We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258 350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy 15% discount
Ranked #4 of 299 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

On our way back from Europe to Australia, and the Shangri-la's Horizon Club offered everything we needed for a luxury (almost) 24 hour stay on a Friday night, including and especially late checkout on the Saturday. The room could not have been more comfortable and the view magnificent.The Club breakfast and facilities were excellent, as was the pool. The staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful. Thank you to Sylvester who extended our check out time further, as we were feeling fairly fatigued and this meant we could go direct to the airport without having to kill time. Only thing we missed out on was the complimentary cocktail as we arrived too late at the hotel, and I would say for international travellers at the Horizon Club a voucher would be the fairer way to go rather than applying a time limit. Everything at the hotel was perfect. The Chinese restaurant staff were very helpful as we arrived very late in their dinner schedule and were glad of the quiet space compared with the rather noiser Line restaurant. It was a fine dinner. My family will be trying out the Rasa Sayang in Penang in January and I am hopeful that the Shangri-la experience will be of the same standard. Simply the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    566
    152
    61
    36
See reviews for
569
1,111
152
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I had a bad stay at another hotel so I changed to stay at Shangri la Hotel last minute. All staff are nice and friendly, the room is good and quiet. The buffet breakfast has a lot of variety and I went for a spa as well, it was relaxing.
If I really have to find something to comment would be a bit far from Orchard road, the free shuttle bus only till 8pm and I couldn't find a taxi at night around 9:30pm and no taxi at all even I wanted to call one. At the end I walked for 15 minutes back to the hotel... It would be great if the shuttle bus lasts a bit later, other than that everything is perfect

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Families of two adults and two children booking this hotel should be aware that although the rooms are sold as suitable for families of four, in reality they provide only beds for three. I recently attempted to book either a Horizon Club Premier room, or a Valley Wing Deluxe. I was assured by the hotel that both of these rooms were suitable for 2 adults and 2 children.
On seeking the best price online I was also able to find these rooms advertised as available and accommodating 2+2 guests on several discount websites. However, before booking I gave the hotel a quick call to check which of these two rooms would be more suitable for us.
It turns out, that rooms advertised as fitting 2 adults and 2 children have a king bed (or two large singles 96x186cm) and an additional rollaway single bed. It is assumed that the two children will share this single bed or one child will share the king with the adults. I was told by two different staff members (one at worldwide reservations, one at the hotel itself) that this was the case. Whilst this may be fine for toddlers, it would certainly not be suitable for my 9 & 11 year olds who are far too tall to fit into a single rollaway bed together.
I am bewildered how a hotel can sell a room as suitable for four and then only provide beds for three? If you are a family of four with older children please bear this in mind.

Room Tip: If you are 2 adults and 2 children you need to book 2 rooms or share a king bed with your child. See...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Shangri-la's are very predictable as in the quality is as what you would expect. Hence no qualms from me. The lobby was spectacular, with very prompt and accurate check-in. My luggage was handled properly and timely. The room I got was a little old but well kept. On the overall, a good business hotel which is able to meet your needs.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Was there in Shangri-la hotel for a day. Had high tea with spouse at their Lobby Court. We were greeted by service staff at the table, and given the menu. To cut the story short, the Chinese wait staff, who was less proficient is English, that communicated the details of the high tea incorrectly to us. We were puzzled that high tea dishes were free-flow but beverages were not. Nevertheless, another wait staff came along later with very good English to inform us that beverages were free-flow. Not to nick-pick the service, but this should never happen in a hotel with high quality of service level.

After the high-tea is done, we went to have a stroll in the garden wing, and were bitten by mosquitoes during the few minutes we were there. Again, this would not happen if the maintenance team had performed good mosquito control in the wing. We had several mosquito bites on the face and neck, and we would not want to come back here again in view of this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed from 10th to 12th November as a stop over to Australia. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Our room was a tower twin deluxe. The room was just lovely with all you would need for a perfect stay with nice views over the area. The public areas of the hotel were also great and the staff just couldn't do enough to make the stay better. Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Any rrom would be good as they all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Kuoni booked us into the Shangri-la, Singapore and we think it was the perfect choice. We were in the Valley Wing and the room was large and well furnished, with a King size bed, settee, table, desk and dressing table. A seperate area included the wardrobes and had a seat - useful when changing shoes. The bathroom had a tub and a walk-in shower and double wash basins. There was also a seperate toilet. Internet access is complimentary

The Valley Wing is the quiet area of the hotel, with a reception and lounge area. When we arrived, a receptionist came with us to our room where she checked us in. My wife was presented with a beautiful Orchid. Our room price included breakfast which was taken in the Summit Room restauant. A buffet allowed the choice of fruit, cereals, etc and this was followed by a choice of main course from the extensive menu. The meal was beautifully, freshly prepared. The waiters were very attentive and remembered your name from the day before - nothing was too much trouble and they would serve the whole meal to you if you wished.

We were impressed by the complimentary delights served throughout the day in the Valley Wing Lobby Champagne Bar. Light snacks, afternoon tea, canapes as well as champage, wine and other drinks were provided. One the day we left, whilst sitting for a time awaiting our transfer, the waiter brought sandwiches, scones and cakes (high tea) - all with the hotel's compliments.

The hotel also has a Tower Wing. This is more of a holiday part of the hotel, with many children and a noisier restauant. We thought, allowing for the complimentary items we received, and the quiet ambience of the Valley Wing, our travel agent had made the best choice in what several local people said was the best hotel in Singapore. Although away from the noisier centre it was easy to get a bus or taxi nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258 350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Ristorante Italiano, offers Southern Italian cuisine focusing on handmade pastas and freshest seafood. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La's signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.