We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off China UnionPay
Ranked #5 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Leigh-on-Sea
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had been aware from articles on the internet that this hotel was something special. We were not disappointed. The Shangri-La was pure elegance. Enormous, but with totally understated style. As we entered the gigantic lobby we were met by one of the many greeting staff, all of whom were tiny Malay girls in kimono style dresses. The colour of the dresses blended subtly with the area of the lobby where they were stationed. We were ushered to the reception desk, but as we gave our name, another girl in a black kimono, which seemed to signify some degree of seniority, glided up to us and informed us that we had been upgraded to be guests of the Hotel’s “Horizon Club”. She took us to the bank of lifts and accompanied us to a private reception area on the 24th floor, where she introduced us to yet more reception staff. We were advised that if we required anything at any time of the day or night, we should call that desk. We were shown the private “members” breakfast room, and also the members lounge, which was open all day. We were then shown to our Club Suite on the 22nd floor. It was enormous. There was even an office/study area with a semi-circular desk complete with a leather swivel chair. The outer wall was entirely glass from floor to ceiling, giving spectacular views over the city. I had begun to worry about the strain of manoeuvring the enormous volume of curtaining that hung at these windows, so I was extremely relieved to find a control panel by the bed from which the curtains, lights, and air-conditioning could be controlled electronically.
We took breakfast in the Horizon Lounge, which was excellent, and also ate in the Hotel's buffet restaurant called "The Line". This is an extremely modern facility which is totally at odds with the period charm of the hotel itself, but nevertheless extremely good. In fact last time I looked it had a Trip Advisor popularity rating of 6th out of 1600 Singapore restaurants.
We also enjoyed the huge lobby cocktail lounge where a singer accompanied by a small jazz combo performs each evening. As we relaxed in the huge leather chairs a young waitress came to take our order. She was wearing the standard kimono type dress as worn by other employees in the hotel, only it was a pale olive green which toned perfectly with the décor in the lounge, and it was slashed to the hip on both sides. When she returned with the order she did not bend down to place the glasses on the table. Keeping a perfectly straight back she bent her knees and slowly descended until she was kneeling on the ground. She placed the glasses on the table, rocked back very gently on her heels and rose to stand upright, again keeping her back completely straight. We were quite astonished. We sat at the table for some time watching the waitresses, who all performed in the same gymnastic fashion, regardless of the weight of stuff being carried on their trays. This extraordinary method of serving was unique to this Lobby Lounge.
On reflection I would say that the Shangri-La is undoubtedly one of the finest hotels I have ever experienced. The service was incredible without being obtrusive, the attention to detail was amazing. The carpets in the lifts had the day of the week subtly incorporated in their design. These were, of course, changed every day. On our last morning as we were leaving the room a cleaner appeared. We told her that the room did not need doing as we were checking out later that day. She said that we might be in the room until later in the afternoon so she must clean it for us.
We would unreservedly recommend this hotel, and very much hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,040
    538
    144
    57
    35
See reviews for
532
1,046
151
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in a Horizon Club Room for 3 nights at end of Dec and were v disappointed. The room was OK, no complaints. HOWEVER, the service within the hotel was pathetic. On the first morning, we went up to Blu where we were supposed to get our Club Floor breakfast only to find a queue of 10+ people as all the tables were taken. We were told that they had set up a small buffet in the Club Lounge and we should go there only to find the tables set for breakfast were all taken. We complained to one of the lounge assistants and they took us down to The Line for the buffet breakfast but it was not to be - the queue at The Line was enormous with 20+ people waiting to be seated. So back up to Blu was the best bet and half an hour later we sat down for breakfast. Once seated, service was again non existent when a glass of water ordered never arrived and there were no glasses left for orange juice at the buffet. SO, the lesson, we had to get up v early each subsequent morning to ensure we were first in Blu.

For the first eveing we wanted to book The Line for dinner as one of us is vegetarian and it was by far the best option. We tried to book at 8am and it was full so we then asked to book for the following night but it was full ALL night. After kicking up a fuss i.e. 5* hotel where we can't get breakfast or dinner the Club Lounge assistant got us a place at the restaurant albeit at an inconvenient time.

Our conclusions:
1. There are too many Club rooms for the Lounge or the facilities- virtually the entire Tower Wing seems to be Club rooms. We expect to be in a minority not the majority when on Club Floor i.e. top 2 floors only
2. The hotel as a whole does not have enough eating facilities or staff for the number of rooms.

Honestly this hotel gave the worst service we have ever experienced and we have been all over the world staying in everything from Private Game Reserves to 2* motels in the USA.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Shangri-la is fantastic, we stayed in the Valley wing (VW) over New year which has large suites, huge marble bathrooms etc, one of the best parts was the residents of the VW can have afternoon tea from 3 (plates of sandwiches, cakes etc) and then from 5ish they serve canapes and you can order drinks with either...and its all included, excellent value especially when travelling with two professional sleepers that only just make breakfast at 10.55 each morning (wife/child !), we skip lunch and eat at 3.
The Hotel facilities are all great from the pool to the most amazing breakfast buffet we've ever seen at 'The Line' restaurant.
It's well located as you can walk to Orchard road where there are loads of restaurants, bars, shops etc, the taxi's are all regulated and are good value for money.
We toured around and did most of the attractions in Singapore which I have to say is a fantastic city, dont miss the Sinagapore Flyer, the Megazip on Sentosa island (which is great in itself !) and the 'Jewel' restaurant on Mt Faber where you can get low price cable car tickets if eating there...great views, I'd recommend the Shangri-la and Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

ON the final leg on our honeymoon in asia and this was both of our first times to Singapore. Hotel good location for orchard rd but that is the only saving grace for the hotel. The staff are rude esp in the garden wing reception area, the manager especially has very poor communication skills, does not listen, interupts, tuts when you speak and is extremely rude. We were originally in the garden wing, upon entering the room it smelt of damp and there was even a humidifier in the room, I assume to try and mask the problem. The whole room looked like a 3 star motel in america and very outdated. There was even a plug socket on the wall that bwas not straight and upon inspection appeared to be styuck on the wall with tape or glue! We complained and were moved rooms, 8 hrs later after explaining the story to 3 people becasue the staff dont communicate and the manager in the reception of the graden wing cant be bothered to listen. Luckily the porters were more helpful! We were moved to the tower wing to rooms which were better,. Thwe showers could do with re-masticking as the black grout was disgusting but the rest of the room was ok. We didnt get a turn down service the 1st night and out chinese tea set that we were given to use as a honeymoon couple never was brought over frokm the original even after asking 3 times but the breakfast in the club floor served by the staff, esp Abigail, who was amazing! She was so helpful and polite. A real gem to this hote, helped to make up for the rest of the place. The breakfast in the Line rest, well what chaos, Not eneough staff, tables not cleared quickly resulting in customers having to queue for about 15 mins until they can eat! Clearly the hotel when at capacity cannot cope.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed for five nights over Christmas in the Valley Wing.

The rooms are superb - large, well appointed, excellent guest amenities and propably the largest bathroom in any hotel we have ever stayed.

Staying in the Valley Wing, which is one of three parts to the hotel, affords excellent added-extras like complimentary drinks in the private lobby area from 10am until 10pm, together with an excellent al la carte breakfast which again is set aside for the Valley Wing guests only.

The staff and service are both exceptionally friendly & efficient and always on hand to help with local advice on things to see & do whilst in Singapore.

The hotel itself is located just 5 mins walk, or a free shuttle bus, away from the famous Orchard Road. d
Despite this close proximity, the hotel has been. Cleverly designed around a stunning tropically landscaped garden and swimming pool that you could be on a far away resort.

We dined in the excellent Line restaurant on Christmas day, an amazing 16 station self-service restaurant with exceptional choice and flavours.

Overall, a fantastic Christmas break in a hotel that we would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at the Tower Wing for a week at Shangrila Singapore. Location is not too bad as it's away from the busy Orchard road. Shuttle bus service is a plus.
Stayed previously at tower and garden wing many years back. Well-maintained room considering it's about 10 years old since last renovation. Doorway to the alcove in tower wing is very dusty. Although we stayed on a non-smoking floor, there were obviously some idiots who smoked and the smoke got into our ac and along the corridor. Complained to the hotel and an ioniser was brought in to the rescue. Imagine the kids coughing the sneezing.
Most disappointing was our experience at the Line for breakfast. Average time to get a pot of coffee was 15 mins. Longest I had to wait was 25 mins! Totally ridiculous. How long do you need to brew a pot of coffee. In fact they should have all the pots standby every morning since it's breakfast time. Wrote a feedback to GM and receive no response. GM must response whenever a guest takes time to provide feedback (good or bad ones) since it's free feedback. It would show very well that indeed the hotel is interested in providing better service. I find it an irony that they always provide cards that read "we value your feedback" and don't response.

Sadly, this hotel will not have my business anymore. Will not recommend to any of my friends.

The raffles hotel sent an email to acknowledge and response to feedback within 24 hours. That's professionalism!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

i will recommend to anyone this is a great place looks like you are far way from city even it is 5 min by walk from the center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Cafe, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La's signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.