We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a short but good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Traders Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Traders Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Melbourne, Victoria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a short but good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tough this is not my favourite hotel I have stayed in during holidays in asia, it was equipped with everything you need to relax, like comfy beds Andy a pool, and the foyer is visually nice to look at.

It is a short walk from orchard road, with lots of food places on the corner, including the hard rock cafe in the same street as the hotel. Unfortunately after a long day out in Singapore, walking back from the station down on orchard road, the short walk feels like an eternity, but on the whole, it's still a good location for everything on orchard road.

The hotel is attached to another shopping mall, where there is shops selling DVDs, clothes, toy shops, restaurants (such as Nandos, Thai and Indian), take away food shops, cake and dessert shops and a super market.
The pool was nice and the was never more than ten or so people swimming at the one time. We also enjoyed the spa.
The one thing that was negative for us, is when we got there and we were tired from travel, there was mix up with our rooms, as we had specifically booked for adjoining rooms, and they had actually given us two rooms on different floors. That took a while to figure out but once it was figured out we were fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    751
    295
    55
    34
See reviews for
244
564
155
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked Traders Singapore for a shopping getaway for 7 days since its proximity to Orchard. We were very impressed of their service. We had booked through booking.com for only deluxe room stay but upon arriving, the receptionist offered an upgrade for a club room with breakfast and access to Traders Club services like daytime beverages and happy hour at Traders Club Lounge. We took it but it was not too longer that we realized that the club room is pretty much similar to Deluxe and I could not use the club services and breakfast since i had morning sickness! So after an hour or so, we called up the front desk and asked for the reversal. They didn't have any issues and weren't indifferent. They promptly took our request and transferred to 8th floor. Just that our monies were blocked in the card which we could not use up for the shopping though it did get cleared after a week or so.

It didn't stop there, we had some trouble staying in the 8th floor due to some construction happening above our floor so we again asked for a change in the room. The staffs were very courteous and moved us to a different floor where we didn't have any problem. The rooms were usual business-styled, comfy beds with pretty good amenities. The room service was good and the food tasted nice. Since we had lived in Singapore before, moving around the place was pretty easy. It is indeed bit far off from actual Orchard shopping malls but the public transport was always handy.

Overall for a place like Singapore, the service is pretty good in this hotel. Worth a stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Seven day stay. Room rates are not inexpensive, but this is Singapore and just about everything costs more. The basic room is on the small side. It is fine with single occupancy. Would be a tad tight with your spouse along. Bathroom is very small, but again, just fine if it is just you. Closet space might be tight with two in the room as well. Desk in room + one sitting chair. Flat screen TV, with generally poor channels - but this is also common in Asia - and I did not fly half way around the world to watch TV. Water kettle and some tea bags in room. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board in room.

Room service had the room very clean and neat each day. Staff was attentive, helpful and friendly. Laundry costs were very high. They did have washer and dryers available - but they were not cheap either. I did use them and they worked fine and it was still cheaper than using the service. Breakfast also was very expensive at the hotel, but there are options around, so go for a walk, enjoy the weather and get some reasonably priced breakfast. There is a Mall attached at floor level 2. There is one of Singapore's famous Food Courts there for reasonably priced food for most meals. A Starbucks, Pharmacy, Supermarket and 7-11 are also there so you can fill any physical needs you may have.

Exercise Room was very good. Pool and pool area was very good. The hotel restaurant by the pool had a very reasonable lunch time fixed price meal as well. I did not use the conference facilities, but they were in use by various parties during my stay - almost constantly - so I am guessing they must have a decent reputation to stay booked.

Taxi stand in the front got fast service most of the time. Some mornings the lines were ridiculous. Need to beat the long line? Go through the mall and out the opposite side and there is a taxi stand there too. No one was ever using it when we did this trick three days out of seven and we got Taxis reasonably quick.

Location is a short walk to the Orchard Road commercial area - tons of shopping and restaurant options. MRT is also a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Traders Hotel Singapore is one of the best business hotels in Singapore. We had a good conference at this hotel and sated there for 2 days. Rooms are cozy, service is good and food was awesome. You will find some good shopping area near to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Like the convenience of the location to Orchard Road , MRT quite close ,,
Found all members of staff welcoming and attentive , varied Breakfast , liked room , health centre. And pool side ,,
Enjoyable stay would return, that would be my 4th in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is my second and final stay at Traders on a business trip. The hotel is not terrible, just terribly expensive for what you get.
The good: location, near Orchard Road and adjacent to a mall. Good breakfast and well equipped fitness center, friendly staff. The bad: if you need efficient business services and are on a tight schedule, Traders is not suitable. For example, I needed to use the business center (not long after after 5pm) and it was closed. I was sent to the Traders Lounge to use a computer and printer in the middle of a lounge full of guests eating and drinking. The fitness center is open 24/7 on paper only: if you want to workout before 6am or late at night, you have to call the front desk to let you in. The line to get into breakfast was at least 15 people long and slow moving. There is also no express check out: the bill is not put under your door and everything must be settled at the front desk in the morning.
Overall, the hotel is showing its age. My Deluxe King room was rather small and barren, with stained and scratched furniture and a small bathroom. Water pressure was anemic. The room was clean and does offer free wifi, a safe, iron, and standard bathroom amenities.
At a price of 320 Singapore dollars per night plus tax, I will look elsewhere for my next business stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with husband and kids in interconnecting rooms overlooking pool. Great hotel friendly efficient service. Buffet was included one day and had an amazing variety of foods.
We chose to have some meals at the Tanglin Mall which is adjacent to the hotel. There we found a few cafes, bakery, supermarket and food court which were a lot cheaper to eat at. We especially loved breakfast at Brunetti.
The hotel has a free shuttle to Orchard Rd one stop away. It is also walking distance to the beginning of Orchard Rd. Most places we went cost less than $10 in a taxi.
The pool is large and spacious and has a restaurant and bar. The hotel has a laundromat which cost $10 per token.
Overall we loved it and would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traders Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel Singapore

Address: 1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#32 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#44 Family Hotel in Singapore
#50 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#60 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel Singapore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traders Hotel Singapore is located in the fashionable area of Orchard Spring, just a 5-minute stroll to the main shopping and entertainment district on Orchard Road. All guestrooms have been stylishly designed with an array of business facilities for the traveling executive. There is also a wide choice of cuisine and for the health-conscious, it offers a fully-equipped fitness center and 30-meter pool. Traders Hotel, Singapore represents a subtle blend of western comfort and Shangri-La hospitality with genuine value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Traders Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore Traders Hotel
Traders Singapore
Traders Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.