We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL NUMBER ONE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free U.S.S tickets!
Ranked #6 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“STILL NUMBER ONE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a 30 day cruise on the Seabourn Odessey (which finished in Singapore), my wife and I spent 5 days of R & R at the Shangri-La, Valley Section. It was the 5 days immediately prior to Easter 2013 when the weather was perfect, with very little rain.
Staff were great as usual and many remembered us from our 9 month previous stay.

My only gripe is that when we phoned from Perth to make our booking, we were quoted a price which did not include the taxes. This is a trap that we fall for in many countries.

Room Tip: If you are a returning guest, make sure you mention it. Try and get a room near the elevator...they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    497
    133
    53
    33
See reviews for
470
943
140
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was the first time that I stayed in the Shangri-La Hotel in Singapore. Early arrival in the morning, and got the room allocation very efficiently. Had a room with access to Horizon Club, and usually had breakfast there - very attentive service, and just the right choice and food quality to start the day with a pleasant experience.
The room was big enough to feel comfortable, and yet quiet as the hotel is surrounded by garden and from an upper floor there is no noise to hear.
Also used the Horizon Club in the afternoons, where usually from 6pm to 8pm snacks and drinks were served...a nice gesture to help winding down and starting the evening with a positive note.
Walking distance from the hotel to Orchard Road, with many restaurants and shops, thus perfect location for tourism or for business travelers. Will keep it in mind for a next stay in Singapore.

Room Tip: My upper floor room with view to the pool was just perfect, do not remember the number but believe i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Book this hotel on Agoda and took the Garden Wing offer, when we arrived we were offered Valley Wing for four luxury days....karpoong! Worth it!!!
The hotel is just off Orchard road and walking distance. Contemporary style with an opulent feel, apparently many VIP,s stay here because the security is good. Our offered room w 17 th floor, stately fitted and very spacious. The draw card was butler service in the dining room and the free flowing drinks and beautiful breakfasts and canoes at happy hour.
Pool and surrounds are clean and the staff were excellent, always polite with top service at every level.
Loved it ! ! DO IT AGAIN .

Room Tip: Take the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The thing about perfection is getting the small things right. Hithertoo this hotel for me was the ultimate in perfection but a recent visit flagged some divergence. I shall refrain from giving all the details (left with the management) but to be outstanding all staff and estate needs to be excellent at all times in all things. It remains an excellent place to stay, but will need to sharpen up to retain its pre-eminence. Great highlights remain The Line and the new Waterfall Cafe, both of which are a must to enjoy.

Room Tip: They are all good, but three style choices for exclusivity (Vallet Wing), a casual and outdoor mood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife, my son and I had a wonderful time in the valley wing under the care of the Shang staffs. We took the weekend package which consists of a room, dinner and breakfast for a very good price under their in-house promotion. I requested for a rose petals filled bathtub and some sculptured balloons which Thomas and friends theme. The balloons were sent into the room soon after we checked in and they provided two beautiful Thomas and friends balloons to much delight of my toddler son. At turn down, the rose formation was formed. A trail which was made up of roses lead one to the bathtub which had more roses in and around it. A 'I love you' was formed by the bathtub with roses. Absolutely brilliant and beautiful. A birthday cake was brought in with a card wishing me happy belated birthday. Another brilliance. All thanks to Lin Sihan and her team of fantastic GROs. Two thumbs up. Even though she's from a different wing, she still went out of her way to make our stay a stay which we will remember for a long time. A lost oasis which is found in many beautiful ways in the horizons of the orange grove hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent three nights here and upon arrival I upgraded to the garden rooms. The room enjoyed views over the swimming pool and palm tree area with a balcony to relax in. The quality of furnishings and fittings was top quality, with electrically operated blinds, nets and curtains. Even tho' located in an urban area, wildlife was in abundance. Waterfalls, ponds, carp, trees and birds surrounded the Garden wing. Remember to close the windows when you are not in the room to avoid a visit by the resident squirrels. Service, quality of food, both excellent. English spoken and understood in abundance. Free access to the business suite for internet access, and a well equiped gym were useful services. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for anyone at this hotel. I have stayed in 5* hotels back in the UK, but this knocks spots off them. No air of stuffyness.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the garden aspect, some may prefer the hotel 'tower' either way this will be a qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I first stayed at The Shangri-La Singapore over 20 years ago and while I've sampled most of the newer five star entrants to the Singapore scene, I keep returning to the outdoor tranquillity offered by this resort in the city.

The Garden rooms are still my favourite because of the large balconies overlooking the pool area. Even though the building goes back many years, the rooms have all been upgraded to a very high standard of luxury and elegance, in keeping with the quality of the Shangri-La group.

My most recent visit was a family occasion which required three rooms and guests arriving from different locations. The Guest Services people went out of the way to ensure everything was perfectly co-ordinated and that we enjoyed the stay...including complimentary upgrades and truly exceptional and very personalised service...a quality which is lacking in many hotels, but appears to be a significant priority at The Shangri-La Singapore.

If you need a relaxing place to stop over or a holiday in the city, this is the place. It does feel like being in a resort, but you are only a few minutes stroll away from Orchard Road. When in Singapore, you don't have to stay in a high rise glass tower with no balconies and no opening windows... The Garden Wing at the Shangri-La offers the perfect alternative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
#6 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.