We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at Traders Hotel for 5 nights in October. Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too hard for them to do. They offer a free shuttle bus to Orchard MRT (approx a 15 min walk away), however on one occasion this bus was full, so instead of having to wait an hour for the next shuttle (or walk) they offered a free taxi (cost reimbursed by hotel). They also opened their Business Centre on the weekend (when it is normally closed) just so I could print my flight boarding pass.
For a few days I was working from the hotel room and had a "do not disturb" sign on my door until 5pm - therefore not expecting my room to be cleaned. The moment I left the hotel room this was recognised as always upon my arrival back, often only gone for 1-2 hours, the room was immaculate. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, from the impeccable service to the luxuries like lovely towels and sheets. Location is perfect also, away from the hussle and bussle of Orchard Rd yet walking distance to MRT/ main road. I believe this hotel perhaps caters more for the business traveller (as opposed to families) - making the pool side great and relaxing with minimal people and no kids. Top choice for a Professional solo traveller : )

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    816
    319
    61
    37
See reviews for
259
623
161
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Traders Hotel Singapore is a most friendly and efficient hotel. Felt secure and happy in the hands of the staff. Every wish catered for - excellent front desk service - queries and information all followed through expertly. Kelvin front door always a smile and only too happy to help. Breakfast good staff attentive when needed. Very happy atmosphere whilst maintaining excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I only stayed a night at Traders and the reception team was very helpful and polite. I can't say the same for concierge and restaurant staff. They could have been more polite when speaking to guest. This is quite disappointing coming from a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TATHS, Manager at Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear frequenttraveller617

Greetings from Traders Hotel, Singapore and thank you for your valued feedback.
Kindly contact me direct via email: wailing.wong@tradershotels.com as we wish to address your comments regarding your recent stay.

Yours sincerely
Wong Wai Ling
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff very welcoming after a 13 hour flight. Great options for those arriving and leaving at odd times. Free early check-in and late check out option at very reasonable cost. We joined the "Traders Club" on advice of the desk clerk and for a small fee had great extras.

Room Tip: Great view from the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very satisfied with Traders, where we stayed three nights. The location is excellent, in a "green" area and a short walk to the Botanical gardens, which is a most rewarding experience. Orchard road too is close by. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well attended by the room staff. The breakfast buffet is very good as is the service in general. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable - they know what they are bout.
I must especially mention the service from the front desk. We had many requests of them during our stay as we had not visited Singapore for many years and did not know the ropes. They were unfailingly polite, helpful with valuable suggestions, so efficient and very very good to deal with.
Traders is good value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lede, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very nice hotel, good staff, very helpfull.
I stayed there for 5 nights during a business trip in Singapore. The hotel is clean, comfortable and is excellent located, just walking distance to Orchard Road.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and whenever there was something to complain about, they immediately took care of it. A/C in my room didnt work proper, 5 min. later somebody came and fixed it.
Breakfast buffet was outstanding, loads of different food stuff. European style, English Breakfast and Asian food, you name it they have it. If you dont like to stay for dinner in the hotel, there are plenty of oppotrunities in 15 - 20 min walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is my second time with traders hotel this year.

The service provided by the staffs are excellent. Very attentive and friendly.

However, noted that the hotel is aged and not very well maintained. Also, the hotel system needs to look into as my booking has not been updated for the 2 times I was there and it ended up spending a lot of time locating my booking and the allocated rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TATHS, Manager at Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Happy6683

Greetings from Traders Hotel, Singapore and thank you for your review.
We value your feedback and your comment regarding your booking concerns us.
Please contact me direct via email: wailing.wong@tradershotels.com in order for
us to obtain the necessary information and update our system for your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Wong Wai Ling
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Address: 1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#47 Family Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#63 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Singapore is within walking distance of Singapore's famous Orchard Road and the serene Botanic Gardens. It's just 25 minutes from Changi International Airport. The hotel is connected to Tanglin Mall, with shops, restaurants, a supermarket and food court. All guestrooms have been stylishly designed with an array of facilities for the busy executives and leisure travelers. There is also a wide choice of cuisine and for the health-conscious, it offers a fully-equipped fitness center and 30-meter outdoor pool. Hotel Jen Singapore is all about comfort and simple pleasures for the traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Singapore
Singapore Traders Hotel
Traders Singapore
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.