We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thoroughly enjoyable hotel to stay at. We spent 3 nights there and after arriving late the staff looked after us amazingly. The hotel is a short walk to Orchard Rd with some amazing underground shops. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The only down for us was the fact that they were renovating the upstairs, which we were told about when we checked in. That said, I was shown the new rooms after they'd been renovated and they look brilliant, I can't wait to come back and stay in the new rooms.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    855
    337
    64
    40
See reviews for
283
659
166
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a few nights on our way to Melbourne. Very good hotel, lovely food and staff. Had the Sunday special, quite expensive but well worth it. unfortunately, the hotel was being renovated and there was no access to above the 5th floor when we visited so our room did not have the best of views. Had a few hours round the pool, lovely after the humidity of Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was our first stay in Singapore, and we weren't disappointed. Upon arrival, the first thing I noticed was how immaculately clean it was. In addition to the friendly, professional staff I was impressed. The bedrooms weren't the biggest I've been in, but very comfortable and decent for a hotel so close to the city centre. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which was pretty good (excellent coffee)- there's a good range to suit all appetites from Asian, Indian and western. The hotel also has a lovely pool area with lots of loungers and conveniently close to the bar. Also on site is a tidy fitness room with lots of treadmills, resistance machines and some free weights. It takes about 10 - 15 mins to walk to the nearest MRT and the start of Orchard Road, but we discovered on the last day that the hotel has a free shuttle service into town. There is also a bus stop right across the road where you can catch the various sight seeing tour buses.
If I'm ever in Singapore again I'll definitely look this place up.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although the renovation program is still a work in progress, Hotel Jen is showing promising signs. The staff are polite and professional, with an obvious positive energy. The yet-to-be-upgraded rooms are showing their age, but based on the noise coming from the upper floors the makeover effort is well underway. No doubt it is a big challenge to give this traditional hotel a new, younger face but I wish the management team and their staff good fortune in their endeavours.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. Super clean and very comfortable beds. The staff speaks impeccable English. They are very friendly and help you with whatever you need. The included breakfast buffet is incredible and truly has something for everyone, even the Americans. We had dinner there one night and it is amazing. There is every kind of food that you can imagine. You are never rushed and you are made to feel very welcome. It is conveniently located and has a connecting mall that includes a food court and a grocery store. It is within blocks of the quite popular Orchard Area. The botanical garden is walkable and the bus stop is directly across the street. Taxis are always available outside the door. The pool area is lovely and provides a relaxing place to spend the afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the 4th story pool are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is really a value for money hotel with excellent service. In the area surrounding Orchard road we could not find a better deal. It is by no means a budget hotel, the beds and duvets were so comfortable and all the extras were there, iron and ironing board in the room, block out curtains, choice of different pillows types, etc.
Check in and service is so quick. We had no complaints at all.
Stunning big pool (I think unusual for this built up part of Singapore)
Easy walk to Orchard Rd as well as the botanical gardens.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to stay again.
Construction in upper floors of hotel currently but was warned about this when we booked and when we checked in. It was only during the day til 7pm when we were out so didn't bother us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was called The Traders and now the Hotel Jen. This is included in our package from London to Tasmania and we do a three night stopover. Comfortable rooms and large double bed. Tea making facilities in the room and the electric outlets for plugs for your mobile and hair curlers are all English! Excellent restaurant for breakfast and dinner and do take swimming gear for the pool which is brilliant. Very near bus routes for the city and within walking distance of the very lovely Botanic Gardens. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Address: 1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#59 Family Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore is within walking distance of Singapore's famous Orchard Road and the serene Botanic Gardens. It's just 25 minutes from Changi International Airport. The hotel is connected to Tanglin Mall, with shops, restaurants, a supermarket and food court. All guestrooms have been stylishly designed with an array of facilities for the busy executives and leisure travelers. There is also a wide choice of cuisine and for the health-conscious, it offers a fully-equipped fitness center and 30-meter outdoor pool. Hotel Jen Singapore is all about comfort and simple pleasures for the traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Singapore
Singapore Traders Hotel
Traders Singapore
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.