We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free U.S.S tickets!
Ranked #5 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2008

On walking into the Shangri-La after our flight and cab ride we were immediately at peace. The aura of the place is one of calm and quiet (a few days before Christmas!). Wonderful Christmas tree and subtle decorations too.

Recommend spending the cash and taking the buffet breakfast in the main restaurant. Every possible food you could imagine was available and presented superbly. Could have spent most of the morning sampling things! Spent the day relaxing by the massive pool, which was great fun for the kids.

Booked a room in the older garden wing (I think this is what it was called), and whilst was evident it was older, the room was comfortable, clean and took the 4 of us (2 kids) easily. Large bathroom too.

Did not feel that was in the middle of Singapore as the hotel is located in a lush and green part of town within walking distance of Orchard Road.

Booked this hotel as a treat and as we wanted a break on a long trip, to relax, unwind and take it easy. Hotel met all of this and despite paying a touch more than other hotels did not mind as we did feel away
from it all.

  • Liked — Feel of calm and quiet
  • Disliked — Service in the restaurant was patchy.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,843
    494
    133
    53
    33
See reviews for
467
940
140
698
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

Wow - What to say !!! Stayed for 3 nights before flying on to Sydney. We had booked a Horizon Club Deluxe room and were looking forward to just staying at The Shangri La. From the time we arrived in our limo to the entrance of The Shangri La to our departure we had been transported to a different world. We were greeted personally by a young lady who took us to reception to be told that we had been upgraded to The Valley Wing. From here we were taken to The VW and again greeted by another beautiful young lady welcoming us and presenting me with gift of a boxed orchid. From reception we were taken to our room on the 17th floor (with balcony) for our private check in. The room was fabulous, classic in design & sumptuous furnishings/bedding. Off the bedroom was a dressing room and bathroom/walk in shower/twin sinks/bath with TV/sep toilet+bidet. Towels, toiletries and robes were renewed twice daily. The room was turned down in the evening and a boxed hand made chocolate left with a quote from The Lost Horizon. Apart from the complimentary fruit etc in the bedroom we had privileges of complimentary champagne/snacks/high tea/canapes throughout the day ( when we were there). We had our breakfast at The Line although should have gone to private Summit Room. Swimming pool & surrounds very relaxing. Have never experienced such luxury in a hotel stay before and long to return BUT would we have the luck to be upgraded again!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

Stayed at the Shangri La for 2 nights on our way back to the UK from Bali. Perhaps we had been spoiled at the Oberoi in Bali where we had had a fabulous villa with our own pool - total privacy, everything was just perfect. Arriving in Singapore was quite a shock to the system!

Our stay didn't start off well when we weren't collected at the airport by Tour East. Had to wait an hour and a half! But of course, this wasn't the hotel's fault. When we got to the hotel the staff were very pleasant, although one felt it was rather 'corporate speak', very well rehearsed. We were taken to our Garden Wing room which was very nice, although I felt the bathroom was rather small. However, as someone else said, the white paintwork on the outside of the balconies was badly in need of a clean or a new coat of paint.

Our stay was fine - breakfast in The Line was fantastic, as was the buffet dinner there on our second night. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The main problem was on checking out - we had a voucher from Kuoni confirming 2 nights accommodation with breakfast - so we expected only to pay for the dinner on the second night. The hotel had been given a copy of this voucher on our arrival. My husband was duly presented with a bill for 2 nights stay, 2 breakfasts, dinner and $64 for 'telephone calls'. Of course my husband disputed this and the accommodation charge was quickly deleted. However, they said the telephone charge was for 'internet use'. We didn't have our pc with us and hadn't touched the phone for anything at all! The charge was grudgingly taken off the bill and we paid what we had expected to pay. However, my main grouch was that there was not a single word of apology from the reception staff about their error.

This marred what had been a perfect holiday up to then - it left a rather bitter taste in the mouth, so to speak. Would I stay there again? I know my husband would flatly refuse - but I think I would give it another go.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Due to flight delay had to cancell room at the hotel. Had travel agent cancell & re book my trip. Unfortunetly the hotel is still trying to chagre me for two nights stay!

Even their reservation staff emailed that "they could not waive the cancellation fee for two nights and that I should contact the airline for reimbursement".

I will never recommend this hotel again, even after staying there several times for business! Their arrogance is unbelievable and not business friendly!!!!

  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed in the Valley Wing as a stop over to Sydney. We were dropped by the taxi at the wrong entrance, however it was not a problem as we were personally escorted to the Valley Wing. Check in was a breeze particularly after a 14 hour flight. Everything was wonderful from the room to the service in the lounge, champagne and service was great.

The only thing to be aware of is buffett in the restaurant, It is good value if you are very hungry however can be expensive if you are not very hungry.

  • Liked — The overall friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

I have traveled with my family (wife and 2 kids) around South Asia for 2 weeks, and decided to spent the last 3 days in Singapore in a 'quality' hotel as a treat. -my mistake-

We stayed in the 'Garden Wing' overlooking the pool. The room was large enough, but overall looked quite dated. phone didn't work properly (old) and had problems with lighting. (enterance light worked intermittantly and reading lamp needed replacing)

Overall the food was average and when dining at the poolside, (x2) the food kept ariving without the sauces or dips. The pool was large and the kids loved it, however the contant noise from nearby construction sites gets on the nerves quickly.

The 'Line' was good, but not cheap. Best to eat out.

Room Service - This was always slow, compared to all other hotels we stayed in. The longest wait was 1 hour for 2 kids meals ordered at 9pm.

On one occasion I rang room service for a bucket of ice, only to be told they couldn't talk to me and would ring me back(!?!?) .This has never happened to me in any other hotel I have stayed in before. I contacted the front counter to express my annoyance/amazement but was simply told the issue would be passed on to management. Room service finaly called back about 15 minutes later - no apologies or explanations.

My advice to other travellers is stay somewhere else. At SG$550 per nite (++ taxes, fees etc) I feel this hotel is way overpriced for what it offers. Many other hotels in Singapore can provide better for around half the price.

I chose this hotel based on reviewes from this site and others. Will be more sceptical in the future.

  • Liked — nothing stands out
  • Disliked — value for money. Room service.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

I've used Tripadvisor for 5 years now and it's NEVER let me down....until now.

We stayed in the Garden Wing and i have to say it all felt very dated. The room itself was "OK" but the bathroom looked old fashioned and the whole balcony area, front doors and the general presentation looked very tired. The walls of the garden wing were a very off-white and badly in need of a new paint job. Funnily enough, on our last day we noticed they had started doing just that. The food was very good with lots of selection but on our final day (a Saturday) we were horrified when we went down to the restaurant to get a table only to be told they were fully booked! We couldn't believe that as guests of the hotel we had to book a table! The gym was quite good and the pool was of a decent standard but the other major issue we had was the location of the hotel. It's a good 15 minute taxi ride to the city centre so if you're only staying in Singapore for a short period of time I wouldnt recommend this hotel. Furthermore, it's not cheap and i didn't feel we got value for money.

Would not stay here next time.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Singapore

Address: 22 Orange Grove Rd, Singapore 258350, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Singapore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#3 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#6 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 747
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently ranked as one of the top luxury hotels in Asia and the world, Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore is where the legendary hospitality of Shangri-La first began. The hotel, which sits amid 15 acres of luxuriant gardens and greenery, is a short stroll from the main entertainment and shopping belt of Orchard Road. This luxury hotel in Singapore comprises 747 luxury guestrooms and suites in three distinctive wings: the contemporary Tower Wing, the nature-inspired Garden Wing and the exclusive Valley Wing. There are also 15 acres of landscaped gardens, which is home to numerous plant and flower species, as well as a large school of luminous red and gold Japanese Koi residing in ponds filled by tumbling waterfalls.Inspired by nature, there is a daily Tai-Chi demonstration with a Tai-Chi master and Koi feeding ceremony by a Koi Master, in the Atrium of the new Garden Wing.A wide range of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including the newly-opened CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, 24-hour gym, a Jacuzzi, a sauna and steam room. Guests have the option of a game of tennis or having a swim in the freeform pool. There is a 3-hole golf course for putting practice.The hotel houses several dining outlets for great culinary experiences. From classical Japanese kaiseki at Nadaman to international favourites at The Line and the best of authentic Cantonese delicacies at Shang Palace, guests will enjoy excellent meals and ever-attentive service. A new dining concept, Waterfall Café, offers creative yet healthy cuisine. Guests can also relax with high tea served at The Rose Veranda which features 164 varieties of TWG teas, sip a Cheongsam, Shangri-La’s signature cocktail, in the Asian-inspired Lobby Court or savour premium wines amidst panoramic city views at BLU Bar.All guests will have access to the peaceful gardens, large free-form pool and world-class dining options. Guests will also enjoy signing privileges at the nearby Traders Hotel, Singapore and Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort on Sentosa Island. A business centre with internet and meeting room facilities is available for the convenience of the business travellers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.