We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very caring ground staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Raffles Avenue, Singapore 039799, Singapore (Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Very caring ground staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was one of the organizing committee for my company's 2D/1N convention and D&D held at Ritz-Carlton this year. To be honest, I didn't have a good time working with the people assigned to help us make the convention and D&D a successful one. There were many delays and they weren't seem to possess that initiative and flexibilities I would have expected from a luxurious hotel which is legendary for its service.

Anyhow, my company's convention and the D&D went on quite well, and I have no complaints, but I wasn't "wow" by the services I received, until I came down sick the next day.

I was supposed to be having team-building with my company, but I was feeling so sick, I had to give it a miss. At 12pm, it was time to check-out, but I could barely get out of bed. I phoned the front desk and asked for late check-out as I was too giddy to walk. The front desk took a few minutes to check and called me back shortly, asking if I needed help or medical assistance and assured me that they had my room extended until 3pm.

I went back to bed, feeling very relieved that I didn't have check out immediately. About 45 minutes later, the door bell rang, I crawled out of bed and opened the door, thinking it was my colleague who had came to check on me, but it was two of the hotel staff, Mr. Afiq, whom I had spoke with earlier regarding the late check-out and an assistant manager, Ms. Riri. They knew that I probably was too weak to join my colleagues for lunch at the restaurant and had brought me some porridge and fruits so that I wouldn't go hungry. And they also told me to rest well and if needed, they would extend my stay to a later time.

With the food also came a 'Get Well' card signed by many of the staff in the hotel, wishing me speedy recovery in many different languages, I was very touched by this very thoughtful act of kindness. It had changed the way I think of the hotel just a day ago.

Ritz Carlton might not have the best people to deal with corporate events, but they certainly have the best ground staff that care for their guests beyond expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    461
    131
    64
    25
See reviews for
543
758
149
634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The place was far from hussle buzzle of marina bay sands or orchard road. Really close by from spor flyer and mrt station. The breakfast table were quite busy so dont go near closing time. We stayed at the jr suite and it was great, choose the one with view of the bay. My only suggestion was if you travel with elderly you might need taxi all the time. Though mrt was close by it was still far for elderly stand point. And if you come by mrt, know your map well or youll end up at the wrong mrt station as i did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A great weekend stay at Ritz-Carlton Millenia. Service is first class esp upon arrival. It has beautiful room with great bathroom and excellent comfortable beds and pillows. Rooms are spacious that you can fit two extra beds if you need to.

However, as perfect as the try to be, humans do err. We found the wall plug to the kettle was not working well and the bathtub shower did not have cold water and water pressure was low. I also suggest that the management install a hose bidet in the WC room for cleaning convenience.

Other than that, their service is prompt and great. For muslims travellers, they offer mussola and direction of the qiblat upon request.

The swimming pool is kinda old and nothing fantastic. it has warm jacuzzi near the pool and a cold jacuzzi as well. Price is very expensive and I dont think I would pay such high rate if it's out of my own pocket. Hotels nowadays are just pricing themselves overatedly everywhere in the world. I call upon all travellers be 3 star or even 6 star to be more prudent and do not support overpriced hotel operators.

There must be a regulation to contain hotel prices around the world. Make 5 and 6 star a standard affordable place where middle income society can afford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have stayed in top hotels in many cities and this Ritz Carlton must be one of the best ever.
The rooms are really outstanding in every respect. I will not describe all the reasons why here - you will not be disappointed. The personal service from the moment your taxi rolls up is a strong feature of this hotel. I also stayed at PanPacific across the street and there is a big gulf in class between the two. Rooms at Ritz are so much better in every way, and more elegant in a traditional classic way. The quality of this hotel and its staff impressed me.
If you want a top hotel in Singapore dont hesitate to book this one.

Some small down sides (which could not detract from the overall 5 star rating):
one poor meal which management dealt with admirably.
construction noise from morning to night coming from upper floors.
the bed - I guess it is old and has become a "U" shaped bed which sags in the middle...a big problem for those of us who have back problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My first experience with Ritz Carlton and what a surprise! I spent only two nights in Singapore and cannot wait to be back! Deluxe room with Marina Bay view is very spacious with fantastic bathroom, really comfortable bed and all amenities you may need... Not mentioning the view over MBS and the bay which is breathtaking! Especially by night directly from a bathtub :)

I was welcomed with a fruit platter and a small note from a guest recognition manager which was a nice touch (I guess that was because my company books Millenia pretty often).

Wi-fi was included in the room rate and was available in the entire hotel. When I had a problem to connect additional devices, I was provided with very professional assistance over the phone and after few minutes could connect successfully. After this nothing changed my good opinion about the service.

As for food, I usually take very simple breakfast but for those who are more demanding, the choice is really big so should meet everyone's expectations. On the other hand I had dinner outside so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: Go for Marina bay view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I wrestled with the decision to stay here or Raffles or Sands... I'm glad for us that we chose this Ritz. We enjoyed visiting Raffles its old world charm was beautiful yet its "charm" was not as comfortable for us and the Sands while spectacular, is so crowded I liken it to a Carnival Cruise. This Ritz had everything you need for comfort, perfect Ritz service. The breakfast was vast with many asian offerings and western ones well, everything was very well presented. The room its self had a double shower head for rain mode or more pressure. There are plenty of english channels. if I had to pick our remote battery or signal did not seem to work well but that could be "operator error" as well. The internet service (included) was fast and flawless. The art the surrounds you gives a special aura to the place. We walked to the Sinagpore Flyer , the tourist buses and to the Sands mall all are super close. The bed was very good with good selection of pillows etc. WE LOVED SINGAPORE! the people , the places, you will seldom find a safer, more honest, cleaner place in the world! with natural and man made beauty great restaurants we had a blast and we really appreciated coming "home" to the Ritz the peace was welcomed after our very full days. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: go for the harbor view room ... you need not have a high floor for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went for the annual Music Matters Convention, and as always the Ritz shows why they are among the best.
Breakfast was easy and great, Lounge kept my glass full, and the staff was cheerful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Get the Marina view. Its mesmerizing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Address: 7 Raffles Avenue, Singapore 039799, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#3 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Business Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes away from some of Singpaore's most iconic attractions including the Marina Bay and Singapore Flyer, The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore provides privileged access to one of the world's most vibrant cities. While the panoramic glittering views of the city skyline and Marina Bay invites exploration, the centrally-located hotel has some outstanding reasons for guests to stay in, ranging from the stellar collection of 4,200 contemporary art pieces including works by Frank Stella, Dale Chihuly and Andy Warhol, as well as the lush idyllic pool perfect for enjoying the tropical warmth at. Guests enjoy a multitude of shopping, dining and entertainment options at three shopping malls accessible via covered skybridge as well as public transportation options within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Millenia Singapore Hotel Singapore
Ritz Carlton Singapore
Ritz Singapore
Singapore Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.