We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley of Love” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258 350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy 15% discount
Ranked #5 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Valley of Love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife, my son and I had a wonderful time in the valley wing under the care of the Shang staffs. We took the weekend package which consists of a room, dinner and breakfast for a very good price under their in-house promotion. I requested for a rose petals filled bathtub and some sculptured balloons which Thomas and friends theme. The balloons were sent into the room soon after we checked in and they provided two beautiful Thomas and friends balloons to much delight of my toddler son. At turn down, the rose formation was formed. A trail which was made up of roses lead one to the bathtub which had more roses in and around it. A 'I love you' was formed by the bathtub with roses. Absolutely brilliant and beautiful. A birthday cake was brought in with a card wishing me happy belated birthday. Another brilliance. All thanks to Lin Sihan and her team of fantastic GROs. Two thumbs up. Even though she's from a different wing, she still went out of her way to make our stay a stay which we will remember for a long time. A lost oasis which is found in many beautiful ways in the horizons of the orange grove hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,116
    555
    151
    61
    36
See reviews for
555
1,088
151
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent three nights here and upon arrival I upgraded to the garden rooms. The room enjoyed views over the swimming pool and palm tree area with a balcony to relax in. The quality of furnishings and fittings was top quality, with electrically operated blinds, nets and curtains. Even tho' located in an urban area, wildlife was in abundance. Waterfalls, ponds, carp, trees and birds surrounded the Garden wing. Remember to close the windows when you are not in the room to avoid a visit by the resident squirrels. Service, quality of food, both excellent. English spoken and understood in abundance. Free access to the business suite for internet access, and a well equiped gym were useful services. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for anyone at this hotel. I have stayed in 5* hotels back in the UK, but this knocks spots off them. No air of stuffyness.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the garden aspect, some may prefer the hotel 'tower' either way this will be a qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I first stayed at The Shangri-La Singapore over 20 years ago and while I've sampled most of the newer five star entrants to the Singapore scene, I keep returning to the outdoor tranquillity offered by this resort in the city.

The Garden rooms are still my favourite because of the large balconies overlooking the pool area. Even though the building goes back many years, the rooms have all been upgraded to a very high standard of luxury and elegance, in keeping with the quality of the Shangri-La group.

My most recent visit was a family occasion which required three rooms and guests arriving from different locations. The Guest Services people went out of the way to ensure everything was perfectly co-ordinated and that we enjoyed the stay...including complimentary upgrades and truly exceptional and very personalised service...a quality which is lacking in many hotels, but appears to be a significant priority at The Shangri-La Singapore.

If you need a relaxing place to stop over or a holiday in the city, this is the place. It does feel like being in a resort, but you are only a few minutes stroll away from Orchard Road. When in Singapore, you don't have to stay in a high rise glass tower with no balconies and no opening windows... The Garden Wing at the Shangri-La offers the perfect alternative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel that is elevated by the top-level service. The staff were very attentive and helpfulk. The rooms were nice but felt a bit dated. The breakfast and lunch bufett was very big with quality food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I was upgraded to the Valley Wing. This is my second stay at the property having stayed in the Garden Wing last time. The Valley Wing feels like an elegant Parisian hotel -- think Ritz. The Garden Wing feels far more contemporary. Both wings are beautiful so it really comes down to your personal preference. The rooms in the Valley Wing are huge.

+ve

swimming pool and gardens are extensive and beautiful (this is the hotel I would stay in if I was in Singapore with my family and kids)

the hotel feels very elegant in the classic Shangri-La way

the breakfast buffet choice in the main restaurant was comprehensive although I preferred the a la carte service in the Valley Wing

-ve

it is a little bit of a walk to the MRT station which is a pain in the rain

the service can be hit or miss..on my first stay the service at the garden cafe at breakfast was woeful in terms of speed and accuracy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I admit I usually stay at the Shangri-La when I come to Singapore. But I will add that I also travel widely in Asia, Australasia, Europe and the Americas and feel I know a good thing when I find it. The Shangri-La Singapore is that good thing. It is fairly large, but the staff always make you feel really welcome and go that extra mile to encourage you to relax and feel at ease. The surroundings are opulent, very asian, and I never stop loving the choengsams and dresses with high slits - so elegant. How do they perfume the air with that signature scent?

There have been extensive recent upgrades around the pool area to smaller reception and conferencing facilities as well as the whole Garden Wing (which were being built during my last stay at the end of 2011). All very modern, asian, and smart. I usually try to go for a Premier Tower Horizon Club room. Huge (for longer stays), not too expensive if booked in advance for this grade of hotel, and the Club F&B can sustain you all day long in some style if you so wish.

Room Tip: City views from high floors are in fact more interesting than pool view as you have a very long view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Can't resist the top quality of the hotel and the large breakfast buffet each time I visit Singapore. This trip they where even more helpful to make sure I get a great breakfast I can have (gluten and dairy fee). The waiters are friendly and caring. The rooms are creatively decorated and the beds super comfortable. Love that Orchard Road is just walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258 350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#8 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano, offers Southern Italian cuisine focusing on handmade pastas and freshest seafood. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La's signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.