We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend getaway in the business district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of M Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added M Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Hotel Singapore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Anson Road, Singapore 079908, Singapore   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Millennium Saver 25
Ranked #102 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A weekend getaway in the business district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We took advantage of the long weekend here in Singapore to have a staycation at M Hotel. The hotel was chosen mainly for it's close proximity to the nearby attractions and also for it's value.

Check in
Check in was generally smooth and we were given the keys to our room promptly. I did feel that the receptionist could have been more warm and welcoming. I understand that this is a business hotel but given that it was the weekend with many other families coming in for a staycation, I felt that the reception given was rather cold and business like. Another issue I had was that I booked a room that came with breakfast but the receptionist told me that there was not. I later phoned the reception again to confirm and they told me that there was. Hopefully such mistakes could be looked into because I was confused for a moment.

Room
I was given a free upgrade to a club level room but without access to the club lounge. The room was cosy and generally clean save for a piece of tissue paper which was found near the desk. I think housekeeping has to make a note of this because it may throw guests off. You are also provided with coffee and tea making facilities and basic toiletries to make your stay more comfortable. Free wifi was a plus. Our room was facing the city and you could request for a room which faces the harbor if you desire.

Amenities
The pool area was very nice and we took the opportunity to have some fun with our 1 year old son. There is also a gym and a spa located on the same floor as well.

Because the hotel is located in the business district, do take note that most restaurants/eateries/cafes are closed during the weekend. There is a 24 hour macdonalds nearby if you need to grab a bite and a 7 eleven as well.

Breakfast
Buffet breakfast was served at the lobby at Cafe 2000. There is a decent spread of local food, the must have egg/omelette station. Service at the restaurant was prompt and our plates were cleared on a regular basis.

Location
As mentioned earlier, the hotel was chosen for it's location to nearby local attractions. You can take a 5 minutes bus/taxi ride to chinatown or boat quay. The hotel is also a 5-7 minutes walk from tanjong pagar mrt station so various modes of transport is within easy reach. Also because it was the weekend, the area was mostly quiet so despite it being in the central business district, the feel we got was rather relaxing

Conclusion
M Hotel was good value for money in my opinion and an alternative to the hotels in the marina orchard area which may be more popular but more expensive. It's a short travelling distance to local attractions such as chinatown and marina bay. I think the hotel can definitely improve on it's hospitality and housekeeping to really make it more competitive.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear momo8702,

We are glad your overall stay with us was a positive experience. With regards to your concerns, rest assured we will make necessary revisions where appropriate to better cater to the needs of our valuable guests.

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    303
    148
    41
    21
See reviews for
57
92
80
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel once due to business trip in May14 and was a pleasant surprise.
Hotel outlook and decor is average, check-in is quick, service is OK.
The room is surprisinly good. It looks new, clean and neat and designed in a way suitable for business travlers. The lighting is excellent - you can make it extremely light or dim as normal hotel.
Breakfast was good with many choices.

With this price tag I think it deserves 4 to 4.5 points. Will stay in M hotel again next time as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Form1a,

Thank you for taking time to feedback. Your feedbacks are appreciated and we will continue to strive to provide all guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for four days and found it to be of great value, especially since I got a good discount via Expedia. The place is clean, and the room is decent, though a little small. But then I was alone, and it sufficed. The location was good, being not far from Chinatown. Subway station was less than 5 mins walk away. Plenty of food nearby. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CoconutHustle,

Thank you for taking time to feedback. Your feedbacks are appreciated and we will continue to strive to provide all guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for 2 nights with my wife. The hotel has a good location. It is very close business district and not too far away from Singapore attractrions (like Sentosa, Orchard Rd, zoo etc.) Personnel was very helpful about everything. The only bad part is there is no cheese in the breakfast. As a cheese addict, it was so strange for me. But generally the hotel is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear gokhan h,

We are glad your overall stay with us was a positive experience. With regards to your concerns, rest assured we will make necessary revisions where appropriate to better cater to the needs of our valuable guests.

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located in the CBD the hotel is the ideal place to stay during your stay for business requirements. The office transfers have been very thoughtfully planned to help the office goers. The rooms are large and well furnished to meet your needs. While the card access in the lifts provide additional security to access your floors, a proximity sensor type will be more user friendly as more often than less you have bags in your hands and it is an hassle. The shower cubicles are suprisingly smaller than usual and the only negative I saw especially if you have a larger frame.

Room Tip: International travellers have an option to settle bills using their local currency via their cards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ranjit K,

Thank you for taking time to feedback. Your feedbacks are appreciated and we will continue to strive to provide all guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and familiar the overall feel was, sort of like visiting a relatives home.

The lighting and decor of the reception area gave it a warm comfortable glow while the hotel rooms were truly astounding! It really felt like a home away from home! Their colour scheme with the use of a large mirror, awesome lounger (leather covered cushy lean-back chair) and spacious room space really allowed one to move and stretch out and breathe.

The bathroom also had large mirrors on three surfaces for that feeling of a big spacious area even with both a shower and a bathtub installed. The non-slip tiles used had a huge positive effect on my comfort level.

The staff again added onto the whole family feel. Ever helpful ready with a smile, they didn't have the polish and tight perfectness but that actually made it more comfortable as they felt more sincere. I even had the pleasure of an afternoon chat with their General Manager, Cecilia Lim, who was amazingly down-to-earth and engaged with all matters big and small of the hotel.

In summary, the M hotel isn't the most polished and perfect hotel, but it is the most comfortable, relaxing and wholesome one that I've been to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, the other side just sees office buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Beleon,

Thank you for taking time to feedback. Your feedbacks are appreciated and we will continue to strive to provide all guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ives, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having been staying at the M hotel on a regular basis over the last 3 years, probably more than 30 nights per year on average.

The M is well positioned to many corporate buildings in Anson road.

The staff are friendly and the club lounge works well for business travellers.

Rooms are functional, excellent gym and pool are also well equipped.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHotel_Marcom_Mgr, Manager at M Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear reccakusanagi,

Thank you for taking time to feedback. Your feedbacks are appreciated and we will continue to strive to provide all guests the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to M Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel Singapore

Address: 81 Anson Road, Singapore 079908, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#71 Business Hotel in Singapore
#73 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#102 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel Singapore 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your M Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singapore m Hotel
M Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.