We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend deal w/ breakfast
Ranked #5 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Lima
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice and great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was attending a business conference. The hotel is quiet, has everything that you would expect from a hotel in this category. Apparently it has a free shuttle that will drive you to the main shopping road. Actually you can walk there but the way back is uphill for some 10min probably. ..but with the warm weather there... breakfast buffet was delicious. Food at the event wasn't. Rooms were spacious and nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay during the business conference, and breakfast at The Line.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,590
    440
    119
    47
    29
See reviews for
408
812
139
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We've stayed here 5 times over the last 7 years for a good reason, it is the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The Valley Wing fuses classic european style with the warm asian approach to service.

Rooms: The "basic" room is huge, with an enormous bathroom, dressing area, lounge area and all the facilities you could want - a recent change is that all the soft drinks in the mini-bar are now complimentary. A nice addition! The upgraded rooms bring double the space and butler service. The rooms are spotlessly maintained.

Breakfast: Served in the circular "Summit Room" overlooking the gardens, there is an overwhelming choice of food. The buffet has a huge array of pastries, fruit, cereals and cold meats, in another change since our last stay, there is now a 7 page (really) breakfast a-la carte menu to choose from, as ever the food is beautifully presented and delicious. Freshly squeezed juices and attentive service round out the perfect breakfast experience.

Champagne Bar / Lounge / Afternoon Tea / Canapes: From 11am there is an included bar for Valley Wing guests, you can get soft drinks, cocktails, champagne, wines, coffees, tea and depending on the time of day, high tea / canapes / chocolates / cookies. As ever very attentive service from the team, with some of the same faces year after year. The food as per breakfast has improved again since our last stay, so much choice and very moorish.

If you want to eat out, the staff are very knowledgable and can get reservations and transport arranged for you.

This is quite simply the best place to stay in Singapore and with it being a short stroll from Orchard Road - perfecly placed for shopping. Looking forward to our next stay already!

Room Tip: Higher floor affords a better view - however all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kris

Welcome back! Many thanks for your lovely review of The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. Please be assured that your praises will be shared with The Valley Wing team. I am delighted to learn that you have returned five times in seven years! This means a lot to my team and I - thank you again.

I hope to welcome you back again on your 6th visit!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have stayed at the ShangriLa Singapore countless times. I love it. The welcome, service, plantings, chandeliers, food outlets and high swimming pool. However, I was disappointed that the soft furnishings in my premium room was looking a little tired, my room did not have the folder with writing paper things in the drawer and there is peeling paint on the side of the exterior of the hotel. All remedial but has dropped my overall rating from five to four.

Room Tip: City views are more interesting rather than the pool view as you see over many miles of rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear guest

Welcome back! And thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can apologise to you in person, and at the same, find out more details for investigation? My email address is: manfred.weber@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed in Shanggri-La Hotel Singapore in 11/2013
Top luxurious rooms, very friendly staff, excellent service and very good location near Orchard Road.
Made my stay at Singapore a lasting Highlight among my travels.
Definately a recommendation to anybody seeking relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: Book Valley Wing for a more exclusive experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Chris

Many thanks for your recommendation! I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay at The Valley Wing, our ultimate sanctuary. It is also the preferred address for visiting heads of state, dignitaries and captains of industries.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Valley Wing soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely staff who upgraded us from the Tower rooms to the Garden Wing with interconnecting rooms. Service is amazing and the pool is heavenly. The rooms are beautifully fitted out with the most comfortable beds and pillows ever. It's the little things that make it special - self closing drawers, super fluffy towels etc.. The kids loved the self flushing toilets too ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jaine

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Tripadvisor! I am happy to learn that your family and you, especially the kids, have enjoyed your Garden Wing experience.

I hope to welcome all of you back to our hotel again!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed in a tower room for one night after long flight. The quiet light airy ambiance of this 5 star hotel was all you could hope for. Specially recommended is the breakfast buffet in "the Line" and the open air pool.
"The Line" restaurant buffet seemed a bit too lively in the evening after a long flight so the "Waterfall Cafe" provided a quiet alternative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Tower Wing, as well as dining experiences at The Line and The Waterfall.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here twice in November 2013 on separate occasions. Both times they gave us the tower rooms. These rooms are spotlessly clean, with great bedding and although near lifts, very quiet. The buffet breakfast is to die for, extremely well catered for.
I had a small problem with changing currency at the desk and certainly hope it is not common. I handed what I thought was $70 AUD to the cashier but soon realizing that two $50 notes were stuck together I separated them. I eventually handed over $70 (1 x $50 and 2 x $10). I then received $74SN in return.
Soon after we entered our room, this cashier attended and demanded another $50 as she stated I had only given her $20....that is 2 x $10 notes!! I complained to the duty manager that day but had nil reply until I asked next day. Another DM apologized but stated that the customer is always wrong...as he ignored my version totally.
Oh well, at least he gave me a free cup of tea!
That aside, the stay was enjoyable to say the least, but do take care when changing currency!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLSGM, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed both your visits to our hotel and breakfast at The Line. However, your experience while changing currency was highly concerning. May I please request that you contact me directly so that I can find out more details about your visit? My email address is: manfred.weber@shangri-la.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

With best regards
Manfred Weber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.