We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

staning hotel. they really made me feel like a king. excellent rooms. very spacious. i was there for my honeymoon and i enjoyed every minute spent in the hotel. i will go back to singapore just for the sangri-la.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    498
    133
    53
    33
See reviews for
473
946
140
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in the Valley Wing for three nights en route to Indonesia. The service here is exceptional and consistent. Even the smallest room is huge, well furnished and very comfortable. Lots of nice touches, fresh orchids, fruit and best of all, very quiet. Bathroom was again, huge and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was included in the tariff and was very good as were the complimentary drinks of an evening. Expensive but worth it and everything that a Shangri-La should be. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is quite pretty-and the grandeur is quite something as you enter the lobby. I stayed in the tower wing which had a lovely room(a bit dated) but it was clean and comfortable. Lots of great amenities and coffee/tea and a turn down service. I went for a conference, and the facilities were also great. a Chi spa is opening later this year for those that really want to treat themselves.

Food at the "Line" restaurant is great if you are starving - its a MASSIVE buffet which has amazing options, and you will want more...the laksa at lunch was great as was the dim sum selection.

Location: it is a little far from the MRT, so I took taxis which were easy to find at the hotel. All in all a good experience!

Room Tip: tower wing room 719 has a view of the city - not bad! quiet to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When traveling for business, the Shangri-La, Singapore is a great choice. The customer service is hard to beat, and while the sleeping rooms are a little outdated, it's a great hotel for the price you pay. The MRT on Orchard Road is about 10-15 minutes from the hotel, which makes the city easily accessible for hotel guests. Overall, the property was a great choice, and I would recommend it. The breakfast buffet is a MUST DO. There are so many choices for everyone, regardless of your preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had not intended to write this review after my check-out but I was so traumatised by the stay, which explains why it took me so long to finally write this review.

Check-in for hotels is typically between 2pm to 3pm. I arrived at the hotel for check-in at 7+pm which ought to have my rooms ready. It wasn't. I was left there standing for a good 15 to 20 minutes while the staff try to get a room for me. Then I was pointed to a general direction that is supposedly the way to the lift. No one guided me and I had to find my own way to the lift to reach my room after a whole tiring day is not very happening for me.

When I finally reach the room, I had a housekeeping staff running in behind me to place the welcome amenities, my reservation is not a last minute booking, isn't my arrival on their system? How come the welcome amenities isn't already in the room?

I had wanted to use the washroom and to my horror, the toilet bowl has been used by someone to clear their bowels and not flushed!!! Did anyone clean this room?!?

I tried to call the front desk to ask for someone to come and see for themselves, and the telephone operator kept hanging up on me. In the end, I went down to the front desk to ask to speak to either the Duty Manager or Front Office Manager. The Manager is missing in action, and I was kept standing like a fool in the lobby waiiting for the staff to located their missing manager.

Was seriously contemplating leaving for another hotel, when the manager finally arrived. She offered to move me to another room. Fine, I guess I can go have a drink/dinner while they arrange for my move.

When I went back to front desk much later I find myself having to explain my previous ordeal all over again as apparently the staff now manning the counter has no idea what happened to me earlier. I had to stand there another 10 to 15mins for them to sort things out.

The next morning, when I was leaving my room to check out. I heard this woman shouting from the other end of the corridor, is this really a 5 Star hotel when they allow their staff to shout at the top of their voice on guest floors? I shudder.. anyway, I went on to the lift landing. While waiting for the lift, the shouting housekeeping staff was still shouting and I finally realized that she was yelling at me in mandarin wanting to know if I'm going to check out now. My goodness! What kind of hotel is this?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed here several times on business, and found the hotel to be excellent on all fronts. The quality of the rooms and furnishings is very high, service is incredible and the food is very good. The breakfast buffet is the high point, with an incredible array of foods to choose from. The are always smiles on the faces of the service staff, and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel all the time....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

As a purveyer of smaller, boutique hotels, I was skeptical to stay at the Shangra-La but I acquiesced to my husband's request. I'm glad we did as we had a wonderful experience. I was concerned it may be a bit run down since it is an older hotel, but our rooms were modern and the common grounds were beautifully maintained. We had breakfast in the Line Cafe; it was a buffet full of variety and was so delicious. The Waterfall Cafe was an excellent dining experience. We sat outside and had the buffet if appetizers with a glass if wine. Normally I cringe at the thought if buffets but these were so tastefully done, that I didn't mind. The afternoon tea in the lobby was also delightful and we enjoyed people watching as well as the nice atmosphere. The location of the hotel was great. It was a little pricey but worth it. It served as a great landing pad after our 30 hour travel day from the US.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.