to our daughter wasn't ideal!!)
On our arrival we checked in and were pointed? in the vague direction of the lifts, we had booked a superior room but on entry to room (with view of aircon system!) asked (and paid for) upgrade to a suite, which at best could be described as dated with flourescent lights above the main bed and dated furniture. To be fair the club lounge was actually nice!!
The cleaning of rooms however left an awful lot to be desired, the bathroom wasn't cleaned during our three night stay (think the cockroach we found may have frightened the cleaners off!!!) and the main area wasn't cleaned properly either (even after complaining on two separate occasions in person at reception!!).
Breakfast was poor and the worst of our 3 week vacation.
Overall would suggest seeking alternative accommodation in Singapore as there are much better areas and hotels.

Room Tip: Not cheap and there are much better alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chs-response, General Manager at Concorde Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear tim_linda_molli,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for taking the time to let us know of your experience at Concorde Hotel Singapore. We are sincerely concerned about your perception of our hotel, and are sorry to see that we fell short of your expectations.

We understand your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room, please rest assured that we have addressed this situation with the Executive Housekeeper, so that corrective action can be taken to prevent recurrence.

Your helpful comments are much appreciated, and your feedback will help us to improve the standard of facilities and services offered to all our Guests. We are grateful for your support and hope that this particular experience has not affected your positive views of the Hotel.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Singapore and allow us the opportunity to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back to Concorde Hotel Singapore in the near future.

Always at your service,
Leo Llambi
General Manager
Concorde Hotel Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Concorde is situated along Orchard Road, and so you are in a great location, with a variety of shopping malls and eatery outlets nearby. MRT station is just a short 5-10 mins walk (both to Dhobi Ghaut and Somerset). For the price you are paying, it is definitely cheaper than some of the other hotels along Orchard Road.

Gym facilities was good and wifi was provided free.

One thing to note though is that the walls and doors could be a bit thin, as we could hear the piano music, people talking and karaoke sounds from the lobby (our room faced the lobby). It didn't really bother us as the karaoke sounds stop by 11+ but it could be a problem for people who want to sleep early.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We regularly stay in singapore but across the road which was not cheap but was cheap and not good but so central
Concorde is fantastic value for money and still so central
We will be using this place for years to come, rooms were very quiete and service was brilliant-small issue was breakfast was packed out this may have been due to only one restaurant being opened Still we got in with a minimal waiting time and am sure it is not going to stop us staying again and again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our group of 3 shared a triple room, and even though there was a roll away bed, it proved to be extremely comfortable. The hotel is ideally located, and the staff demonstrate exemplary professionalism. Our room was well appointed with a large bathroom, although (and this is a gripe with so many hotels) the lighting was not adequate for reading. Our room backed onto the pool area but it was nonetheless very quiet and private.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 3nights to attend a training course. Lobby is impressive. I'm sure my children would love to ride the lift :)
Staffs are friendly.
Room was comfortable but the lights are dimmed. The toilet size is huge.
Location..it's convenient to everything - shopping, transport, and restaurants.
Food choices are good. The chefs are nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Concorde Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde Hotel Singapore

Address: 100 Orchard Road, Singapore 238840, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#66 Business Hotel in Singapore
#68 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#95 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Concorde Hotel Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located on the world famous Orchard Road and within the commercial and shopping district of Singapore, Concorde Hotel Singapore (former Le Meridien Hotel) is just minutes away from Suntec City, Marina South, The Esplanade, Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Chinatown and other major tourist attractions.The hotel's 407 rooms and suites have been designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. All the guestrooms are equipped with a work area and other modern amenities to ensure they provide guests with a satisfying stay in Singapore. Free Wi-Fi is also available to Hotel Guests in their rooms, in the lobby, by the pool, and other selected public areas. For an exceptional dining experience, our newly refurbished Spices Cafe presents an interesting mix of local and Western cuisine. The extensive menus will spoil diners with a wide variety of tantalising meat, seafood, vegetables and desserts. In addition, the hotel is also home to chill-out venues that have a wide selection of beverages and snacks.Be it a seminar, banquet, workshop, product launch, gala dinner, birthday, wedding, family reunion, dinner and dance or simply a business meeting in Singapore, we can offer unparalleled meeting and event facilities with our pillarless ballroom, ten other function rooms that can accommodate up to 800 guests as well as impeccable service.This Singapore hotel is situated only 25 minutes away from Changi International Airport by car or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Concorde Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Singapore
Singapore Concorde Hotel
Concorde Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concorde Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.