We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to really rave about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing to really rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A bit disappointed with our stay at Traders

It was ok - room was small, and it was really out of the way from Orchard Rd. Though, the shuttle to iON and taxis are easy ride away.

Didn't really like the atmosphere - really only suited for business types.

Nothing about the hotel was very exciting - we are glad we only had a one night stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    853
    337
    64
    40
See reviews for
283
656
166
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for >2 months from June to August 2012 for business. Room was slightly old, but bed was still super comfortable, and the fact that it was connected to Tanglin Mall definitely made it a lot more convenient to grab any necessities from pharmacies. Location is indeed a bit far away (for Singapore) from Orchard Road & the nearest MRT, but definitely walkable. Walking takes about 10-15 minutes but roads can be quiet at night. However, the hotel has a shuttle every hour sending you to Orchard MRT, Wisma Atria, Takashimaya etc. if you manage to catch it. It usually arrives within 5-10 minutes of the designated time, so don't be late as they don't wait.

Breakfast selection was good, although felt that it was pretty much the same almost every other day. A great thing was that they went out of the way to provide me with a take-out box for cereal & fruits when I did not have time to sit down and have breakfast. That's amazing service right there!

Gym was decent and well-maintained, pool looked amazing although I did not get the chance to use it.

Overall, had a great stay, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool! Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Although the location is in near Orchard road, this hotel needs a renovation. The rooms are large but dated. The gym facilities and pool are brilliant and very much welcomed in Singapore. The breakfast is great and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped over in Singapore for 1 night on my way to Europe due to buisness meetings and after a recommendation from my travel agent i stayed at Traders Hotel. Upon arrival the service, attention to detail from all the hotel staff and presentation was amazing. The location is also great only a 5 minute walk and you're in the middle of Orchard road amongst all the shops and hussle and bussle but back at the Hotel you're in a peaceful environment. I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

hotel was great - room was large cause we stayed in a 1bedroom suite. breakfast buffet was huge - loved it, one of the best I've had.

But a bit too far away from an MRT station, it's a good 10-15min walk.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed there a whole week,
and really enjoyed that place.
It is a top 4 Star hotel,
with excellent facilities.
Pool is very clean and inviting,
and the food is just perfect.
I did stay at executive level, and used the lounge every time I wanted to take a coffee break.
From there you have a good view, seeing all the busy people down on the market,
whilst you sit in AC and calm.
Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: executive level king size
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a room for 4 nights through a website. As we checked in, the front desk girl asked us if we wanted an upgrade of $80/night.that would include buffet breakfast for 2 people, access to Traders Club Lounge, and a late check out. So thought it was a good deal...and it was! We definitely got a better room, on the 14th floor, facing the pool. The breakfast was excellent! So many options! The best buffet breakfast that we ever been! We went to the club lounge x3, free drinks, free finger food (some people kinda abused this service and just gobbled down the snacks as their dinner! Hahaha!), and the view is awesome as it is located on the 17th floor, facing the city! Most of the time, we were having few drinks and finger food while watching the sunset. Nice experience. This is the type of the hotel that you would like to think that you will get what you have paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a promotion/upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Address: 1A Cuscaden Road, Singapore 249716, Singapore (Formerly Traders Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#36 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#59 Family Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore is within walking distance of Singapore's famous Orchard Road and the serene Botanic Gardens. It's just 25 minutes from Changi International Airport. The hotel is connected to Tanglin Mall, with shops, restaurants, a supermarket and food court. All guestrooms have been stylishly designed with an array of facilities for the busy executives and leisure travelers. There is also a wide choice of cuisine and for the health-conscious, it offers a fully-equipped fitness center and 30-meter outdoor pool. Hotel Jen Singapore is all about comfort and simple pleasures for the traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Singapore
Singapore Traders Hotel
Traders Singapore
Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Tanglin Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.