We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free U.S.S tickets!
Ranked #5 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Kigali
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Lovely Hotel, amazing breakfast buffet. Superb service and friendly staff.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,841
    493
    133
    53
    32
See reviews for
467
937
140
697
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

I have to tip my hat off to all the staff to thank them for our very memorable stay (with the one exception of a snotty hostess who didn't like us sitting down in the lobby rest area without buying a drink or a meal - please remedy management)

The brilliant concierge Johnny Hor, the super efficient bellboys, and the lovely hostess ladies casually drifting around the inner lobby area really do deliver the most personal of services making you feel part of the family. How they remember all the guests names is a mystery to me.

I also have to say the service we had when dining in the in-house Chinese Restaurant (sorry the name escapes me) were incredible.

Thanks also to the reception staff for the upgrade to the garden wing, good sized rooms in a quiet location, just what we wanted.

Many folk will I am sure find the location too far from the action, but transport is very cheap and sometimes it is highly desirable to escape the crowds and noise, particularly if you want a good nights sleep.

I cannot remember a single hotel we have visited which has offered such a vast selection of breakfast options - it is worth staying here for the breakfast alone.

Worth mentioning that the hotel hosted an evening event for a number of diplomats and other VIPs, if it is good enough for them........then it was certainly good enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Grt place with luxury away from crowd

  • Liked — Grt place with away from crowd.
  • Disliked — Bit away from Town,
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Shangri-La is just different from other five-star hotel, quite surroundings, first-class service and i love the fitness room. I am very precautious about the bathroom and i really could not find a hair. It is just lovely!!! Enjoy your stay

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We booked 4 rooms in this hotel through a cousin who apparently has often used this hotel for her business colleagues and associates. We were in Singapore for her wedding celebration and it turned out to be a perfect holiday.

Rooms had a very pleasant ambiance and were immaculately cleaned daily. Service staff were very friendly and alwasy helpful (nothing is too difficult for them). Some of the housekeeping staff had very little English but this was not a problem as we can always dial the hotel's Service Centre for requests.

Location is right in the city but we must walk a bit to Orchard Road. The hotel provides daily shuttles to Takashimaya and other shopping spots - great service with reliable timing.

Fitness centre and swimming pool were so nice: lots of sporting equipments, immaculately clean, pleasant ambiance, very helpful staff/attendants. The lockers are so clean; better than those in most city hotels we have ever stayed. Free internet access with high speed was a great plus.

We will come back to this hotel in our next Singapore trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I have been staying at the SHANG on and off since 1973. The old lady can still hold her head up mainly due to the amount of land surrounding the property. This gives you a feeling of being outside the hustle of the town. It was a great hotel 25 years ago but now has stiff competition, My desision to stay usually depends on what deals are on offer, the choice is great in singapore so its worth trying out new properties!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I really have mixed feelings about this property . The location is a major drawback.
The Hotel gives a feeling of being to large , like living in Grand central Station. This can be avoided by staying in the tower section , where the rooms are better as well.
The rooms otherwise are spacious , but decor and comfort level not up par with newer Shang properties elsewhere in Asia.
If you stay on the club level you will have access to the club lounge for breakfast in the morning and snacks and drinks during the day. The club lounge is very nice , actually one of the nicest in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.