We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here for six days with my family from Australia and everything about it was perfect. Location spot on for what we wanted. Service exceptional. Food was wonderful. The pool was gorgeous. In fact I can't say enough except to say I loved every minute of it. Will definitely be back again next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that your family and you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. Please know that your compliments are much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming all of you back next year!

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    498
    133
    53
    33
See reviews for
473
946
140
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was here on a 2-day business seminar at the Shangri-La Hotel recently. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from downtown Orchard. I was very impressed by the spacious lobby and the view of the beautiful swimming pool when I entered. This was a peaceful oasis surrounded by plenty of greenery that made me feel relaxed.

On both mornings, the staffs greeted me with plenty of smiles. It really helped to start my day well even though I was cooped up in the Orchid Room for most of my days. During tea breaks, the lady servers that I met were very thoughtful and showed great initiative to make us feel at home.

Lunch at the Line Restaurant was a pleasant affair. Even though it was a very busy time for the restaurant, I liked that the service was very prompt and friendly. I had no issues with the buffet spread even though I really enjoyed the salad bar and the desserts display.

I haven't had a chance to stay at the hotel yet. But I'm sure that given the positive experiences that I encountered, it would certainly be a joy for a nice staycation in future. Not all 5 stars property comes with great service. Shangri-La really impressed me with their great service.

Keep it up!

Seminar @ Orchid Room
4th - 5th August 2014

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. The friendly staff, the food, the pool and the rooms. Great experience at this excellent hotel and I would visit it to anyone staying In Singapore.
Everyone working at this hotel is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Jonas

Many thanks for your kind recommendation via Tripadvisor! I am happy to know that your family and you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. I look forward to welcoming all of you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Peopel in Shangri-la hetel is very kind. Especially horizon club exprience is very good. My family really love it.
If you plan to visit singapore, I stronly recommend this Shangri-la Hotel.
Horizon club is excellent.




  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your kind recommendation via Tripadvisor! I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. Please be assured that your compliments will be shared with my colleagues, especially the Horizon Club team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Food and service were brilliant and the hotel was very well maintained. The rooms however were a little bit dated and in need of a refurb, the carpets were faded, the beds and furniture were very dated. The pool area was lovely and the hotel is in a great location. Staff were very friendly and obliging.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed on a corporate plan last week at this hotel.

Hotel occupies a lot of area with lot of greenery outside and inside.

The location is little bit of an issue if you do not like walking. The nearest metro station is about 1-2 KM away. They run a shuttle every 1 hour and I always managed to miss it by 5-10 minutes so was not left with any choice but to walk to the station. Actually walking back to the hotel if you are already tired becomes an issue (it's not always clear from where you can get a taxi. there's a taxi stand little bit farther away from the station hidden on a side lane- here's a google map link showing the approximate location of the taxi stand- https://www.google.co.in/maps/place/1%C2%B018'20.1%22N+103%C2%B049'50.0%22E/@1.305598,103.830546,18z/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x0:0x0 ). They have not clearly indicated where the shuttle bus service will pick you up from on the Orchard Station. The Orchard station exits are by themselves pretty confusing for a new comer. Probably they should putup a map printout of the pickup location and increase the shuttle frequency.

Room was excellent. The stay was eventless otherwise except for 2 times when I called up the room service but nobody would answer the phone for around 20 minutes on any number. Probably they had a shift change or a call overload problem then. The operator did apologise when I pointed this out and said that she was busy. It was a nice stay otherwise in all respects. The gym is pretty well equipped. Saw the widest variety of breakfast of any hotel. The live music in the evening is pretty good. The view from my pool facing room was one of the best things about the stay with sun light streaming in the morning and beautiful landscaping to look at. The room service was quick and efficient.

This is certainly one of the best hotels I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Ashwani

Many thanks for sharing your feedback via Tripadvisor. While I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience in general, I am concerned by your comment about calls to Room Service. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can find out more details about your experience? My email address is: reto.klauser@shangri-la.com

Also, thanks for your observation on the pick up location at Orchard MRT station.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Shangri-La Hotel in Singapore was an extremely beautiful facility with outstanding customer service. The entire staff was very attentive to all needs with nice sized rooms, very clean, staff was amazing.


  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Dave

Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your Shangri-La experience. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards
Reto Klauser
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.